We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good compared to other hotels on the islands” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phi Phi Palm Tree Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ko Phi Phi Don
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Phi Phi Palm Tree Resort
Ko Phi Phi Don, Ko Phi Phi Don, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 38 hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good compared to other hotels on the islands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Phi phi palm tree resort has a wicked location. Close to the action but it's not noisy at night. The pool is nice and there are lots of English channels on the tv. The A/C is awesome and you can leave it on all day. Maids change your room every day. The only downside is that only resort guests are allowed in at night. I would stay here again!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    3
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed here because we wanted to be close to everything, but we didn't want the noise. This was a good choice, we were not bothered by anything, even though the music on the beach is blasting till 4am. Breakfast here is very good (omelets, sausage, bacon, pancakes, noodles, fruit, vegetables, all that), although show up early or there will be nothing left! They don't seem to be refilling the trays. The staff is a little slow during checking, they do everything on paper, but I suppose that's part of the charm. It was very clean, we had no problems with AC. It might be a little overpriced, but if you want to make sure you don't get stuck next to wild college kids on a spring break, you might want to book something a little more $$. My only complaint about this hotel is that they have a great pool, with a great bar setup inside the pool, but it looks like it hasn't been open in years. What a shame.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We spent an amazing 4 days on Phi Phi Island, It was the first part of our 12 days trip to Thailand and after travelling to Phuket and Bangkok afterwards, it did not feel the same and we wished we booked to stay on Phi Phi for the whole time! There is so much going on on the island, its like a little Ibiza, full of young people and music playing all night with amazing shows on the beach every night.
The hotel was more than we expected, quite expensive ( about £360 for 4 nights plus 3% credit card charge on top!) but its the high season, our room was nicely decorated with a decent size of the bed, TV was big but it would have been nice if it had HDMI port, we had a direct access to the pool, it wasn't too big but enough to have a dip and cool down. The best thing was the location as you are right in the middle of everything, all bars, restaurants shops and the convenient location to the beach and the port. We really did not have to walk around too much as everything was just around the corner! Breakfast was great with plenty of options. We found reception staff to be nice and friendly as this is how we approached them from the beginning. So if you treat them nice, they will remember and treat you well too. The pool area was nice also, only a few sunbeds but nobody was really using them so if you think of spending the day around the hotel you will always find a free spot!
We ate in various restaurants on the island and one to recommend is Papaya that serves an amazing Thai food at very low prices, you really cannot leave the island before trying it out!!! The food was to die and we cannot wait to go back next year and eat the amazing curries :-)

Amazing stay at Phi Phi Palm Tree

Room Tip: go for a room with direct access to the pool and you wont regret, its well worth it !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

My one night stay at Phi Phi island was far too short! There is far too much to do on the small island and PP Palmtree resort is situated in a super convenient location. Even though it is in a convenient location, be warned that there are no cars on Phi Phi island so transport from the pier to the hotel consists of following one of the hotel workers push a trolley filled with your luggage down the narrow and busy streets of Phi Phi. Keep in mind that there is no elevator to the upper floors. We had to carry our heavy luggage up the stairs to the first floor. The hotel staff were friendly and had decent English skills however there was no assistance in bringing our luggage up to the first floor to our rooms. I would stay here again on my next visit to Phi Phi island but would request a ground floor room to avoid the hassle of carrying luggage up and down the stairs.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the ground level to avoid carrying your luggage upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We stayed here in October of 2013 and really couldn't fault the place!! Location is smack bang in the middle of the island, far enough to escape the noise but close enough to everything! As two female travelers we felt very safe!

Pool was great, towel service was much needed for beach visits ect (retuned by 8pm daily but who really minds!)

The rooms were clean, and private bathroom was sufficient. The only negative in room was that you couldn't have the aircon on when you slept! They have it connected to the power so it's all lights on and aircon or nothing.

Check-in was fast and easy, staff are very helpful. Nice pineapple drink on arrival.

Would return to PP Palm Tree on our next visit to the island :)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Palm Tree is a decent hotel in Phi Phi Islands.
The hotel is situated on the 2nd road and is near the party area of the island. the lobby is small and the restaurant serves only pizza's through the day.
The staff is not very friendly.
The rooms are small but well decorated and some of them open out onto the decent sized swimming pool.
The rates were very high, but it was peak season.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

This hotel, hidden away from the bustle and mayhem of the streets is very central with easy access to the nightlife, bars, shops, beaches and trips although the best bit was that it was a quiet oasis of calm to return to after a day out. The staff were wonderful, friendly and very patient especially when dealing with some of the rudeness shown from other guests. Nan, the porter, was super, very friendly and ever so helpful. Breakfast was great, lots of choice and omelettes made to order and these were delicious. Some of the waiting staff were young and very nervous and came across as sullen but overall a very pleasant way to start the day. Rooms were well equipped and quiet considering how centrally located it was. We were on the 1st floor overlooking the pool and found the room comfortable and pleasing. Suggest a trip to Long Beach, a 5 min long tail boat ride where snorkelling straight form the beach was smashing. Also a trip to Bamboo island was stunning and delightful. Will definitely be back and will stay at PP Palm Tree resort again - no hesitation!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Phi Phi Palm Tree Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Phi Palm Tree Resort

Address: Ko Phi Phi Don, Ko Phi Phi Don, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 38 hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phi Phi Palm Tree Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Phi Phi Palm Tree Resort to your Saves list