We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food poisoning” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Italiano Bar and Restaurant

Italiano Bar and Restaurant
Main road, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
+66(0)75601065
Improve this listing
Price range: $4 - $21
Cuisines: Italian, Thai
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Brighton, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Food poisoning”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Pizza was fine but not the salad my friend ate. Maybe stick to the pizza or pasta only at this place unless you like being outrageously ill for a whole day of your trip.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    70
    36
    21
    10
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo
Top Contributor
347 reviews 347 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
“Good drinks, pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We only ate bruschettas and cheese plate so cannot comment on food properly. But the place is nice, very central, free wifi, good selection of drinks, good wine (and well priced), lots of italian food. Service was very good and I recommend to grab some appetizers and have some drinks, although the food is a little bit more expensive than in other similar places.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Really Enjoyed!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We went there in a group of 4 for dinner. We had a great time. Even though it's in the middle of all the shopping and tourists, once you are inside there is a totally different vibe. Staff were great and funny. Demis, the owner, was really great and very attentive. He served our food so many times we assumed he was a waiter. And he is a true Italian so the Italian food you are getting is authentic. Desserts are fantastic!! We went back a second time just to try more desserts. Only down side - the kitchen closes at 10:30 so it's not a late night place. Shame.

Thanks for a great night Demis and gang!!
The New York Cypriot ladies

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Phi Phi Don, Thailand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Slow and unfriendly”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We had a snack lunch of bruschetta on arriving on Phi Phi Don. Service ok, and food reasonable. However, on our second visit a few days later, the Maitre-De, who appeared to be the owner, completely ignored us and we appeared to be completely invisible to the Thai staff too - who were half asleep. After hearing that a neighbouring customer had not received anything for an hour, we decided to leave. The trouble with Phi Phi is that there is a captive audience, but this place left us feeling as though the our hard earned money was being taken completely for granted. Are all Westerners perceived as walking ATMs?

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We highly recommend this restaurant. One of the best food we had during our trip, excellent quality, good variety and good wine selection. They have a mix of Italian, Thai and other food including pizzas. We ate there few times and tasted different things, including the pizzas. Service was very good: fast, kind and friendly. Kids are welcome and very nice atmosphere. Being Italian ourselves we are rather picky with food but were very happy with the food they offered. Prices are very reasonable.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Italiano Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
 
Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
 

Been to Italiano Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Italiano Bar and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.