We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Phi Phi Sand Sea View Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Phi Phi Sand Sea View Resort to your Saves list
Phi Phi Sand Sea View Resort
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   17 M.7 T.Aonang A.Muang, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 50 Ko Phi Phi Don B&B and Inns
Perth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awful...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The location is pretty great with only a 10 second walk until you're on the beach but it is a little bit of a walk to the markets and bars (which wasn't such a bad thing because it meant it was nice and quite), but the room was absolutely awful. Our bed had one sheet covering the mattress and nothing else (we had to use a towel for a sheet), the fridge was warm, the room hadn't been aired out and smelt pretty terrible to begin with, and the bathroom is the worst design I have ever seen. The shower is nearly on top of the toilet with no shower curtain and a drain in the far corner, so you're basically left with an underwater bathroom which hardly drains. We stayed one night and it was more or less like sleeping in a sauna, thankfully we booked a room with a ceiling fan but AC is a must on Phi Phi as it's just so hot and humid. Even outside was cooler than our room. By the next morning the room smelt so awful because of the drain in the bathroom that we could hardly step foot in the room. Unless you're just looking for a place to leave your bags, pass out after a late night, and leave first thing in the morning, then seriously just avoid this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    11
    22
    6
    34
See reviews for
3
27
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

Dont do it to yourself!!! Rude owner, owful room, hot, no AC, no hot water, bad food, the windows are glassy so everyone can see you naked in the room. simply avoid !!!

Good: location is quiet but far from bars. We moved to the next hotel, mana beach. Much nicer...

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We had prebooked and confirmed a sea facing room with air conditioning. When we arrived the owner couldn't have been ruder, left us standing while he walked off to have a cigarette, while questioning our booking voucher he took a tooth pick out to clean his teeth. He grunted that he only had one room left, we were taken to a filthy room at the back, towels were ripped and dirty, a fitted sheet covered a matrice, no other sheets and the pilllow cover was filthy. No AC so the room was like a green room in 28 degrees! The rooms are not cleaned daily and there was half a toilet roll on arrival. Reception..is only open when the ferry arrives. When we went back to complain he walked off saying that was only room and wouldn't talk to us. Although we had paid for a number of nights we moved to the Cabana Hotel which is like a palace in comparison to this filthy dump.

Room Tip: Don't stay here, there are beautiful places to stay in Phi Phi, AC is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

I want to clarify that this place is perfect location for me, but it's far away from the town centre. We didn't need to go but many people don't like to be far from the bars and shops.

We had a bungalow with sea views. We slept 3 people for 1000 B.
Clean and nice staff.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

After some problems with Phi Phi Sunset Pavilion, we finally want to Sand Sea View.
The staff was very friendly.
Rooms with aircon and big bathrooms.
Restaurants around the place, very good and everybody so kind.
We rent a boat, bikes, canoë with the hotel.
Very close to the beach and far from the noise and the crowd of the island.
A good choice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

Our unit had a ocean view, great view

Good 3 star for valu for money

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

We wanted a bungalow on the beach away from the night life. Beware it is primitive! The bathroom had a tiny sink, toilet and a hand shower hose just on the wall. The room was very small no closet or drawers so you live out of your suitcase. My adult son decided to come last minute. Where it loses value in my book is they charged us an additional 600 baht for a 2inch mattress thrown on the floor. They need to invest in a cot. A large towel is your only cover. You can get a hotel on the beach in Ca. for that rate, clean, larger, and with a proper bathroom. In other words we thought we would find a great deal in Thailand. Oh, our beach front bungalow did have A/C

Room Tip: Unless you are in the one of a few on the beach don't do it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Phi Phi Sand Sea View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Phi Sand Sea View Resort

Address: 17 M.7 T.Aonang A.Muang, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Phi Phi Sand Sea View Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phi Phi Islands are considered to be one the most beautiful tropical islands of the world, located in Krabi province southern of Thailand. It is surrounded by white sandy beaches; crystal clear sea water, fascination coral reefs and various species of fish. Phi Phi Sand Sea View Resort is located on Ton Sai bay which is a peaceful and beautiful beach. The resort offers comfortable and convenient air conditioned and fan bedrooms. The private beach is most suitable for your vacation. This is your second home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Phi Phi Sand Sea View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Phi Sand Sea View Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phi Phi Sand Sea View Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.