We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic staff and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mama Beach Residence

Save Saved
You added Mama Beach Residence to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mama Beach Residence
199 Moo 7, Ton Sai Bay | Ao Nang, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Doncaster
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic staff and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Me and my family stayed recently at Mama beach and overall we had a really nice stay. It's situated in the corner of tonsai bay a quite area perfect for sitting at the beach bar or on the beach on a night time away from the noise. On this note can I add the bar staff were fantastic- so funny!
Our room was a grand sea view upgrade which was nice- our daughter is 14 so they put an extra single bed in the room for us. We had a leak in our bathroom but the staff sorted it swiftly so not an issue. The front desk were so helpful deffinately an asset to the hotel! However, I also have to add a note about the arrogant moody young guys who seemed to be part of the ownership of the hotel. Not only did they have faces like slapped arses, I witnessed them twice be really rude to the staff at the hotel which I really didn't like. The staff, like most Thai's, work ridiculously hard, long hours for absolute peanuts. They are also some of the most polite and friendliest people I have ever met.

The breakfast is nice: basic, but nice. The mini bar charges similar prices to the local minimart's which is really good, we've never seen this before travelling!

Phi phi is a beautiful island however, it is larger than I originally expected and has different sides to suit all types of holidays. If you want an 18-30's type of stay then head for the loh dalum beach area. If you like to checkout the trip advisor food etc and prefer more activities, tonsai bay area is a good option. However, for sheer paradise you need to stay at long beach. We went for the day (walked- soooo hot but great fun) and took a long tail boat back. 100bht each and well worth the trip. Absolutley beautiful!

Take a walk up to the view point. Again Absolutly scorching but well worth the view at the top. Watch out for the monkey's...they're deffinately up to something!

Like I said overall a good stay. I just wish the owners could create the same atmosphere that their hardworking and dedicated staff do!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    154
    116
    51
    12
    12
See reviews for
38
216
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Just about to leave Phi Phi and we couldn't have asked for a better accomidation. Located at the quiet end of the beach, the busy beach & town is a 5 minute walk away.
We stayed in a deluxe ocean view room and had no complaints. The restaurant is tasty & reasonable, and the Cliff bar & sun bed area is the perfect place to chill out.
All staff were pleasant & if they don't already know some English, they are working hard on learning it.
I will definitely recommend it to anyone traveling to Phi Phi. Awesome value overall!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed 2 nights here for my girlfriends birthday and it was generally pleasant. We were picked up at the pier and as expected our bags were taken to the hotel for us. We stayed in a ground floor ocean view suite which was nice but had a few niggles - the wadrobe was broken and the room generally could of done with the odd splash of paint here and there but nothing major. Our open air bathroom was right next to staff quarters and this was a bit noisy first thing in the morning. The owner was fantastic, on checkout he took us back to the pier via his boat which was nice touch in the soaring heat. Overall pleasent stay, although the young chap who seemed to be the son of the owner could do with learning from his old man a little. He walked around sulking and dragging his heals around making us feel unwelcomed, all the other staff were great however. For this reason we probably wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Just returned our second time back to Mama Beach and it was as perfect as the last. I've stayed at plenty of beach resorts around the world and nothing compares to this piece of Paradise.

Since the last time they have added a beach bar, which was total tropical Chic and serviced the daybeds well. Also added was the on beach dining at night which totally made the stay as some nights we wanted to stay away form the crowds in town. Also added was their own motor launch which made getting luggage to and from the pier much easier.

The location and service was impeccable will definitely be returning for another trip as soon as possible

Room Tip: Ask for a sea facing, even if on ground floor. Ground floor ones are convenient to the beach. Make s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed here in January for 5 nights as part of our honeymoon. It is the most beautiful island and definately the best place to stay on the island.The rooms are very clean, spacious and comfortable beds. We absolutely loved it here. The breakfast is gorgeous, sitting looking out over the sea. The staff are so friendly and helpful, Toom at the main reception is absolutely lovely and she is always in great form. The sun loungers with the bar right beside you is like sitting in paradise. We spent many a lazy afternoon there. The hotel is on the far left as you approach the island by ferry, but its only 5 minute walk to the centre of the island. The hotel is in a great area, nice and quiet at night, away from all the hustle and bustle but yet close enough to walk anywhere. It really is not a very big island. I would 100% stay here again if i am lucky enough to return to Thailand. Please dont listen to any bad reviews.. it is just amazing at the Mama Beach. They have a very personal touch and you feel like your at home. I want to go back there.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room.. the views are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We absolutely recommend this hotel when visiting Phi Phi and when having vacation!!!!The staff was very very friendly and polite, rooms - very clean, very modern and comfortable mattresses and balcony- furniture!!!!The breakfast was amazing and they even offer a fresh squeezed orange juices , which was highly appreciate by us when having our muesli:)
The beach is wonderful and the massage -"hut" also. Very romantic atmosphere during your breakfast or especially dinner;)
You have so much to do on Phi Phi and the location of the hotel is great - only 5 minutes from the central pier and they have a free pick up from and to the pier, which is very helpful!!!
The hotel is at the end of the main walking street from the pier with the most shops and bars, but still very quite and secluded in wonderful rocks and the jungle!
very originally minded bath - rooms, we do liked them!
Their night staff even came to spray our rooms and bath-room for mosquito , which was great and nice!!!
We really enjoyed our stay at mama beach and fell in love with Phi Phi for ever:)!
Don't forget to hire a private long tail boot for all day and visit bamboo island, monkey beach, maya bay and everything they offer for whole ay-trip!It is a MUST, when on Phi Phi!

Room Tip: all rooms are very nice and with good view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Mama beach resort is amazing. The staff were friendly and welcoming. The price was very good, Seeing as when you wake you up there is a crystal clear beach with monkeys running from the cliff edge at 6:30am with the sun rising out of the sea, I think the price is VERY good. Will return for sure one day.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mama Beach Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mama Beach Residence

Address: 199 Moo 7, Ton Sai Bay | Ao Nang, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 57 Specialty lodging in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chers Residents Nous vous prions d'accepter nos excuses pour d'eventuelles nuisances dues a la periode de construction de notre voisinage demarrees le 05 mai Nous nous tiendrons a votre disposition pour repondre a d'eventuels problemes crees par d'eventuelles nuisances. En vous remerciant de votre comprehension Recevez les remerciements de toute l'Equipe de MaMa Beach Residence . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Mama Beach Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mama Beach Residence Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mama Beach Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.