We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mama Beach Residence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mama Beach Residence to your Saves list
Mama Beach Residence
199 Moo 7, Ton Sai Bay | Ao Nang, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
4.0 of 5 stars 450 Reviews
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Best breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

This small hotel, run by a very nice French couple, serve up the best set breakfast I've ever had at the hotel. Its located at the far end of the south beach, which makes for a bit of a walk -- but away from the noise.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    152
    65
    19
    21
See reviews for
50
266
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

We were lucky enough to be booked into two separate hotels during our stay on Phi Phi Don, Mama Beach was our first. Upon arriving on Phi Phi islands the first thing you'll notice apart from the surreal setting is a tonne of boats in one section of the sea to the side of the island... yes Mama Beach is behind this and you're attention will be drawn to the beach adjacent to Mama Beach which is Long Beach (PARADISE!).

We checked in too early so had to wait around for a while, the kind Thai lady made sure we had drinks, cold towel etc. and gave us some free massage tickets to make up for the wait. Upon arriving in our room it was nice but nothing too great, the units were all flimsy plastic and needed replacing, it detracted from the feel of a 'luxurious hotel'.

The shower was the most annoying thing in the world, just make sure you close the bathroom door otherwise you'll get dozens of mosquito's and giant flying bugs half the size of your fist. Other than that, the view of the massive cliff whilst having a shower was amazing.

The hotel seemed to be run by a French family and weren't that friendly at all, the young girls (early 20's) never cracked a smile and always stared at my girlfriend when we walked past them, the father (I'm guessing?) only talked to people he looked familiar with during the meals.

Location wise is wasn't that great, there's just as quiet areas in the town centre, even though it's a 5-10 minute walk in the heat it can seem a bit annoying, and during a storm even more annoying. We stayed at The Banyan Villa after this, much better, lovely Thai Staff, clean, safe (from bugs) and nearer to everything.

Room Tip: 2nd/3rd floor rooms are best, wouldn't consider the bottom. For beaches, don't waste your ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011 via mobile

Phi phi is an expensive island to stay on and mama beach is no exception. A nice hotel and the online photos do it justice but I feel I have had better value else where in Thailand. I would stay again though as the room was clean enough and nicely appointed.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at Mama Beach for three nights, the rooms were very clean and pleasantly decorated. I wasn't keen on the open wall on the bathroom, some people would love that feature but I was getting eaten alive by Mosquitos and was constantly scared of finding a spider or cockroach in there.
The hotel is in a good location with its own private beach, just far enough from the main town to be nice and quiet.
One day I enquired about a massage, the receptionist couldn't find the massage lady but told me she'd let me know what time I could have one however nobody got back to me which was a bit disappointing.
The price was expensive for the standard of the hotel but that seems to be the case on Phi Phi in general

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Give yourself two nights in Phi Phi then move on

so Phi Phi is NOT a quiet tranquil place around the bay area...not at all ... head to another part of the island. Long beach area is quiet altho still rebuilding
many many many boats - i am guessing couple HUNDRED parked there at any one time. trash both sides - Tonsai AND the Loh Dalum side.
( I actually had a hard time getting over the dirty water and I am not fussy ! maybe it was the time of the year and all the rains - September sidenote: DONT go diving in the fall! uck waste of $ visabliity *maybe* 15 feet)

Mama Beach is a good choice - down towards the end - beautiful scenery, far enough away from the pier so the dance music isn't as loud. very easy walk to the center of things.
good breakfast included.
clean, great a/c, bathroom, furniture on balcony
good staff. they were booked full so we could only stay one night, then moved next door (third the price)

Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

We stayed here for two nights in October 2011. As others stated, it is at the end of the strip of Ton Sai far away from all the noisy nightlife on the other end. Our rooms were very clean and the beds were very comfortable. Overall we very much enjoyed our stay. But there wasn't anything particularly over-the-top special about it. For us the location was a bit of an inconvenience because to do anything we had to walk 15+ minutes to get to restaurants or attractions ... especially since the hotel's restaurant closed at 5PM.

But otherwise we were very happy and would gladly stay again. Free snorkeling gear and free (huge and delicious) breakfast was a plus as well!

Room Tip: Be sure not to miss the breakfast! It's delicious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

I was a solo traveler looking for a relaxing place and Mama Beach Residence fit the bill perfectly. As my speed boat dropped me off right on the beach, I was greeted with a refreshing fruit drink and a cold towel. Mama Beach is located at the end of Ton Sai Bay, right under Ton Sai Cliff, where the monkeys sometimes come down form the jungle. I had a ground room floor, just steps form the beach.
My room was exactly like the pictures on the website. The room was bright, clean and very comfortable. The french family that runs the place were super friendly and helpful. I came in one evening and the owner invited me to sit down with his friends and have drinks with them. Whether you are a solo traveler, or with someone, Mama Beach is perfectly located on Tonsai bay and close enough walk down the bay or to the other side (Loh Dalum Bay) to the other restaurants, bars and shops. I've read reviews saying it was too far from everything, which is ridiculous. It is a relaxing stroll to get anywhere on either bay. I could have stayed an entire month there, it was that relaxing. If you are looking for a small, intimate, soulful relaxing place, Mama Beach is the place!

Room Tip: All Rooms are steps away from the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mama Beach Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mama Beach Residence

Address: 199 Moo 7, Ton Sai Bay | Ao Nang, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chers Residents Nous vous prions d'accepter nos excuses pour d'eventuelles nuisances dues a la periode de construction de notre voisinage demarrees le 05 mai Nous nous tiendrons a votre disposition pour repondre a d'eventuels problemes crees par d'eventuelles nuisances. En vous remerciant de votre comprehension Recevez les remerciements de toute l'Equipe de MaMa Beach Residence . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Mama Beach Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mama Beach Residence Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mama Beach Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.