We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location and great staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tommy Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Tommy Resort to your Saves list
Tommy Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   90/13 Moo 6, Haad Rin Nok Bantai | Suratthani, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 90 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Ideal location and great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights leading up to the full moon party. The service at the hotel was amazing, the guy who runs it came and picked us up from a sketchy situation over at drop in. The rooms were clean and the location was great. Its right on Sunrise beach in Haad Rin so if you are staying here the night of the full moon party, dont expect to get any sleep. The breakfast buffet in the morning is really good and I would suggest this resort to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    39
    5
    14
    8
See reviews for
7
28
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for about a week leading up to the full moon party.
Location is ideal, right on the beach where the party is and very close to all the shops and restaurants.
The hotel staff were very friendly and spoke good English, which is relatively rare to find in Thailand.
Although the hotel may be a bit more expensive than others nearby it is definitely worth it!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

My friends and I stayed 2 nights in the beachfront villa #301. Everything was perfect, beautiful sea, the beach was just one step upfront. Unreasonably high prices in the restaurant. Wish I come again!!!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzlia, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

What a wonderful hotel! It was paradise being there. The hotel has a huge pool and on the beach - what more could one ask for?!

The staff at the hotel/restaurant were always on hand and ready to help.

The next time I visit Ko Phangan, Im staying the the Tommy resort!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kotka, Finland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I can't really say anything good about this resort. I don't know if my friends have already spoken their mind, but here's mine.

We'll we should've known not to get bungalows from the beachside of the beach where full moon party is held. Every [--] night the bass from the nearby clubs pound the walls so I couldn't really sleep (didn't sleep on the previous week elsewhere either). Don't get me wrong I do like electronic dance music especially Psytrance, but for hecks sake there were nights when nobody was even on the beach and they still had to pound it loud. On the fullmoon party night the psytrance-stage was just 3-4 meters away from our bungalow balcony so the music was pretty loud inside bungalow as well. Luckily at some point I had had one bucket too many and passed out.

One night there was a thunder storm, we had our doors locked, but somehow after huge thunder strike our door opened and a hell hound (dog) jumped in the room. It was a bit angry, scared and wet, but we managed to get it out. Next day we had rat visitor, which came from a hole behind the fridge. Resort crew already had tools for cathing rats, so I think this wasn't anything new to them. They attached a small piece of plywood to cover the hole. Day after the full moon party also some stoner tried to get into our room explaining he had lost his black bike. Later that day he came to our door again. This time he was looking for black bag. Next time it was black backpack. Didn't tell him, but he had one black backpack on his shoulders. After that he just watched sea for maybe 4 hours. I think them shrooms were pretty awesome.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We rented a pool side villa for 2000 baht a night and loved the place. The room is a bit small but has everything with a nice big walk in shower. You have your own balcony next to the pool so no problem if all sun loungers taken next to pool. You have shower taps outside your room so no need to take sand into the room. The beach is at the end of the pool so a fantastic location. You are just far enough away from the full moon party as not to hear the music. Everything in the town is a short 5-10 mins walk. Breakfast is usual Thai buffet style - we passed and got 200 baht off the room price without breakfast. However the restaurant overlooks the beach so a super place to eat. We really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Saw the review on my lonely planet, called from the ferry and I was told one price. Once arrived at the front desk, the price was 25% higher. The guy who showed me the room wanted money to show me how to use te safe. The bathroom was never cleaned properly. Tommy is beautiful but it's not the only beautiful place on the island. Not worth the money, you feel they are ripping you off and it's an unpleasant feeling.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suthee H, Manager at Tommy Resort, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Mtavella,

Sorry for the inconvenience caused.
I'm the guy who answer your phone that you have call on the boat on your way to Koh Phangan, you said that you will stay alone for 3 nights what is the price for the room?
I answer that we can give you the price for 2,000 baht/night if you stay alone and my fault is forget to tell you the real price for 2 people is 2,500 baht but we only charge you only 2,000 baht/night.
We never cheat people and also the girl who show you the room rate she might don't know that you already call from the boat also.
The safety deposit box in the room is free to use, we are not sure which guy who show you how to use the safe as this is our first complain.
We accept about our toilet that not clean properly as we are now have call the room made for the meting.
Thank you very much for spent 3 night in our resort.
Regards
Suthee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tommy Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tommy Resort

Address: 90/13 Moo 6, Haad Rin Nok Bantai | Suratthani, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tommy Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Tommy Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tommy Hotel Koh Phangan
Tommy Resort Ko Phangan
Tommy Hotel Ko Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tommy Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.