We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, full amenities, unfriendly staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Haad Yao Bayview Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Haad Yao Bayview Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Haad Yao Bayview Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   57 Moo 8, Koh Phangan | Haad Yao Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 91 hotels in Ko Phangan
South Lake Tahoe, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great location, full amenities, unfriendly staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Haad Yao is a great place to stay- the beach is gorgeous, and there's tons of little beach bars and restaurants in walking distance of the hotel if you want to venture outside of their onside restaurant.

Which you will. Trust me.

Not only is the food overpriced, but the staff is borderline bipolar- ignoring you one minute, then laughing and smiling the next. They could care less about your satisfaction, comfort, or overall opinion. There's only one girl there that was always sweet, responsive, and helpful. And never looked at you like you were an idiot or total nuisance for asking for something.

The rooms are nice, though. Decent size and reasonable for the cost. Same with the location. We preferred staying out of haad rin's hecticness, and the transport to and from the full moon party was easy enough.

Lastly, beware of the she-devil and evil bald man running the front desk. They will go above and beyond to make sure you are welcomed in the WORST possible way. Charging you extra for all these hidden costs not stated SIX MONTHS ago, when we booked it.

Overall- nice place, clean, spacious, good beach, good pool, decent food- awful staff.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    70
    58
    45
    43
See reviews for
33
113
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Staff completely ruined our stay... I've travelled for 3 weeks in thaliand staying ina ll sorts of places (cheap $20 bungalows and pricier $150 ones) and nowhere else have I met staff like this: lying, yelling at customers (in thai!), unfriendly and completely unhelpful. We actually had to go ask other bungalow staff for help - which they kindly did. We wanted to leave after 1 day but unfortunately couldn't as everywhere was full (new years).
Otherwise rooms are decent and I think some have good views. The balcony is joint for all rooms on the same floor though, so anyone can walk past your window and you can easily see inside.
There so many better places to stay at in Phangan - don't go there!

Room Tip: Rooms with views are probably better but bear in mind none have privacy as the balcony is a joint on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

When I arrived I was surprised by the good standard of the rooms, especially as I was just paying 590B a night. The swimming pool is nice and the beach nearby isn't bad, although it's very far from the action around haad rin.

I would have given this hotel 3-4 stars if the staff were a but more friendly. But unfortunately I have nothing good to say about them at all. Everyone was very unhelpful, they didn't appear to enjoy their jobs and never returned a smile. Disappointing..

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Staying here for two weeks, rooms are nice, spacious and clean. A/C, tv, hot water and literally right on the beach, for 590 baht! Couldn't find anything that cheap anywhere close! Def the best beach in our opinion! Room with breakfast the first two nights was 800 baht, breakfast was good but didn't take for the rest of our stay as would have become too repititious.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silkeborg
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My girlfriend and i stayed here for 4 nights, our standard room, with ac, cooler, tv and so ón were good. There were some bad smell like a fart . But Thats was is. Restaurant is ok food. But a bit expensive. Go to 7/11 and there are some restaurants with good and cheap food :) The staff was Nice, bit one lady in The reception was irretable. Anyway we had a good stay here! / Thomas and Emilie Denmark

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This hotel has an excellent location on a pretty beach with a nice pool and average but clean and large rooms. The staff however are miserable! Particularly the front desk/reception. They are resentful to guests and very unwelcoming. I actually spoke to the front desk about this, but they didn't even respond to me when I asked why they aren't friendly. They have been dumped on in the past from full moon party guests but taking it out on everyone. Its a pity as its a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: There is no fitness center or spa as advertised but taking out a kayake was fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

A friend and I recently stayed at Haad Yao Bay View Resort (29th and 30th September) and it was a pleasant stay.
Its a little far from the main pier and town area....about 20 mins by scooter.....but if exploring bays and beaches is top on your agenda, this place is strategically located.....you can ride all the way till the northern side and all the way down till the Haad rin Beach and beyond if u have the time and energy of course.

SInce its further away from the town centre, almost everything is more expensive - taxi rides are more expensive by 50-100 Baht one way, boat to surat thani, train from surat thani to bangkok, were all 25% - 30% more expensive than in the town area, the scooter hire was also 50 Baht more expensive than in the town area.

The Hotel is located in a very pretty Bay. the accommodation category we chose did not have a sea view but the hotel had sufficient beach chairs.
Food was Below Average and expensive! staff was OK.

We had only 2 days in Koh Phangan and we had gone there especially for the Full Moon Party and the weekend local market in the town.
This hotel was not the best suited for us, but we made the most of it :)

The massage/Spa setup by the beach looked quite awesome though we dint have time to try it out.

Keep Traveling !

Room Tip: if you are keen on a sea view, you should take a bungalow. The standard rooms are in a three stori...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Haad Yao Bayview Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haad Yao Bayview Resort & Spa

Address: 57 Moo 8, Koh Phangan | Haad Yao Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Ko Phangan
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
#40 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Haad Yao Bayview Resort & Spa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a minute’s walk from the golden sands of Haad Yao Beach, this resort is surrounded by nature. Located on the island of Ko Phangan, it features a spa and an outdoor pool.Haad Yao Bayview Resort & Spa offers rooms with wooden furnishings and wall panels. Most rooms have a private balcony, where guests can sit and enjoy views of the sea. The private bathrooms provide a shower and bath toiletries.Guests can enjoy a traditional Thai massage by the beach or at the spa. The resort provide car and bicycle rental, currency exchange, and laundry services.The beachfront restaurant serves local and international dishes. It also offers fresh seafood specialities. Drinks are available at the bar.Haad Yao Bayview Resort & Spa is a 15-minute drive from Thongsala Pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Haad Yao Bayview Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haad Yao Bayview Hotel Koh Phangan
Haad Yao Bayview Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haad Yao Bayview Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.