We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Without doubt.......” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hippo Divers

Hippo Divers
Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
075601152
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 31 Activities in Ko Phi Phi Don
Type: Water sports, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hippo Divers is a PADI 5 Star Resort and Career Development Center.Hippo Divers offers you quality diving courses with the best prices in the world. With an unmatched friendly and professional staff, Hippo Divers guarantees you the best time both in and out of the water.Hippo Divers is principally a diving school. We are dedicated to teaching scuba diving and our goal is to introduce this amazing, safe, fun, and unique sport to as many curious, enthusiastic and adventurous, young and old people as possible.Every year, Hippo Divers organises a clean-up day with PADI's PROJECT AWARE and supports several others community efforts.For all you sea, nature lovers and diving enthusiasts, please take a moment to browse our web site to discover the beauty of Koh Phi Phi and the services offered by the Hippo Divers.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Without doubt.......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

.....this was the best PADI experience i have had in 16 years of diving. I have been a dive master for approximately ten years, dived around 350 dives, and have just completed my PADI Open Water Instructor course with Hippo divers. Phil Phelan,, the manager, with the help of Toby, ran what I consider to be a fantastic course. These guys were full of knowledge, and at all times were willing to share and put in that little bit extra to ensure all students were comfortable with their skills and knowledge. Yes, there were a few hiccups, a few things could have been better, but after spending 2 weeks with them in Phi Phi could not recommend the shop more.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    2
    2
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hippo Divers not reliable - no guarantees for the booked dives”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Two days experience in Ko Phi Phi was marvellous, the only problem in the island was with Hippo Divers.

The first day in Ko Phi Phi my girlfriend and I (both advance open water) have booked 2 dives with Hippo Divers (very close to the main Pier) for the second day. Tetella (a nice person in appeearing), request me what I prefer to eat, wear and ask me to pay.

The second day I arrived at Hippo Divers without finding anyone waiting for us. A tall man arrives after 10 minutes saying he was looking for us at the pier, but the agreed meeting point was the Hippo Divers... They start the dives trip without contacting by phone... No other words:

Enjoy Ko Phi Phi diving, but avoid Hippo Divers!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
divein2012, Manager at Hippo Divers, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
RudiFunTravel

We are sorry to hear that you feel you have had a bad experience with us here at Hippo Divers. We do try our best to accommadate all of our guests. As was mentioned to you at time of booking we do meet at the shop at 8am, after your phone call from your resort later that day we did agree to hold the boat up and all of our other guests 30 minutes so as you could arrive at 8.30am. As it was we did not leave the shop until 8.40am.
As many of our guests had afternoon ferries to catch to Phuket, we could not hold on any longer. As I mentioned, we do try our best to accommadate "all of our guests"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Highly recommended.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

With such a wide selection of dive shops on Phi Phi Island, its difficult to decide which one to choose. Hippo was the first one we went to and after checking out some of the others (they all charge the same) we went back to them. Great choice, they promised and delivered, took the time to help the teenagers fill in their dive books and allowed us all(even the non-divers) to leave our bags there after we had checked out of the hotel.
Thanks Phil and Toby for a very special experience.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good dive shop in phi phi - very personal experience :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012 via mobile

Was greeted by hippo divers on the way into the island and were very helpful. After looking around the island (all fun dive prices are EXACTLY the same cost 2500 Bhat) decided to go with hippo as they seemed very genuine and offered a more friendly environment than some of the larger shops on the island

Booked and dud a fun dive with then which was awesome and saw leopard sharks mating cuttlefish octopus and much more

Great Experience had good facilities boat and crew enjoyed it even tho it's more expensive than on ko Tao

Thanks Joel and the crew

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“great dives with hippo divers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

had a great time with hippo divers. first encountered their shop when we first arrived in phi phi and were still feeling a bit disoriented. we met daniel of hippo divers outside their shop. daniel is incredibly friendly and he explained the parts of the island to us and showed us some good places to stay. signed up to dive with him 2 days later.

on the day of our dives, we were brought onto a boat with a few other people (wasn't too crowded which was great). daniel was very accommodating and helped us out with any questions we had before each dive.

although the water wasn't as clear as we would've wanted, we had a good time during the dives coz everyone remained perfectly calm and we all felt pretty safe. was able to see my first black tipped shark though!

all in all, i'd highly recommend diving with this group!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hippo Divers also viewed

Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
 
Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
Ko Phi Phi Don, Krabi Province
 

Been to Hippo Divers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hippo Divers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.