We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is an amazing place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Viking Natures Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Viking Natures Resort to your Saves list
Viking Natures Resort
222 Moo 7, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“This is an amazing place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

It's incredible to find such a perfect place in a overcrowded area like phiphi island.
The resort has a private beach so not too many people, if not at all some time during The day, clear water, comfortable room for a convenient price...a dream.
The resort is filled with asian art objects and The guests seemed all pretty cool! Only The food is not that good nor that un expensive...but it's The best place to enjoy those island!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    216
    107
    46
    36
See reviews for
52
386
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hove, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Great little resort with everything you need - this was the only bamboo hut we stayed in which had a fridge which was ideal. I love that it is a short walk to the town but is tucked away in the trees so gives you a real sense of seclusion. The rooms are all set up in the hill so it is maybe not for the very unfit or elderly! I didn't think too much of the food and some of the staff I found to be a bit rude but that was only one or two people and the others were lovely.

Free transfer from/to the pier comes in handy to save you from lugging your bags up and down the hills!

Overall had a great time here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Stayed for one night in January 2014 with my boyfriend aged 24-26 both from UK. Got the ferry over from Phuket , 600 baht for a return. The island is so beautiful so many beaches, real postcard stuff, offering many trips and things to do. Got off the ferry at the pier and walked to hotel took us about 10-15 minutes had to ask people for directions as it is at the far end of the island, but found it in the end. The walk isn't the easiest of walks it is forest like and uneven grounds, uphill also. But when we arrived at the resort it was breathtaking!
The check in and restaurant area were giant wooden huts really amazing to look at and it had the most perfect view of a white sand, clear water private beach. In the distance from the beach you can see phi phi island (the beach), honestly can not explain how beautiful the beaches are. We stayed in the basic beach hut style rooms, first time for both of us staying in a beach hut. We loved it the room was small but was everything we needed, fridge, big comfortable bed with net, bathroom and a fan. The room was very clean, bed sheets very clean, bathroom also clean. Had a large balcony with seating and hammock which we loved, with a view of the forrest and sea which was unreal. Found are room very quite with only the sound of the sea, and animals in the Forrest which we found very calming.
We booked a trip at the resort and took a long tail boat to see the different islands around (maya bay (the beach), monkey island, ect) also stopped to swim in sea number of times with lots of fish, the sea is so clear would recommend seeing the other islands.
Wish we would have booked longer to explore the island more, hope to visit again. If you love and aren't afraid of nature, enjoy breathtaking beaches and views and can walk up hills and through Forrest's check this place out. Definitely a one of experience and something to remember. Would recommended taking a good mosquito repellent and also a backpack instead of a case as it will make your life so much easier while walking through the Forrest and up hill. Also have your camera to hand so many breathtaking views.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesky Krumlov
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We were in a family group ranging from 11 to 75. Unfortunately, the youngest and oldest member of our group were very ill and had to move to a resort on the next beach with aircon and separate beds (not the fault of this property, as they clearly indicated that they don't offer aircon and the room would only have an extra cot, not a proper comfy bed in the room for sleeping separately). However, my husband and I stayed on and enjoyed our bungalow very much.
The set-up of this resort is very rustic, and located about 15-20 minutes away from the loudness and lewdness of Phi Phi's main village, Tonsai Bay. This appealed to us, but won't appeal to those who want to party hard or who like lots of amenities.
Our room was a standard bungalow, and we shared a common outdoor area with another bungalow next to us, but had our own private bathroom. As we were out all the time, the "sharing" aspect didn't bother us, but may bother those who want to be completely private. If this is the case for you, we recommend staying in the beautiful large bungalow (Makmai 4D) which was AMAZING with its own private shaded balcony overlooking the water, huge room and good shower/toilet which was accessed by the balcony. The restaurant and reception were only a few steps away.
Staff were pleasant and helpful and especially kind about our last-minute cancellation of the room for older and youngest member of our group. They immediately refunded us without my asking, which was exceptionally kind, considering that our cancellation was so last-minute, and the cancellation has already appeared on our bank statement.
I wholeheartedly recommend this place for those who love a gorgeous environment, rustic Thai aboriginal design and aren't too fussy about sharing accommodation with the occasional mouse, spider, lizard or monkey. And remember to tuck in your mosquito netting before you settle in for the night! This resort is set in a jungle, after all.
I do NOT recommend this resort for party animals or for anyone who is in any way restricted in movement or unable to heft themselves up wonky stairs or over uneven terrain.
PLEASE NOTE: DO NOT ATTEMPT TO WALK TO VIKING NATURES RESORT WITH YOUR LUGGAGE or you will be grumpy, hot, and in a terrible mood. And you could trip and fall and hurt yourself on the uneven terrain. Not a good start for what could be a five-star stay.
The Viking offers free longtail boat transport for your arrival and departure. The longtail boat man is always there for your arrival. After the horrendous sorting of luggage and getting off your vessel, just walk along the pier and on your right you'll notice a man bearing a "Viking Resort" placard. Or just ask anyone on the pier where the Viking Resort man is, and they will help you. As you've made a reservation at the Viking, the man will have your name already on a printout to check off, and will provide you with water and an umbrella to shade you while you wait for the rest of the vessel to disembark.
Why didn't I give this place a five-star rating? I would have, if the food was better. Breakfast was meh. We found it a much better deal to go to the other resort next door and pay for an all you can eat buffet with much better options, and better coffee. I found the food to be just average here. Not spiced correctly, and served lukewarm, which makes me nervous. However, for families with picky eaters, this could be a good place, as they have all sorts of other non-Thai options too.
Important to note that the beach is also good for kids or those who appreciate a bit of shade. The major sunning beach is just around the corner for sun-worshipers.
We found snorkelling to be good enough that we chose not to go on a package tour to PhiPhi Leh.

Room Tip: The Makmai Rooms are amazing. If you can afford to splurge a little for that extra space, larger bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Stayed in Feb 2014. Makasai 3C property.

Wonderful room, clean, big balcony, large bed with mosquito net.
Great private beach.


Free transfer from pier to hotel at check in and back at check out.

Good food. Check out the long beach just around the corner. Wonderful beach and good restaurant (first from Viking side).

Room Tip: Choose bigger condos like Maksai.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Scattered through the forest above a rocky headland on the path to Ko Phi Phi's best beach, Viking Natures Resort is a quiet retreat away from the madness of town, but has a lot of ups and downs, and not just in the terrain.

Despite its rustic appearance, it is a sophisticated operation with dozens of bungalows and dozens of employees to take care of them, run the restaurant and staff reception.

One result is that booking is farmed out to an agency and, while convenient, is inflexible and bureaucratic. We tried to reconfirm our prepaid reservation and received no reply.

We also had to contact the resort once we got to Phi Phi, but the phone number provided on the reservation receipt was never answered; it also was the fax number. Finally a tenacious tour operator found another number and got through.

The resort provides free longtail boat transfer to and from the pier in town, a great value, but to get the boat from town you have to find it. When we arrived, we could see no indication where it was - no person with a placard, no sign on the pier. So we walked.

It's a nice 15 minute walk in the daytime, but circumstances forced us to go at night.

The path is paved with cement and occasionally dips to the beach, until you reach the first Viking sign. From there it's a tangle of tree roots and hills - a broken ankle waiting to happen. And it's almost half a kilometer to reception. In fact you walk through nearly the entire resort before you get there, and you begin to wonder if you ever will.

Once we got to our bungalow, we found it to be one of the oddest we've ever seen.

The bed had no top sheet and no blanket. Instead it had two oversized rugs like you lay down in a mud room for people to wipe their feet. It had a fine mosquito net though.

The bathroom was two rooms, one with the toilet, the other with the sink and shower. To get from the former to the latter, you had to go through the bedroom, out the front door, onto the porch, then back in another door. The porch, however, was fantastic. With two chairs, a table and a hammock, it looked through the trees to one of Viking's two pocket beaches, with sand every bit as soft and white as Long Beach next door.

The restaurant, on the other pocket beach, was a bit pricey, but the large set breakfast, with free bottomless tea/coffee, was a decent value even at 150 baht. In the evening the restaurant offered free samples from its menu. Relaxing music played at all hours. You tend to spend a lot of time there because it is the only place you can get WiFi.

Service in the restaurant is unobtrusive. Staff English is pretty good. At your bungalow, you get two new water bottles every day. If you want your bungalow cleaned, just flip the sign on the porch from Do Not Disturb to Please Clean Room.

In the end, we found the ups outweighed the downs and we stayed a extra day.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We had an absolutely wonderful time here. If you're umm-ing and ahh-ing about something from the negative reviews then this place probably isn't for you. We had all the negative reviews in mind when we came here so there were no bad surprises, only the good!

It's just far enough from Tonsai that you can relax away from the crowds and the thumping beats when you've had enough of the nightlife and feel like turning in. It's a longish walk but well lit. Just mind your footing. And if you're checking in or out and you have more than a backpack, take a long tail (free service for check in/out). I felt bad for the people with enormous suitcases trying to navigate the path to Viking.

We stayed in one of the Magmais (M4A) and it was an absolute pleasure. We booked a few months in advance just to ensure we had a great accommodation option.

Breakfast was included with a generous choice of small dishes of which you combined four. I recommend the pancake with fresh fruits and honey as one of the options!

Great snorkeling spot right in front of the restaurant and around the rocks to Long Beach. Snorkels and masks can be hired from the bar too so you don't even have to leave this Eco haven to have a good time.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Viking Natures Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Natures Resort

Address: 222 Moo 7, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Viking Natures Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Natures Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viking Natures Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.