We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a camping bungalow” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Phi Phi Sand Sea View Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Phi Phi Sand Sea View Resort to your Saves list
Phi Phi Sand Sea View Resort
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   17 M.7 T.Aonang A.Muang, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 52 Ko Phi Phi Don B&B and Inns
Turin, Italy
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“a camping bungalow”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

first of all it is necessary to clarify that this is not a resort, but it can be classified as a camping bungalow. If considered as a camping bungalow the position is nice and quiet, right on the seaside, even if the best beaches are in another part of the island. The room is not so clean and rooms with fan are very warm. but if considered as a camping bungalow can be a good choice.
But it is sold as a resort, so i would expect something different like clean bedsheets, room cleaning at least once in 4 days...it is overpriced if compared to the rest of thailand (but phi phi is more expensive than the rest of thailand). Breakfast not included and in the bar is overpriced compared to all the other places in the island.

Room Tip: choose air con bungalows (with fan is impossible to sleep)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    11
    24
    6
    34
See reviews for
3
29
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Don't expect much, we had a simple bungalow next to the beach, next to the Phi-Phi hospital. It had what we needed, not more, not less.
TV had almost exclusively Asian channels, but who cares...you are not there to watch TV.
It's a good 10 minutes walk to the Pier. Quite at night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The rooms I had (and I stayed in two) were both clean, if a little dated, with sheets, towels, free water and the usual asian shower-without-tray scenario. I opted for a fan rather than A/C which was a pain because the only settings were flull blast or off, making sleeping a bit tricky, although my neighbour didnt have this problem. I also awoke every morning to what I assume to be the staff talking and shouting in the premises behind my room (and someone being sick but I guess that Phi Phi for you!) The arrangement of the bungalows is linear which means that if you're at the back the view is unfortunately a rather unattractive yard. For the price (I paid 800 baht), I am told you could find better in Phi Phi, but personally I found the situation half a mile from the chaos of the town and close to the beach worth the money. Others have commented about the owner and while he was a bit standoffish at first, I actually found him to be pretty helpful and friendly after a few days.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Kentucky
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Staying at this place was the worst experience I had in 3 months travelling Africa and Asia. Walking into the room it seemed basic but ok. After going to sleep bed bugs crawled from under the mattress to attack me. I killed a few hoping that was it but it wasn't. I woke up the owner around midnight and asked for a room change - after having to argue that I wanted a new room TONIGHT not tomorrow he put me in a different room. This room ALSO had bed bugs. Pictures attached.
Never ever stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The location is pretty great with only a 10 second walk until you're on the beach but it is a little bit of a walk to the markets and bars (which wasn't such a bad thing because it meant it was nice and quite), but the room was absolutely awful. Our bed had one sheet covering the mattress and nothing else (we had to use a towel for a sheet), the fridge was warm, the room hadn't been aired out and smelt pretty terrible to begin with, and the bathroom is the worst design I have ever seen. The shower is nearly on top of the toilet with no shower curtain and a drain in the far corner, so you're basically left with an underwater bathroom which hardly drains. We stayed one night and it was more or less like sleeping in a sauna, thankfully we booked a room with a ceiling fan but AC is a must on Phi Phi as it's just so hot and humid. Even outside was cooler than our room. By the next morning the room smelt so awful because of the drain in the bathroom that we could hardly step foot in the room. Unless you're just looking for a place to leave your bags, pass out after a late night, and leave first thing in the morning, then seriously just avoid this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

Dont do it to yourself!!! Rude owner, owful room, hot, no AC, no hot water, bad food, the windows are glassy so everyone can see you naked in the room. simply avoid !!!

Good: location is quiet but far from bars. We moved to the next hotel, mana beach. Much nicer...

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We had prebooked and confirmed a sea facing room with air conditioning. When we arrived the owner couldn't have been ruder, left us standing while he walked off to have a cigarette, while questioning our booking voucher he took a tooth pick out to clean his teeth. He grunted that he only had one room left, we were taken to a filthy room at the back, towels were ripped and dirty, a fitted sheet covered a matrice, no other sheets and the pilllow cover was filthy. No AC so the room was like a green room in 28 degrees! The rooms are not cleaned daily and there was half a toilet roll on arrival. Reception..is only open when the ferry arrives. When we went back to complain he walked off saying that was only room and wouldn't talk to us. Although we had paid for a number of nights we moved to the Cabana Hotel which is like a palace in comparison to this filthy dump.

Room Tip: Don't stay here, there are beautiful places to stay in Phi Phi, AC is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Phi Phi Sand Sea View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Phi Sand Sea View Resort

Address: 17 M.7 T.Aonang A.Muang, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Phi Phi Sand Sea View Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phi Phi Islands are considered to be one the most beautiful tropical islands of the world, located in Krabi province southern of Thailand. It is surrounded by white sandy beaches; crystal clear sea water, fascination coral reefs and various species of fish. Phi Phi Sand Sea View Resort is located on Ton Sai bay which is a peaceful and beautiful beach. The resort offers comfortable and convenient air conditioned and fan bedrooms. The private beach is most suitable for your vacation. This is your second home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Phi Phi Sand Sea View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Phi Sand Sea View Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phi Phi Sand Sea View Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.