We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good beach hotel in a questionable location.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Sea Resort

Save Saved
You added Grand Sea Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Grand Sea Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   152Moo.1 Aow Nai Wok | Surat-thani, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 91 hotels in Ko Phangan
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good beach hotel in a questionable location.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed here for two nights with 3 other friends and our first thought was how good the hotel surroundings were and the excellent beach. However, the hotel is miles away from anything and a good 20 minute drive to Haad Rin beach where all the Full Moon action is. So, if you're heading to Koh Phangan for that, this is probably not the hotel for you. The rooms are also just average, nothing special and they are also just locked with a padlock which I guess wouldn't make most people feel completely secure. However, the rooms provide good air conditioning and a good shower and the quality of the beach and pool also make up for any inadequacies. But, being in such a distant location, you are also pressured to use the hotel restaurant which is good... when they get your order correct. The staff working in the restaurant did not speak good English, so it was often difficult to make an order.

Room Tip: Try and get anywhere near the beach as this is the main attraction of this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    13
    14
    8
    4
See reviews for
5
26
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Really nice place
2 swimming pools very chilled vibe about the place.
Very friendly people and great service.
Thai food excellent.
Little expensive but good value for money Well worth spoiling yourself if you are weary travellers like us.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucks
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here for the NYE full moon party had to pay for 7 nights.... only stayed 2! We had no option but to have the most basic room as thats all that was available. It was like a prision cell, the door was like cardboard and you had to lock it with a padlock!!! Could hear people all around us, no safe in room - if you want to use a safe they have one in reception but count your money first as I'm not sure I trusted them! Also they close at 8pm so no access to safe after that time! Bathroom was horrendous the shower was like a drip! Food in the restaurant was awful! My boyfriend jumped in the pool and the underwater light floated to the top connected to the wall by wires! I would not stay here again and would not reccommend this hotel to anyone!! Pictures can be very discieving!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We picked this spot while in thailand in 2010, and what a value it was. The price was great, and the resort is beautiful. The archetecture is incredible. We had a beachfront bungalow, and it was very clean and comfy. The staff was fantastic, and the private beach was lovely. I reccommend waling out onto the beach off to the right around sunset. It is aways from the madness on the south of the island, and a short walk to thong sala (port town). We stayed for 5 days, could have stayed for weeks. You can rent jeeps from the resort and explor the island, which I highly reccommend. I really hope to make it back to thailand, and if we get there we will stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengdu, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

After exploring the island and going from hotel to hotel, I stumbled across the Grand Sea Resort and was immediately overwhelmed but its beauty and peacefulness. The resort was perfect! The service was excellent and the prices where very cheap. The resort itself is beautifully designed and very spacious. The best quality of the resort is its peacefulness! No busy bees running around or staff members bugging you. Everything was calm and laid back. The pools are great with the main pool overlooking a very beautiful scenic view! It doesn't get better than this!!

Room Tip: Bungalows 5,6,7,9 are very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

It's easier to write about what wasn't wrong with this place. The pool was clean and the beach had nice white sand. Unfortunately, it was downhill from there.

Now for the hotel. We checked in around 6:00 p.m. and no one spoke English. The person who showed us our room should have told us how to work the shower because the first night all we had was cold water. Actually, it was broken. They fixed it the next day, leaving the old parts in the bathroom for the duration of our stay, but there wasn't any water pressure and what water there was went all over the bathroom floor, making it very slippery. We asked for an extra bath mat but never received it. They never gave us shampoo and the next day they didn't even clean the bathroom. When I complained, they told me that they did clean it, and I had to personally show them that, in fact, they hadn't touched it. There was hair on the counter and the toilet bowl was never cleaned. Not only were the towels thin, but they had holes in them.

Although they claimed to have wifi, you had to be in the reception area in order to receive a signal.

They had a sign posted in the room indicating what you would be charged if anything was broken. I had to make sure they knew that the bedside lamp wasn't working upon check in so I wouldn't be charged. They said the lamp was fine and it just took a few minutes to warm up! In general, the lighting was poor throughout the room.

They took 10 minutes to find my husbands passport which was supposedly in their safe.

While the restaurant had decent food, I lost my appetite when they brought over the condiment box and it was filled with ants. They scattered quickly, all over the table and food.

We kept losing electricity thereby losing the air conditioning. That wouldn't have been so bad if we were able to open the windows. We were able to keep our door open and got a draft that way.

We paid $100/night for a beachfront cottage. The front of the cottage was facing the pool. The side window had a view of the gulf, but obstructed by trees. I thought a cottage would have a few more amenities. It was just a large room with a dirty bathroom.

I've stayed in better places and received better service at far, far less expensive places. Go elsewhere if you want to splurge.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We booked this as a package for the full moon party so half expected somewhere a bit shody but the resort was surprisingly nice :-)

The 2 pools were quiet and clean (although my friend did cut his foot on a missing tile at one pool but reception were quick to give us a well equiped first aid box) and it is right on the beach as the pictures show - not some fancy photoshop effort as we had imagined.

The breakfast wasn't up too much but its only a 15 min walk into town where there are lots of options and you'll pass lots of places to eat on the way.

The bathroom was more a of wet room and I would have preffered this to be bigger but i think if you book the rooms through their website and not part of the package you can chose a room with a nicer bathroom. Bed were comfy but only one pillow each - we like 2 ...

Rooms were basic but had well stocked mini bar fridge (thought ours was unplugged and we didn't notice til went for first use), air con and television (though not sure what channels) but no hair dryer - something i tried to find out from the website before going - website says rooms have all amenities so I assumed hair dryer was included ... its not!!

Wifi is free but intermittent - i think i'd rather pay for it and be guaranteed a signal but when it works its okay if a little slow.

Probably wouldn't stay here if you are a family with kids who don't want to leave your resort but if you want somewhere comfortable and quiet to hang out in between touring around the island this place was perfect :-)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sea Resort

Address: 152Moo.1 Aow Nai Wok | Surat-thani, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 91 hotels in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Sea Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Grand Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Sea Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.