We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean hotel but outdated and overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Phi Phi Andaman Legacy

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Phi Phi Andaman Legacy to your Saves list
Phi Phi Andaman Legacy
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   1 Moo 7 | Ao Nang, Muang, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 52 Ko Phi Phi Don B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Clean hotel but outdated and overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

We stayed in the msin building with pool and garden view on the top floor. Room was nice, a bit dated but overall OK. The location was excellent, away from the load bars, dough a mosque was close by and started to shout out the praying at 6am.
The hotel has a while ago been a luxury hotel, however, the hotel does not any longer meet this quality.

Ok, but a little bit too expensive.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    105
    81
    41
    25
See reviews for
26
123
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Hi All,

Stayed here on NYE and also in Feb 2011.

Overall nice place.

Breakfast average, rooms are clean and comfortable. Telly didn't work though.

The laid back people of Ko Phi Phi don't really seem to care about much, but they didn't register my wake up call and could have missed the ferry if I didn't wake up. I had requested and confirmed twice.

Other than that reasonably price and a way from all the hustle and bustle as well.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

Our expectations of this hotel was pretty high after moving in from another resort which we deemed to be unsuitable for our kids (too remote). Factoring in the relatively high price, the decor was just a tad dated but effort has been made to maintain the cleanliness.

Some downsides-
-The huge manholes (for maintenance access) around the pool were left ajar - Not too safe ya?
-Bedbugs? Our family woke up with telltale bed bug bites. Now I am not too quick to say that it is from Andaman Legacy since it was our first night there. But we did go to sleep with no bites (photos to prove) and woke up with typical linear type bites on my back/chest and across my kids neck/faces which unfortunately swelled to epic proportions....
-A bit far from jetty (About 15-20min walk for kids)

I probably would not be staying there again but try alternative accomodations the next trip.

Room Tip: Don't take Room 208 just in case the bugs are there.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

We stayed here for two nights in the bungalows. Compared to other places this wasn't great value for money. The decor is tired and bathroom very dated. Air con worked well though and atmosphere around the pool was nice, and at breakfast. It is very close to Hippies bar, so some bungalows close to the bar may experience disturbance. It was clean though and we had a comfortable stay. I would stay again.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

We booked a standard bungalow with poolview. The standard is low and the bungalow really needs a facelift. The first night was terrible as Hippie Bar, next to the hotel played music and the mosque calling out prayers all night. The day after we made an upgrade to a superior room with mountainview, paying a few hundred bath extra per night. It was perfect! Nice, clean and quiet. The location of the hotel is perfect, just in the end of the town. We recommend Long beach, a longtail boat is 100 bath/person one way. The breakfast is both Thai and international, ok but nothing special. They don't serve lunch nor dinner. Nice poolarea but very few sunbeds. Friendly and helpful staff. They'll help you with the luggage to/from the pier.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contadora Island, Panama
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

I have read the other reviews and what it shows me is that there are many different expectations of the wide range of travelers. Some loved it and some thought it was less than they were looking for. We loved our stay there thanks to Preeda and the rest of the staff in the front office and the housekeepers who are fun and most helpful. We stayed at the Phi Phi Andaman Legacy in the bungalows for 4 nights the first time and then went back for another 3 nights in the new building. We were in a mixed group (males, females, 28 - 60 years olds, enroute for a wedding at the gorgeous Phi Phi Village Resort - a 5 star secluded wonderful resort where we stayed for numerous nights too. While we are used to staying in some very classy places we loved staying at the Phi Phi Andaman Legacy. Much preferred it to many of the other hotels in the area. I can understand that some travelers are looking for more class than the bungalows have, and yet we all thoroughly enjoyed staying in them. We did not even think of using the TV or need any other amenities other than clean linen, clean room and bathroom, albeit simple.

The pool in the center of the bungalows became the fun central social area and we met lots of other fun travelers there. One of our group just had to get caught swimming in the pool after 8 pm and pay the fine. Gave us a great story for the rest of the trip. I guess a lot depends on the company you are and the company you are traveling with and that you meet along the way. We would all happily stay there again and 6 of the group have already done so since we left.

Room Tip: If you want more quiet you may want to book into the new building and ask for a back facing room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

A group of four of us stayed at Andaman Legacy last week and made the poor choice of staying in bungalows! We survived the 3 nights there but it wasn't pretty - lucky we were in Phi Phi enjoying the wonderful island. The room feels really old and after a storm we thought the ceiling was going to collapse in; the bathroom, like others have said, just has a plastic showerhead fixed to the wall so everything in the bathroom is wet after you have a shower. The hotel does have 24 hour reception however, and they did a good job of keeping our room keys so that we didn't have a chance of losing them at some of the crazy beach parties in Phi Phi. The island is basically paradise, but this hotel did its best to downgrade our view of it.

Room Tip: Anything but a bungalow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phi Phi Andaman Legacy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Phi Andaman Legacy

Address: 1 Moo 7 | Ao Nang, Muang, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Phi Phi Andaman Legacy 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Phi Phi Andaman Legacy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Phi Andaman Legacy Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phi Phi Andaman Legacy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.