We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are watching you pennies or you are a back packer then it is perfect!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Phi Phi Long Beach Bungalow

Save Saved
You added Phi Phi Long Beach Bungalow to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Phi Phi Long Beach Bungalow
33 Moo 7, Tambol Ao Nang Muang, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 38 hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
bristol
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“If you are watching you pennies or you are a back packer then it is perfect!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

I dont know what some people expect! if you go to thailand and want a cheap accomodation then dont expect marble bathroom and perfect air conditioning. we have travelled around thailand for 6 weeks and sometimes we have stayed in nice hotels but at the end we were really on a tight budget. Long Beach bungalows were perfect, it was cheap and comfortable, the bathroom was not exactly great but for £7/night what can you expect? We had breakfast vouchers with our accommodation that helped us a lot. also , the people were really nice. we loved the beach and the sea. you can easily catch a long tail boat from long beach to the other side- but we walked through the forest/jungle instead most of the time. long beach is so much better than the other touristic/busy side of the island.
if i ever went back to thailand and stayed in Phi Phi i would choose long beach bungalows again- unless i won the lottery :)

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2009

Would have to agree with the other reviews on this site.However if visiting ko phi phi especially long beach you have to realise it is very expensive, especially the accomodation.We looked at other resorts ranging from 3000-1600, the one priced 1600 was basic but still alot nicer.Beacuse we were on a budget we opted to stay here.I did not see the more epensive 1000baht huts as they were fully booked.Unless you need the toilet in the night would agree that the hut only is proabably better value.I would not stay here again but I loved long beach and the snorkelling.If on a budget I would consider it.The hut is tiny and the bed fairly hard but we did not have a problem with bed bugs and there was a decent mosquito net. Other options would be to stay in the centre and perhaps visit long beach as a day trip.Depends on how much you can rough it....Also take into account limited choice of restaurants and bars but you can always get a boat to the centre.Having given it a low score I still dont regret staying here, since it served its purpose but my partner may disagree...

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2009

SO.... We arrived without booking anything and walked along the beach asking at all the places. This had 500 baht / share bathroom or 800 baht with ensuite (Phi Phi Hill had 700 with ensuite - nicer bungalows but the stairs up were quite steep and scary, and then was a walk to the bungalow on the other side of the hill). Any way back to Longbeach bungalows... These are EXTREMELY basic (but are right on the beach). We are budget travellers used to the budget lifestyle but I had a bit of trouble staying here. We moved halfway through our stay due to bed bugs and are sure the second hut had them as well. When we informed reception of them the guy didn't seem to care and just said ''so what do you want to do, change the sheets or change huts?'' They also did nothing about the bed bugs (from what I saw anyway). Just cleaned the hut as usual for the next victim. The first hut at least hat a small shelf inside and a table on the balcony. The second hut didn't. There was nowhere to put our belongings - We just left them in a pile at the end of the bed. Sometimes the shower didn't turn on. As they are so close to the beach HEAPS of sand gets in but there is no broom to sweep it up. I asked for a broom and the guy said they didn't have one (bollocks). The staff were not unfriendly exactly but were not friendly either. The service at the restaurant is slow. Sometimes we had to go up to them to put in our order or get the bill. Our first hut was near the reception - the staff are SO inconsiderately loud early in the morning yelling to eachother. We could even hear them through our earplugs - though they helped. We knew Phi Phi would be expensive but we thought the huts would be at least the same standards as cheaper ones on other islands (we left to go to ko lanta and got a hut for 300 baht / night with the same facilities but it was soooo much nicer). There were 1000 baht huts along the beach but I never got a chance to look at them as they were booked. Phi Phi itself is a beautiful place. I would love to go back but not on a budget .

TIP- After dark the price for the longtail boats from Tonsai pier go from 100 baht / person to 150 baht / person. If you walk towards Longbeach, just after Carlitos bar, you can get the longtail boat for 100 baht / person all night (though there is a point where you need to wait for the tide to come back in). We used these guys in the day too. They are more friendly. And have their cute kids helping them out.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2009

The bungalows are at the far end of the beach, after you walk past the air-conditioned plasma-screened luxury villas you'll find the bungalows.

We rented a wooden shed with a bathroom attached. It's officially called a bungalow, but I would call it a luxury kennel. The bathroom was a concrete attachment to the shed, with water that was running according to something else other than the taps. Previous guests had tried to fill in various holes with ashtrays and paper, but at night shampoo bottles were still knocked over by some kind of bug or lizard that we couldn't see. The mattress was rock hard.

We found the better bathroom facilities were the shared ones, so the extra we paid for the ensuite was a bit of a waste.

We heard you can snorkel from the beach, but there's a constant flow of boats between the beach and the reef so it's not really a feasible idea. The beach itself is lovely, and it's a nice walk along the beach to the pier area (where the shops are).

We found the prices for accommodation in Phi Phi are inflated above the rest of Thailand, but this was no way worth the 800 Baht we paid.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Phi Phi Long Beach Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Phi Long Beach Bungalow

Address: 33 Moo 7, Tambol Ao Nang Muang, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Phi Phi Long Beach Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Phi Long Beach Bungalow Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
Phi Long Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phi Phi Long Beach Bungalow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.