We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Haad Yao Bayview Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Haad Yao Bayview Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Haad Yao Bayview Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   57 Moo 8, Koh Phangan | Haad Yao Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 90 Hotels in Ko Phangan
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

My friends and I stayed here for 3 nights (supposed to stay for 2 but extended). We stayed in a bungalow, which was clean, spacious and had a lovely balcony with amazing views. I agree that the staff weren't too helpful and the food is far from the best I have eaten in Thailand but considering the price, the views and the stunning beach we were more than happy with our stay here. We left Koh Phangan before the Full Moon party but went to Haad Rin for some of the parties leading up to it and found it cheap and easy to get there and back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    87
    78
    57
    62
See reviews for
39
155
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

We were very disappointed with this hotel, yes the view is lovely and looks over the bay but the rooms are basic and the staff miserable. The staff are there from the morning till the very late evening so no wonder they are so unhelpful and unfriendly...
They did organise the transport to the Full Moon Party which was a good half hour drive away. The reception seemed to be doubling as a travel agency and so therefore don't really have time for you unless you are giving them money. If you're going to koh phangan for a full moon party for a few nights, don't stay here, it's not worth it.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Hotel is situated on the opposite of the island to the full moon, the hotel collected us from the pier and dropped us back to the pier for a small fee. Hotel bar and resturant closes after 11, not much to do around the hotel at night. Lovely area right on the beach. Not suitable for groups and people who want to be in the thick of the full moon fes tivities.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We booked the "bungalow" room for just 3 nights. The room is actually semi detached, and onto a communal walkway that is used to get from the restaurant/ bar to the beach, in the evenings the tables are right next to this deck. However the room is large, with a bathroom cubicle and a rock form shower, nice touch although very awkward position. The room and bathroom spotless.
The restaurant was nice with good selection. The breakfast had a good choice but slightly strange way of making you wear a badge for service.
This area is quite out the way and difficult to move around without a moped. The staff were a little reserved in there service and communication was sometimes strained between English-thai-burmese. The hotel was ok but the area quite sparse, i dont think we'd come back.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

When we checked in we were originally put into a seaview room. The view was very nice but the door that closed the door had large gaps in it and we could hear everything going on outside. This was also right next to a new building that was being constructed right next door. We asked to be switched and they allowed us to switch to another room which was much quieter thankfully.

The room and balcony were very nice but the room was so large that the air conditioning did a poor job at keeping the room cool.

The restaurant food was pretty average for a touristy part of Thailand but if there were a lot of people eating at the restaurant it would literally take over an hour to get your food.

Overall I wouldn't recommend the hotel, it's overpriced for what you get and the staff is not very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Such a long trip from Malaysia, then we found this little nice resort surronding with coconut trees. we checked into their standard bnagalow found the service was adequate. there were plenty of resturant near by but we found it was difficult to travel around the island on public transport. The food here was a lot better than those we found in Malasia

Room Tip: get the bungalow away from the walkway, it is too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Stayed here for three nights with three people (a couple and one single). Haad Yao is on the otherwise of Koh Phanghan to Haad Rin, which is where the full moon parties are held.

Haad Yao is a beautiful, calm and quiet beach. The local's are helpful and often smile - unlike the rest of our Thailand experiences. The water is clean, as is the beach. There are lots of 'on the beach' massage places for around 300 baht ($10)/hour.

The resort staff rarely smiled and often didn't understand English. We booked a hillside room and when we got there and had a look it was quite disgusting. The room was hot, very dated and small. The bathroom was tiny and the shower was right above the toilet. The three of us decided that we needed to upgrade to a beachside villa as that room was no place for a holiday.

The beachside villa was lovely. The bed's were hard (I found this the case all over Thailand) and the bathroom was strange as it had a rock jutting out from the wall with pipes? The rest of the room was lovely and Thai style. We looked straight out onto the beach and were right next to the pool. Very glad we upgraded. Had we not the hotel wouldn't be worth staying at.

Breakfast was pretty horrendous. Very simple and strange food, hardly any choice or variety day-to-day. Had dinner at the seafood buffet and one of the waiters was kind enough to help me crack my crab and get the majority of the crab meat out. The only staff member who really went out of his way. Lack of smiles here. The pool was slightly murky...

Overall the experience was good because of the beach, the massage parlours and the proximity of our room to beach. Although, I probably wouldn't stay here again - staff were rude.

Room Tip: Always choose a villa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Haad Yao Bayview Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haad Yao Bayview Resort & Spa

Address: 57 Moo 8, Koh Phangan | Haad Yao Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Ko Phangan
#42 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phangan
#42 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Haad Yao Bayview Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a minute’s walk from the golden sands of Haad Yao Beach, this resort is surrounded by nature. Located on the island of Ko Phangan, it features a spa and an outdoor pool.Haad Yao Bayview Resort & Spa offers rooms with wooden furnishings and wall panels. Most rooms have a private balcony, where guests can sit and enjoy views of the sea. The private bathrooms provide a shower and bath toiletries.Guests can enjoy a traditional Thai massage by the beach or at the spa. The resort provide car and bicycle rental, currency exchange, and laundry services.The beachfront restaurant serves local and international dishes. It also offers fresh seafood specialities. Drinks are available at the bar.Haad Yao Bayview Resort & Spa is a 15-minute drive from Thongsala Pier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Haad Yao Bayview Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haad Yao Bayview Resort And Spa
Haad Yao Bayview Hotel Koh Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haad Yao Bayview Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.