We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach is great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Phuwadee Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Phuwadee Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Phuwadee Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Thong Nai Pan Noi Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 90 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beach is great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We booked the bungalow with fan- do not do that! The bungalow was humidity, it needs air condition and little bit renovation. Every bungalow has air con but they rent some also only with fan- it is cheaper. Staff was friendly and restaurant was okay. The beach is very beautiful. The location is ok. You should book bungalow near pool- they seemed to be better condition that those who where far away from the beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    20
    17
    13
    7
See reviews for
12
25
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

situated on a beautiful beach this hotel does nothing but disappoint.
The room was not very clean and due to the resorts mosquito issues had to be fumigayed with coils every time we went in.
The bed was the most uncomfortable bed of our 3 week holiday travelling samui, phangan and Tao.
I got an upset stomach from eating in The restaurant which did not surprise me as there was a fly problem due to the dirty table cloths.
The pool was small but useable, but you risked getting eaten alive in The late afternoon when the mosquito were at their worst.Beds
A short walk along the beach to either side showed better standard hotels and restaurants at similar prices.
Definitely not worth the money.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Its quite staggering to read some of the negative reviews of this resort. Its fairly basic, the rooms are simple but modern and clean. A few modern amenities - a TV, refrigerator, safe, swimming pool. But you're paying ~700 bahts (1000 for A/C) to stay on possibly one of the best beaches in Thailand!

If you want a 5 star resort stay at any of the numerous other places on this beach but be prepared to pay 3-4x the price. However if you're on a budget this represents incredible value. It is a 3 star hotel on a stunning beach surrounded by 5 star fancy resorts and guess what... everyone shares the beach!

Some people have mentioned the food isn't great, this is true but simply walk 100m down the beach for dozens of better options. Head another few hundred meters down the road and there are some fabulous restaurants.. jip and luna bar. Also head to indigo bar for a treehouse with hammocks where you can watch movies at night.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington nz
Level Contributor
283 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed a couple of nights here in a fan room which was large, clean, big bathroom, TV, fridge, free wifi, serviced daily and a large deck and clean swimming pool. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was across a track but that was no issue at all but it did make for a barren environment. There were not many loungers but there was always some free when we wanted to use them and this was during high season. Breakfast was not included and at 250B we went elsewhere. We also ate there once, but food was average compared to the great choices you have in Noi. The room was good value at NZ$33 but unfortunately the fan was not over the bed so the room got unbearably hot at night. For AC it was double the price so for this reason when we returned we went to Thongtapan next door as in low season we got AC for same price as fan at Phuwadee.

Room Tip: get Ac room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We paid an extra 300baht for the room with A/C. When we first checked in it was working, when we came back from a late dinner (around 11:30pm) it wasnt working. We tried absolutely everything to fix it but it just wouldnt work, so we went to the front desk several times throughout the night because we were SO hot and couldnt sleep, but no one was there. It miraculously turned on at exactly 7:40am. We did nothing.
We asked for our money back, and after an hour of arguing we got no where. They accused us of lying and being cheap. They said that there was no way that they could control the A/C. HOWEVER, directly after this we took a walk around our room and found a box on the outside that had the on/off switch to the A/C.

No money back, no free breakfast. These people were absolutely horrendous. Oh and the bathroom was infested with ants.

Recommendation: Check out Bottle Beach Resort. Its a beach further North on Koh Phangan, super secluded and amazing people.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llangybi, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

We spent 3 nights at this resort in February 2012 as we were attending a wedding nearby. We arrived at the port, on the other side of the island with prebooked transport by road. The driver collected two of us from the ferry then told us he was waiting for the next ferry and we would have to wait. We hung around for 20 minutes but whoever he was expecting did not materialise. He then transferred us to another taxi with a couple going to a different resort. The road was poor and deteriorated as we got nearer to the resort. Eventually at the entrance to the resort, the ruts were so large, that the driver gave up so we had to lug our own luggage into the resort. At the end of our stay, some friends who were leaving with a group had their luggage put on top of the vehicle. There had been some rain and the ruts turned into pools. Their suitcase fell off at the first corner and got wet. Be warned to put your luggage inside!
We had a small bungalow near the central pool. I avoided to pool as the sea was adjacent which I prefer. The bungalow was reasonable for the price we paid. It was small with a basic bathroom. The shower was rather temperamental, and it was either power or heat, but not both. One has to remember this is a remote area of Thailand and it was fairly cheap accommodation. There were fresh towels every day, but they were rather thin.

As we were there for a wedding, we were not overly concerned. The breakfast was basic with tea/ coffee and watery juice. The quantities of toast were also small. One morning we were too late but the restaurant was open all day. They served us, but we had to pay for it. We had some lunches in the restaurant, which again were average.
Next to the restaurant on the beach was a small roofed area offering massages. It was cheap and cheerful though not particularly relaxing situated next to the restaurant.

I would not have chosen this resort, except the rest of the family were staying there and we just wanted a cheap bed for the wedding. It was an easy 10 minute walk to the village, where we ate at night, but do remember to take a torch as the roads are unlit. There were several restaurants to choose from in the village as well as a variety of shops. Overall a low budget resort which I personally would not recommend.

Room Tip: Some bungalows had a beach or pool view which you could request for extra payment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Phuwadee Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuwadee Resort & Spa

Address: Thong Nai Pan Noi Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
#38 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Phuwadee Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Phuwadee Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phuwadee Hotel Koh Phangan
Phuwadee Resort And Spa
Phuwadee Hotel Ko Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phuwadee Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.