We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anonymous back, nice front!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of PP Charlie Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added PP Charlie Beach Resort to your Saves list
PP Charlie Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   104 Moo 7, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand (Formerly Phi Phi Charlie Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 39 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Vaxjo, Sweden
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Anonymous back, nice front!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed in one of the barrack-like wings situated in the back, a bit away from the beach. Really anonymous but totally OK place if you use the hotel just for sleep. The wing closest to the bar street gets noisy though.
The girl at front desk was really helpful and well spoken.
The seaside part of the hotel appealed to me more. The hotel has a really nice pool area by the sea with a nice shake and drink bar in the pool, perfect hang out for the hot, humid Thai-summer. As it was low season there was plenty of room for everyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    36
    63
    39
    121
See reviews for
21
85
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Derry, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Firstly, there is no such thing as value for money in phi phi with regards to accommodation as they all seem to be of a low standard.

Location is great and really central to all the bars, restaurants and the beach, however it is quiet at night. The pool area which is shared with PP Princess is really good with a swim up pool bar. The breakfast is poor with the food being cold both mornings I went. The rooms are clean but the walls are stained. Also they have a list of costings in the room and at reception which outline the charges you face for a variety of different stainings of the bedclothes etc which is ridiculous! We wanted to extend our stay as it really isn't that bad but we had to change rooms which was fine but then we were told we had to change again for some reason! The staff were extremely apologetic for this and helpful throughout our stay. All in all this hotel is probably one of the better ones in phi phi and we did enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Halfway through our tour of Thailand we decided to treat ourselves to a more expensive hotel, so went for a poolside/beachside room at Charlie Resort. Our room overlooked the pool, which was lovely, and had a horizon edge which flowed over onto the beach! Room very modern, spacious and with great air con!! The room actually ended up too cold at times! Room cleaned on request everyday.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We arrived in phi phi and from friends recommendations we were told to stay at the princess charlies beach resort as they had a great pool, with live music everyday. Before we arrived in phi phi we went on the website to check out what the rooms looked like and to request a room in the NEW buildings which were by the pool. We arrived and payed up front about 20 sterling pound each for a night, which we originally thought was very expensive however it was worth it and the rooms would be nice. At the time the staff were very helpful and happy to take our money and reassured us that our rooms were in the new building by the pool, however they were not. We went up to the room and realised it was not by the pool and was not like they showed in the pictures on the website. It was nothing special at all and for 20 pounds a night which we were VERY disappointed at. We went back to the reception to try and explain that we were not happy with our room and that we requested to stay in the block by the pool, the staff were being very rude and unhelpful so we asked to speak to the manager. About 2 hours later the manager arrived and after explaining what had happened he was not very helpful and we demanded our money back. He would only give us 2 nights worth of money that we had payed for 3 nights, which was totally unexceptable seeing as we were not even going to stay there anymore.

I would definitely NOT recommend this hotel one bit to anyone, the staff were rude and unhelpful. Do not waste your time and money staying at this hotel!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

This hotel is horrible! The first day our room smelled like pee. There were flies and mosquitos everywhere. We asked to move or have the staff clean the wardrobe (which is where the pee smell was coming from). After going up to the front desk 3 separate times...they agreed to move us the following day. The next day, they acted like they didnt know what we were talking about when we asked to move. We were finally moved.
At night you cannot sleep bc people are yelling and screaming outside bc they are drunk. This truly happened every night. There is absolutely no hot water in standard rooms.
When you check out staff brings your towels and sheets up to the front desk an inspects them. I saw 2 different parties be charged for makeup on their towels that was washable. When the customers tried to explain it was washable...the hotel refused to listen.
They make everyone pay 1000 baht deposit. They said we used 190 baht from the mini bar: Chang beer, peanuts, coke, and water. We took nothing!!! We even talked to the manager. We said taking our money would be stealing from us, and we asked, "so you're stealing from us?" and he said "yes". We stated we wanted to call the tourist police and he said ok-but refused to give us the phone number. This place is very shady and unsanitary. This is not the place to stay if you want to relax and is not worth it even if you're on a budget!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 6 nights and it's a good option for groups and young people. The rooms do vary in relation to overall standard So ask to see the room first. Our first 4 nights there the room was fine but when we wanted to stay an additional 2 nights we had to swap rooms and the other room was dirty, filled with damp, air con didn't work and the washroom had a broken window so full of Mosquitos. Our friends had a room beside the pool and these seemed a lot nicer so definitely check the room before agreeing to it.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

OK, I've seen some of the more recent reviews saying "Don't go here" and claiming false advertising. As we didn't book our room beforehand and didn't see any brochures we therefore can't comment on any of those aspects.

As we went to Phi Phi during May which is when the season is ending, the island was not as busy so we could walk upto reception (fairly friendly) and get a room just like that. It was decent value but I would imagine that during busy season prices would be a lot higher.

The room itself was pretty good - fairly spacious with TV, air con and a decent private bathroom. One thing I found strange was that the pool and bar were 200m (ish) away from the rooms and it appears that they are shared with other hotels rather than being exclusive. However as the pool is next to the beach it made more sense to hang out on the beach.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to PP Charlie Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PP Charlie Beach Resort

Address: 104 Moo 7, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand (Formerly Phi Phi Charlie Beach Resort)
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — PP Charlie Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PP Charlie Beach Resort is a three-star beachfront resort known for its outstanding style, comfort and service. The property lies along the most beautiful beach in Phi Phi island and yields breathtaking panoramic views of the Loh Da Lum Bay. PP Charlie Beach Resort offers an extensive variety of services, including romantic honeymoon packages, banqueting, weddings, the best scuba diving in Koh Phi Phi, sportfishing, exciting adventure tours, snorkeling trips, superb cuisine and sea food, and comfortable rooms, all set against the captivating tropical scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your PP Charlie Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Phi Charlie Beach Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PP Charlie Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.