We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel I've stayed in” 1 of 5 stars
Review of PP Charlie Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added PP Charlie Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
PP Charlie Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   104 Moo 7, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand (Formerly Phi Phi Charlie Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 38 hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worst hotel I've stayed in”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Don't be deceived by the photos on the websites. This hotel is absolutely disgusting and what's more is that their rules and regulations are absurd considering the state of this place. You sign a document that allows them to charge you for stains, marks and all sorts of stuff. The water in the sink, shower and toilet appear to be directly from a sewage- it is very very dirty. There's no point having a shower here or washing your hands unless you buy and use clean water from the shops. Maybe, the state of this place is a result of the flooding, but they should not charge people to stay here. At least, close down, renovate, and then open as a hotel should.

Room Tip: I would not recommend staying at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakkrapun K, General Manager at PP Charlie Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Valued customer,

On behalf of PP Charlie Beach Resort, Koh Phi Phi. Please accept my thousands of apologies for the unpleasant stay in Economy room on your valued vacation. Please kindly be informed that due to lack of manpower in housekeeping department in May - June 2013, the quality and standard of guest rooms were not in a good condition.

However, we have hired a new executive housekeeper to manage and solve this problem just now. We also have a big renovation plan for Economy rooms in August - September 2013. I am convinced that all the rooms in PP Charlie Beach Resort will be well treated in a good condition from now.

Sorry once again for this matter and thank you very much for your review and information for our improvement.

Best regards,
Jakkrapun Kongkaew
General Manager
PP Charlie Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    20
    28
    17
    60
See reviews for
8
42
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Phuket, Phuket, Thailand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I was here last weekend 11-12 May 2013 and i love this hotel. It is very nice location, just 5 minutes walk from the pier. We have welcomed by a very nice guy waiting for us at the pier and help carried our luggage (mostly backpacks lol) to the reception area and we brought to the rooms and it is quite very lovely. We spent all of our time in the Princess swimming pool and enjoy overlooking Phi Phi Don a whole afternoon. So went to Slinky and enjoy our dancing party time a whole night was a blast! Even the weather was terrible the next day (it was a stormy weekend, but we can't blame the weather right? :) ) but still worth having our weekend holiday at Phi Phi Don. Phi Phi is a very nice get away so I'm recommended everyone please come!

Room Tip: Book room for the suite and you will be right at the pool and a nicer Phi Phi Don view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I agree with the previous posts this is definitely not a resort, more like a backpackers. I stayed there May 5th for one night with my husband and in laws, this was definitely not the place for us, however if you are 18-25 then this would be more tour style. Our rooms were beachfront rooms although not really beachfront as the kitchen was I front of us, the rooms whilst very basic did have fridge, mini bar, tv, balcony, safe (although it didn't work) and ensuite (although again the ensuite was so small one person could barely fit in it). Rooms were clean no issue there but the rest of the grounds are pretty untidy with construction going on in the "resort" area. Whilst we didn't swim in the pool it does look like the photos with a swim up bar and very loud music playing all day. The pool gets fairly packed with backpackers wanting to have a good time, so probably not what you would want if you are expecting a quiet relaxing holiday. The house music from the beach bar/clubs down from Charlie's thumps beats all night until around 3am making it difficult to sleep. The location of this place is excellent however like I said if you are 18-25 this place would be awesome. Im 31 and with in laws therefore it wasn't really what we wedgie after but it was manageable for one night. In future I would book well in advance at either Phi Phi Hotel, Bayview Resort or Andaman Resort which are all within 3-5 mins walking distance to Tonsai Bay. Breakfast was included in our room rate however we decided to skip it and got brekky from a restaurant down the road for 150 baht.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Terrible place, NOT a resort in any shape or form. They have a adjoining property called the princess resort where most of the pictures on their web sight are from. It looks decent but I didnt see the rooms. PP Charlie is a dump !!! if you are 18 years old and need a flop house go for it. Salt water ran from the shower and facuets, the room was not clean. The room was so small 2 people can hardly walk without bumping into each other. The staff acted like they didnt care about any complaint you have. If you make a reservation and pay ahead of time and decide you dont want to stay, too bad because you wont get your money back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, U.K.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I have to agree with most of the other people that have reviewed this place & say it was very disappointing. The staff are pretty blasé demanding a 1000 Baht ( cash ) deposit on check in. The rooms are small & stuffy & the A/C was pretty intermittent. The shower was what I could only describe as a weak trickle & the wardrobe doors required brute strength to slide open. There is no balcony, however you do get a good view of a building site through the window. Don't whatever you do follow the signs near reception for the pool & restaurant as both are in the complete opposite direction ( we spent 20 minutes searching in the searing heat ). About the only good thing was the swimming pool ( once you have found it ) quite nice overlooking the beach. This type of accommodation would have been fine had it had been priced at say £15 to £20 GBP per night however at over £ 40GBP per night it was not at all good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This place cant be called a resort at all, i dont even know where to begin - filthy rooms- hair and dust in the drawers,dirty bed sheets and towels, no wifi, the water in the toilet was salty and smelled horrible, i couldnt brush my teeth,wash my face or for heavens sake take a damn shower. breakfast was just BLEEHHH,i didnt bother waking up the next day to have it in the hotel. i didnt even go to the pool, i couldnt imagine how dirty it would be if the rooms were this bad!! The aircon started dripping water on the tv the 2nd day, there was water everywhere from the aircon, i had to run all over the room with the towel,wiping the floor. The funnies thing is the 1000 THB for room deposit and 500THB if you stain the sheets, haha well they are all already stained and all the furniture is in a very bad condition!! I would never advice anyone to go to this dirty,horrible hotel.It was soo not worth the money we paid!!

Room Tip: keep away from this hotel !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

This is the worst place I have ever stayed in. It was filthy. Bed sheets stank- the room stank the towels stank too. 3 out of a party of 4 came down with a horrible stomach bug while staying here and I don't think it was a coincidence.

We have stayed in hotels of all star ratings on our trip through Thailand from chiang mai to hat yai to au naang and have been given spotless clean rooms and fabulous hospitality in every one of them, so I was shocked to find that places like this exist. The hotel is mis sold on publicity photos it is a complete dump.

When we arrived I asked for the bed to be changed with clean linen which was given after several attempts to find something passable. I soon realised this was as clean as it was going to get. We consoled ourselves with the thought of the infinity pool- apart from the fact it was situated away from the hotel it was rank! Loud music was screeching out for the benefit of the pool bar staff so there was no quiet oasis to relax in, the final insult was the filthy pool towels that were dried in the sun then put back on the shelf for the next person. I was bedridden for 24 hours in this place and it felt like a life time.The place is a health hazard and the owner should be ashamed of the condition of this hotel - it is truly a blot on the landscape.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to PP Charlie Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PP Charlie Beach Resort

Address: 104 Moo 7, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand (Formerly Phi Phi Charlie Beach Resort)
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — PP Charlie Beach Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PP Charlie Beach Resort is a three-star beachfront resort known for its outstanding style, comfort and service. The property lies along the most beautiful beach in Phi Phi island and yields breathtaking panoramic views of the Loh Da Lum Bay. PP Charlie Beach Resort offers an extensive variety of services, including romantic honeymoon packages, banqueting, weddings, the best scuba diving in Koh Phi Phi, sportfishing, exciting adventure tours, snorkeling trips, superb cuisine and sea food, and comfortable rooms, all set against the captivating tropical scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your PP Charlie Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Phi Charlie Beach Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PP Charlie Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.