We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful beaches.. white sand.. lots of toursits” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bamboo Island

Bamboo Island
Ko Phi Phi Don, Thailand
Improve this listing
Type: Islands
Attraction Details
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful beaches.. white sand.. lots of toursits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

As the title states...Beautiful beaches.. white sand.. lots of tourits. 100 baht to step foot on the island. Very worth it. just like the pictures. A must see if you have the time. I even saw camping sites.. though i didn't stay there.. I only visited for 3 hours.. worth every hour.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    391
    147
    60
    15
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
298 helpful votes 298 helpful votes
“Good beach but get there early”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

About a 20 min longtail boat ride form Laem Tong, and a speedboat ride from the east coast of Phuket, Bamboo Island is a national park property and so is kept clean and has some basic facilities. Don't come here for the snorkelling though as while there is some coral, better snorkelling sites exist around Mosquito Island. Bamboo Island does have a spectacular wide beach at its northeast corner with crystal clear water, making for a nice swim - nice that is until the invasion of speedboats commences at around 10am. These boats anchor cheek by jowl along the beach gradually contracting the area available for swimming, and making for a nervous swim in the remaining area for fear of being chopped up by the next boat's propeller as it backs in.
There is a National Parks 200B entry fee per adult if you arrive by longtail.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“This was my favorite Island in Thailand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This is the beach you typically see in screen-savers. I've never seen such white sand and transparent water. I guess I was lucky but it didn't seem too crowded to me. I went in the afternoon, after 2 pm.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Tropical paradise overrun by tourists”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is one of the most beautiful beaches I've seen, though still rocky like all the beaches in the area. However, it is so popular that there were dozens of boats and hundreds of tourists (including us) when we went. A victim of it's own beauty?

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chamonix, France
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice spot - good for snorkeling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Bamboo island is a nice spot to visit. The snorkeling is good and the beach is beautiful. Not much to do other than that though.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bamboo Island also viewed

Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
 
Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
 

Been to Bamboo Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bamboo Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bamboo Island to your Saves list