We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrific” 1 of 5 stars
Review of PP Ingphu Viewpoint

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added PP Ingphu Viewpoint to your Saves list
PP Ingphu Viewpoint
2.0 of 5 Villa   |   Moo 7 | Ao-Nang, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Horrific”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We read the reviews of this hotel before we stayed here and thought it would be an experience and as we didn't mind a little walking or 'roughing it' we would be ok. We booked two nights and walked out after one.

Location
Was terrible, it wasn't just the walk or the difficult paths unlit at night plus the wobbly unsafe steps to your room it was possibly the furthest hotel away from everything on the whole island. Oddly this still doesn't equate to quiet.

Wildlife
After coming in later at night and chasing two rats from the room (behind the matteress the the wall!!!) we got a little upset but settled down for the night where we spent the whole night being eaten alive by bed bugs. I was awoken several times during the night with itching, monkeys fighting on the roof, bats and unidentified shrieking. I braved to go a sit on the balcony for a break from the bed bugs and watched various people on a variety of drugs stagger to their rooms. All of this includes the usual variety of Thai insects/lizards which access your rooms from the jungle through the floorboards and many other cracks in the room.

View
There is no beach view, the 'lake' is a large resevoir which is unsightly but something you can put up with for a cheap room. It does mean there are swarms of mosquitos every day, every night.

Reception Staff
Were every bit as bad as the previous reviewers have mentioned. We checked out before 10.30 and said we couldn't stay another night. The head receptionist/owner/whatever was so rude and aggressive. She not only charged us for the night we did not stay, but a penalty night and then threatened to contact the police when I said I wanted to use the room and the pool I was paying for while we waited for the boat to Phuket!

The Walk
It just over a mile from the dock, not too bad if you don't have heavy backpacks on in the searing heat. We like walking but nearly fainted when we got to our room! Just ot he hotel the terrain and turns aren't flat, lots of steps and cracks in pavement which would make it hard for a suitcase on wheels. Once at the hotel there are lots of stairs, our room wasn't too far up but the wooden parts of the staircase was wobbly in parts.

The quality of this place is only equal to that of a hostel. Hostels you can find much cheaper and better located that this one on Phi Phi. It does have a pool which is small but ok, you can use other hotel pools in Phi Phi for 200THB per day or free with drinks so don't let that affect your decision making like we did. The hotel apparently has wifi, this didn't work for the whole time we stayed but some other guests said they had got it working slowly while they had stayed there.

Room Tip: Sleep on the beach instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    41
    44
    36
    42
See reviews for
4
73
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
hyderabad
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

The experience was just horrible. The hotel is situated so far from the shore and you have to walk so much . The view point has view of a stinking pond of water . The room was just ok, like a cottage only and the effort to reach the room wasnt worth it. The breakfast offered was bare minimum . The receptionist was very rude . We stayed just for a day .would not recommend .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed here for three nights with our three year old. Ok, the rooms are basic and the breakfast isn't great but then if we'd wanted that we'd have stayed in a regular hotel. We loved the naughty gibbons (or rather the smaller versions) that came to raid the bins and the fact it was like luxury camping in the jungle. The guys that came to collect us from the pier deserve a medal, they carried our luggage for ages along with the other guests's before loading it and us on a jeep and dropped us at our door - almost. The walk back to town is about 15 mins but an enjoyable 15 mins. The pool was good too. It was a little bit strong - chlorine wise but perfect for cooling down after a day at the sandy beach. Unfortunately you can still hear the music- faintly -throughout the night from the clubs in town but not so much as to keep you awake. WE didn't realise Phi Phi had turned into a clabbers paradise come sun down and will not bother going back for that reason. Such a shame if you're still expecting a paradise Island, but then if you're not...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

I think there are not enough appropriate words to describe how awful this hotel is, however, I'll give it a try.

It all started when we put our feet in this property. The receptionist were just pure evil! I was truly shocked by her unprofessional behaviour and terrible attitude. Her eyes were full of hatred. At first, she gave us an awful room and when my husband tried to change it, she offended him multiple times. Suffice it to say, the only occupation she deserves is a Pattaya go-go club. Anyway, we managed to get a better room and to check in. What bothered us and our friends the most were bedbugs, whose bites we discovered later in our bodies, drunk and noisy backpackers, who were always swearing near our bungalows at night, loud music, so loud that it felt like we were in the middle of a disco. That is weird though, you have to go all the way across the village to reach this place, but it does not save you from the music. Usually in the morning you could hear how these drunk backpackers are vomiting kinda saying good morning to all the guests. Monkeys were another attraction for which we did not sign up. They were jumping on the roofs and fighting on the balconies. We were even scared of leaving the house. In addition, our friends did not have hot water in their room and the pillows had this terrible smell of 1569 previous guests' sweat! We were relieved when we left this overpriced hell! They definitely should change its name to Pee pee poo hotel!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Lovely little cabins up Koh Phi Phi viewpoint. Regularly cleaned, safe and spacious. Well worth a trip! Staff greet you to take your cases when you get arrive at the harbour. Small walk up a hill to get to the accommodation, nothing much at all. Clue is in the name 'viewpoint'. Best part of Thailand!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

Visited here in mid December and I was really impressed. The rooms were very authentic huts, granted the walk to the rooms was up some steep stairs, but if have that expectation, you can hardly complain about it. I thought the staff were really friendly and accommodation. Rooms were immaculate and well dressed daily. Nice clean pool and quite resort. It does over look a kind of green water storage facility - but it's certainly not unsightly. Again - it's location is a good 20 minute walk, but go with that expectation and you can't complain about it. The walk back from the beach is safe - it's not the cleanest, but again, that's not the hotels fault. Fair price for a great stay in my opinion. Highly recommend.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

My partner and I booked this last minute as we headed over to Phi Phi. We were so happy to be slightly out of the town as we couldn't have imagined staying in and amongst it. It is the perfect location for being just out of town, near the viewpoint and a short walk to the beach and nightlife. They have a great system where they can trolley your luggage through the town and walk you up to a car that then takes you a very short distance up a hill. It really is only about a 10-15 minute walk into town and the pier if need be. The people are lovely and always very happy. We checked in and were taken up to our room. It is fairly steep and would be a huge struggle for anyone who experiences trouble with stairs. However once you are up in your room we were really excited. You have a lovely spacious room and bathroom of a beach hut decor and a great view. In the night you can hear monkeys and all the jungle sounds. We even woke up one morning to monkeys on our balcony and as long as you feel safe inside or out it was such an unexpected but fantastic experience. As mentioned we walked easily to the beach and various bars and restaurants, there is a good night scene and the viewpoint views are a must see, again you must be able to walk easily and fairly fit. The hotel has a perfect sized pool for hot lounging days and a poolside bar. I would totally recommend this as it was a great price for two of us and offered everything we needed. Best fried eggs on toast for breakfast as well!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to PP Ingphu Viewpoint? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PP Ingphu Viewpoint

Address: Moo 7 | Ao-Nang, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — PP Ingphu Viewpoint 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your PP Ingphu Viewpoint reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pp Ingphu Viewpoint Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PP Ingphu Viewpoint, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.