We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you choose this hotel check which room you have sellected!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Sea Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Sea Resort to your Saves list
Grand Sea Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   152 Moo 1 Ao Nai Wok, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 90 Hotels in Ko Phangan
bucks
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“If you choose this hotel check which room you have sellected!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here for the NYE full moon party had to pay for 7 nights.... only stayed 2! We had no option but to have the most basic room as thats all that was available. It was like a prision cell, the door was like cardboard and you had to lock it with a padlock!!! Could hear people all around us, no safe in room - if you want to use a safe they have one in reception but count your money first as I'm not sure I trusted them! Also they close at 8pm so no access to safe after that time! Bathroom was horrendous the shower was like a drip! Food in the restaurant was awful! My boyfriend jumped in the pool and the underwater light floated to the top connected to the wall by wires! I would not stay here again and would not reccommend this hotel to anyone!! Pictures can be very discieving!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scarlett07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We picked this spot while in thailand in 2010, and what a value it was. The price was great, and the resort is beautiful. The archetecture is incredible. We had a beachfront bungalow, and it was very clean and comfy. The staff was fantastic, and the private beach was lovely. I reccommend waling out onto the beach off to the right around sunset. It is aways from the madness on the south of the island, and a short walk to thong sala (port town). We stayed for 5 days, could have stayed for weeks. You can rent jeeps from the resort and explor the island, which I highly reccommend. I really hope to make it back to thailand, and if we get there we will stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joshandjessD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengdu, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

After exploring the island and going from hotel to hotel, I stumbled across the Grand Sea Resort and was immediately overwhelmed but its beauty and peacefulness. The resort was perfect! The service was excellent and the prices where very cheap. The resort itself is beautifully designed and very spacious. The best quality of the resort is its peacefulness! No busy bees running around or staff members bugging you. Everything was calm and laid back. The pools are great with the main pool overlooking a very beautiful scenic view! It doesn't get better than this!!

Room Tip: Bungalows 5,6,7,9 are very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RiaanNagel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

It's easier to write about what wasn't wrong with this place. The pool was clean and the beach had nice white sand. Unfortunately, it was downhill from there.

Now for the hotel. We checked in around 6:00 p.m. and no one spoke English. The person who showed us our room should have told us how to work the shower because the first night all we had was cold water. Actually, it was broken. They fixed it the next day, leaving the old parts in the bathroom for the duration of our stay, but there wasn't any water pressure and what water there was went all over the bathroom floor, making it very slippery. We asked for an extra bath mat but never received it. They never gave us shampoo and the next day they didn't even clean the bathroom. When I complained, they told me that they did clean it, and I had to personally show them that, in fact, they hadn't touched it. There was hair on the counter and the toilet bowl was never cleaned. Not only were the towels thin, but they had holes in them.

Although they claimed to have wifi, you had to be in the reception area in order to receive a signal.

They had a sign posted in the room indicating what you would be charged if anything was broken. I had to make sure they knew that the bedside lamp wasn't working upon check in so I wouldn't be charged. They said the lamp was fine and it just took a few minutes to warm up! In general, the lighting was poor throughout the room.

They took 10 minutes to find my husbands passport which was supposedly in their safe.

While the restaurant had decent food, I lost my appetite when they brought over the condiment box and it was filled with ants. They scattered quickly, all over the table and food.

We kept losing electricity thereby losing the air conditioning. That wouldn't have been so bad if we were able to open the windows. We were able to keep our door open and got a draft that way.

We paid $100/night for a beachfront cottage. The front of the cottage was facing the pool. The side window had a view of the gulf, but obstructed by trees. I thought a cottage would have a few more amenities. It was just a large room with a dirty bathroom.

I've stayed in better places and received better service at far, far less expensive places. Go elsewhere if you want to splurge.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank csinger13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ko Phangan hotels

Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We booked this as a package for the full moon party so half expected somewhere a bit shody but the resort was surprisingly nice :-)

The 2 pools were quiet and clean (although my friend did cut his foot on a missing tile at one pool but reception were quick to give us a well equiped first aid box) and it is right on the beach as the pictures show - not some fancy photoshop effort as we had imagined.

The breakfast wasn't up too much but its only a 15 min walk into town where there are lots of options and you'll pass lots of places to eat on the way.

The bathroom was more a of wet room and I would have preffered this to be bigger but i think if you book the rooms through their website and not part of the package you can chose a room with a nicer bathroom. Bed were comfy but only one pillow each - we like 2 ...

Rooms were basic but had well stocked mini bar fridge (thought ours was unplugged and we didn't notice til went for first use), air con and television (though not sure what channels) but no hair dryer - something i tried to find out from the website before going - website says rooms have all amenities so I assumed hair dryer was included ... its not!!

Wifi is free but intermittent - i think i'd rather pay for it and be guaranteed a signal but when it works its okay if a little slow.

Probably wouldn't stay here if you are a family with kids who don't want to leave your resort but if you want somewhere comfortable and quiet to hang out in between touring around the island this place was perfect :-)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Korinamcintyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

too bad that I didnt do proper research before booking and didnt read reviews here((

if you are coming to Koh Phangan for Fool Moon Party and plan to stay in this hotel thinking that it is just few min drive from Haad Rin then you are very wrong. Nope!!! you dnt wanna ride this road especially after couple drinks. it is really hilly and might be quite dangerous for those who is riding the bike for the first time. ride takes maybe 20 min.

these guys in Grand Sea resort hired very good photographer and web site designer. after checking out their site I was so excited to go there, thought that for that price it will be beautiful! oh, we were soooo disappointed when arrived. Dirty rooms, poor furnished, the beach is awful. It is absolutely impossible to swim in the sea overthere. Dirty water and I gave up walking slippery bottom after 10 minutes.

standard american breakfast. the only advantage that since they have maybe only four guests in the whole hotel, breakfast is cooked right after you come to the restaurant so it s all fresh and hot.

the place is calm and deserted. we couldnt rent a bike at the reception even though they claim they provide this service. to call a taxi (which is more comfortable then jeepneys but also more expensive) took about 20 minutes.

oh yeah, it might be also a plus that they dont close swimming pool after 6 pm as other hotels do.

when we checked out the very next morning after our first night there because we found a much nicer hotel for cheaper price at Haad Rin, Grand Sea Resort according to their greedy cancellation policy didnt refund us nothing (we payed for 4 nights and stayed only one).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank girafelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

After coming from a very basic beach hut for 500b per night, we thought we would treat ourselves to somewhere that appeared absoluty stunning. But its seems we were wrong.

The room was basic, bed was ok minus the stains on all the bedding we had each time. The plugs were hanging off the walls, there were dirty marks all over the room.

The shower was a room with the shower pointing to the toilet-not quiet sure why.But it had hot water.

Unfortunetly whilst we stayed at this hotel the weather was pretty poor, although it was peak season and they were charging peak prices 2200b per night for this room.

There were supposed to be three bars but the only drinks available were from bottles of beer the fridge in the restaurant and that shut at 9pm

Absolute waste of money, no lift to the pier on check out.

Only good thing was the food from the restaurant that they forgot to charge us for. Bonus for being a rip off

Room Tip: Even the cheap rooms are too expenive for what they are
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank makemeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phangan hotels
4.0 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#37 of 90 in Ko Phangan
4.0 of 5 stars 162 reviews
5.0 mi away
Buri Beach Resort
Buri Beach Resort
#17 of 90 in Ko Phangan
4.0 of 5 stars 580 reviews
4.6 mi away
Salad Beach Resort
Salad Beach Resort
#40 of 90 in Ko Phangan
3.5 of 5 stars 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#32 of 90 in Ko Phangan
4.0 of 5 stars 394 reviews
2.3 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#1 of 90 in Ko Phangan
5.0 of 5 stars 411 reviews
4.7 mi away
Haad Tian Beach Resort Koh Phangan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sea Resort

Address: 152 Moo 1 Ao Nai Wok, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 90 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Sea Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Grand Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing