We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite expensive but worth it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort to your Saves list
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort
138 Moo 7, Long Beach | Ao Nang, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
3.5 of 5 stars 433 Reviews
Bangkok, Thailand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Quite expensive but worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

This place is way above what I normally pay for a place on the beach in Thailand, but it was a real joy. The location is great, lovely beach and clear water. Quiet at night. Ok, the beach can get a tad busy during the day but welcome to PhPhi in high season. I was expecting worse... The long-tail boats that hang out along the beach do great tours. The breakfast was a buffet and better than I expected. So the staff are not all full of smiles, but they do their job and we had no problems with them. I would go back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    165
    83
    40
    29
See reviews for
73
245
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Capbreton, France
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Probably the worst hotel I’ve stayed in in the last 10 years, and yet one of the most expensive : 3.500 THB (80€) for a « Q » Deluxe room in February 2014. And not even a swimming pool for that price.

See here the list of all the disasters :

- The worst is the bathroom : a permanent foul smell that gets into the room unless you keep the bathroom door closed at all times.

The water is probably desalinized seawater. It tastes horrible and doesn’t dissolve soap properly. Make sure you have plenty of mineral water at hand because this water is certainly not good for drinking or brushing teeth. I understand Phi Phi is a small island and might not have natural water, yet at other places on the island, the water seemed « normal ». An elegant and quite extensive spiderweb decorates the ceiling of the bathroom.

- Second worst are the imperious notifications that are scattered around the room telling you things like « if you loose the key it will cost you so much, if you break the ashtray so much » etc… See pictures. The manager is probably an old army sergeant who thinks his 80€-a-day guests are conscripts who need to be disciplined.

- The room is big but decorated in a tacky, « chinese restaurant » style. The potted plants on the balcony are dead or dying, nobody seems to take care of them.

- Wifi hardly works at all and anyway the code changes every day so every morning you have to queue at the reception and beg for a new code before you can (hopefully) get your mail.

- Reservations need to be done through their website exclusively and the website doesn’t mention any telephone number or email address, a total denial of communication. How do I cancel if I break my leg ?

- Now the restaurant …. Tables and chairs are again a bit quaint, made of massive wood, a chair weighs 50kg. The menus are dirty and greasy. I cannot comment about the food because the first night I sat down and waited 20 minutes. Nobody ever took my order. Yet there were attendants everywhere, but most of them had a sort of disillusioned look in their eyes. The manager is probably not an expert at team motivation. Careful : there’s no toilet paper in the toilets ! How mean can you get ?

The sign said they close at 9 :30, so I stood up and went to the only other restaurant on this side of the beach. The restaurant belongs to the other hotel, similarly called « Paradise ». This restaurant is clean and fresh, the attendant saw me at once, but I had hardly started to eat and not even touched my glass of wine that they brought me the bill. Closing time here : 9 :00pm. What a swell vacation !

The beach (Long Beach) itself is wonderful of course. It’s one of the few beaches in Thailand where you have a beautiful sea landscape, with Ko Phi Phi Ley shooting up from the sea in the distance. Most other beaches you look at the sea and nothing else. But you are sort of prisoner on the beach, especially at night. You have to find a long tail boat to go to town, climb aboard (not easy if you’re a bit bulky), then find a boat to take you back after dinner.

The best way to visit Phi Phi I think would be to take a good hotel in Tonsai town (the Cabana looks nice from outside) and stay no longer than 2 or 3 nights. As you might have read in you guide book, the town is a sort of mini Ibiza with lots of young people making a lot of noise, but at least you’ll have access to excellent restaurants -try Tonsai Seafood- and you could treat yourself to a drink or two long after the Pearl Paradise curfew at 9 :30pm.

Make sure you reserve a full-day snorkeling tour for the next day, that’s Phi Phi ‘ s main attraction and worth the visit.

One thing in favour of Paradise Pearl to be honest : I had reserved and paid for 6 nights, I left after three and they refunded me 80% of the 3 remaining nights. Don’t tell them, but I would have left even without getting anything back !

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

This is a very nice mid range beach resort.It has a nice beachfront restaurant and bar.Has a fairly well stocked shop and free WiFi for residents.As a bonus there is a (geat) dive shop just a short stroll down the beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
vancouver, bc
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We were with our kids 11 and 14. Decided after much research to stay on Ko Phi Phi to get a taste of the Andaman. Liked the idea of no cars, sandy beaches. The geography is indeed gorgeous. Sadly, most of Ko Phi Phi and surrounding 'famous' beaches and coves are overrun with tourists. Yes we were four of them....Very glad that we booked at the Paradise Pearl on Long Beach. Staying in town (Tonsai) looked relatively nightmarish. The hotel is a series of cute little bungalows. Not super-fancy but pretty nice and definitely picturesque. The hotel resto on the beach is so attractive. We really liked the food and the prices as well. We are not Thai Cuisine afficionados but everyone was happy with their meals, several days in a row. Prices very reasonable. The buffet breakfast was totally fine. Honestly, the beachside location with rustic tables and gorgeous scenery and sunsets makes up for any shortcomings. Desk staff at the hotel were lovely, sweet, helpful. Minimart staff were surly. Oh well. Get your stuff, pay your money, done! Most of the other resorts on Long beach looked good, altho Viking looked much more bare-bones and rustic. One tip: if you want to see the local sights especially Maya Beach go before 9 am. Otherwise it is horrifically crowded.

Room Tip: had the family room, it was fine for us. We were not beach front, but it turned out that was fine. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Vegetarian friendly, pad Thai was poor but the vege spring rolls and the stir fried vegetables with rice were delicious. Very decent price (around 400 baht inc drinks), service was ok, based on reviews we were expecting poor service so we just went with the flow and it was fine.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We actually found this one by chance as we were passing by. This really was a pleasant stay. Right by Long Beach! Very quite. Spacious rooms and super clean. The only thing I would say is that they could improve their breakfast slightly. Good lunch and dinner menus and great value for money!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

On arriving we were extremely happy with the resort and the room p4 was huge. Best beach on the island and a 5 min long tail ride to tonsai will cost you 100 baht. You can walk to tonsai but it's a bit tricky if your unsteady on your feet, as it's quite a steep climb. Breakfast was ok with enough choice but would get boring after a few days. Generally the food was good and reasonably priced. The hotel has an ATM machine but if you need to change travellers cheques or cash you need to do it in tonsai. You can arrange trips through the reception and any onward transport to other locations at decent prices. The only thing we found irritating was the terrible attitude of the restaurant staff who never smiled and seemed to be annoyed that they had to serve you. Believe what the other reviews say about the poor service of the staff. With the exception of the reception staff who were always smiling and ready to help. If you can ignore the rude staff you will enjoy your stay in this pretty resort. Oh and one more thing, this was the only place we got bitten by the mozzies so take some deet spray with you!

Room Tip: We stayed in p4. It was huge. Air con was not great tho. Check the hotels website where you will fin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort

Address: 138 Moo 7, Long Beach | Ao Nang, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#3 Spa Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
#4 Family Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and EasyToBook so you can book your Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
Phi Paradise Pearl Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phi Phi Paradise Pearl Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.