We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Sea Resort

Save Saved
You added Grand Sea Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Sea Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   152 Moo 1 Aow Nai Wok, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 91 hotels in Ko Phangan
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We booked this as a package for the full moon party so half expected somewhere a bit shody but the resort was surprisingly nice :-)

The 2 pools were quiet and clean (although my friend did cut his foot on a missing tile at one pool but reception were quick to give us a well equiped first aid box) and it is right on the beach as the pictures show - not some fancy photoshop effort as we had imagined.

The breakfast wasn't up too much but its only a 15 min walk into town where there are lots of options and you'll pass lots of places to eat on the way.

The bathroom was more a of wet room and I would have preffered this to be bigger but i think if you book the rooms through their website and not part of the package you can chose a room with a nicer bathroom. Bed were comfy but only one pillow each - we like 2 ...

Rooms were basic but had well stocked mini bar fridge (thought ours was unplugged and we didn't notice til went for first use), air con and television (though not sure what channels) but no hair dryer - something i tried to find out from the website before going - website says rooms have all amenities so I assumed hair dryer was included ... its not!!

Wifi is free but intermittent - i think i'd rather pay for it and be guaranteed a signal but when it works its okay if a little slow.

Probably wouldn't stay here if you are a family with kids who don't want to leave your resort but if you want somewhere comfortable and quiet to hang out in between touring around the island this place was perfect :-)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    14
    17
    8
    4
See reviews for
6
27
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Guangzhou, China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

too bad that I didnt do proper research before booking and didnt read reviews here((

if you are coming to Koh Phangan for Fool Moon Party and plan to stay in this hotel thinking that it is just few min drive from Haad Rin then you are very wrong. Nope!!! you dnt wanna ride this road especially after couple drinks. it is really hilly and might be quite dangerous for those who is riding the bike for the first time. ride takes maybe 20 min.

these guys in Grand Sea resort hired very good photographer and web site designer. after checking out their site I was so excited to go there, thought that for that price it will be beautiful! oh, we were soooo disappointed when arrived. Dirty rooms, poor furnished, the beach is awful. It is absolutely impossible to swim in the sea overthere. Dirty water and I gave up walking slippery bottom after 10 minutes.

standard american breakfast. the only advantage that since they have maybe only four guests in the whole hotel, breakfast is cooked right after you come to the restaurant so it s all fresh and hot.

the place is calm and deserted. we couldnt rent a bike at the reception even though they claim they provide this service. to call a taxi (which is more comfortable then jeepneys but also more expensive) took about 20 minutes.

oh yeah, it might be also a plus that they dont close swimming pool after 6 pm as other hotels do.

when we checked out the very next morning after our first night there because we found a much nicer hotel for cheaper price at Haad Rin, Grand Sea Resort according to their greedy cancellation policy didnt refund us nothing (we payed for 4 nights and stayed only one).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

After coming from a very basic beach hut for 500b per night, we thought we would treat ourselves to somewhere that appeared absoluty stunning. But its seems we were wrong.

The room was basic, bed was ok minus the stains on all the bedding we had each time. The plugs were hanging off the walls, there were dirty marks all over the room.

The shower was a room with the shower pointing to the toilet-not quiet sure why.But it had hot water.

Unfortunetly whilst we stayed at this hotel the weather was pretty poor, although it was peak season and they were charging peak prices 2200b per night for this room.

There were supposed to be three bars but the only drinks available were from bottles of beer the fridge in the restaurant and that shut at 9pm

Absolute waste of money, no lift to the pier on check out.

Only good thing was the food from the restaurant that they forgot to charge us for. Bonus for being a rip off

Room Tip: Even the cheap rooms are too expenive for what they are
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights during the full moon party, the location isnt great although it’s only 100 baht per person by taxi to Had Rin where the FMP is, personally I'm afraid of the roads over there so I didn’t like the journey up and back. I would rather stay a bit closer next time. The grounds had lovely Thai houses to stay in (from outside), the room was very basic and bathroom was just ok. The hotel has 2 pools, one just in front of the beach with amazing views so cant complain. We were kept awake one of the nights though from the next resort along the beach. The breakfast was terrible, worst during our 16 day trip, they give you a ticket which you have to tick the items you want. You have 3 options, orange, pineapple or tea (I chose pineapple but as they hadn't got any they tried charging me so I had water), next option is ham, sausage, bacon (no ham, bacon was horrible and sausage was just as bad) last option scrambled or fried egg (all horrible) and that was it. They had cereal, and waffles and other nice things but they were all extra and this was the most expensive place we stayed we didn’t expect this. I wouldn't stay again because, location, room, food, no pc's for internet and to phone long distance is robbery compared to the town. They say they will bring you down to the full moon party every hour, so we assumed the lift was free but when we tried taking the lift they told us it would cost us 250 baht each, we said no walked outside and got a taxi for 100 each!! Another thing is I emailed them to arrange pick up from pier but they didn’t even reply.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

I very much liked the Grand Sea. It had everything you need including a private bungalow right on the edge of the ocean. Quiet and peaceful. And a short walk brings you right into the town of Thong Sala where the market food is fantastic good and inexpensive.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights around the Full Moon Party so the prices were higher than average. However the Grand Sea Resort was not an aspirational hotel like the Santhiya were we spent the previous 3 nights. Even though the price was cheaper I would not consider the GS better value. The staff did contact us before hand to arrange for pick up from Thong Sala pier and also brought us back when we left, free of charge. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful, but did not make up for a somewhat disappointing stay. We were upgraded to a spacious pool view bungalow and we used the pool a lot because the beach was too shallow for swimming. It looks nice in photos, but walking down the beach we found many broken bottles and litter. Disappointing for our stay on a tropical island. The breakfast and snacks were ok, but for better and cheaper food head towards the Night Food Market in Thong Sala town. I would recommend staying on a nicer beach, since the island is not so big to get around.

Room Tip: Better to choose a nicer beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

This was the by far the most expensive accommodation on our two weeks of island hopping so we were expecting something great. Unfortunately the room was a dissapointment. It was very basic, not very clean and the TV reception was bad. We had breakfest included in our stay but didnt even bother with it the second morning. We were given a piece of paper and we had to tick a box for what drink we would like, what eggs we would like and what meat we would like... the choice was poor and it made the hotel look really greedy. Receptionist was nice and helpful though.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sea Resort

Address: 152 Moo 1 Aow Nai Wok, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 91 hotels in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Sea Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Grand Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Sea Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.