We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't stay here again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Phangan Great Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Phangan Great Bay Resort to your Saves list
Phangan Great Bay Resort
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   145/11 moo1 Baan Tai, Ko Phangan 84200, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #159 of 226 Specialty Lodging in Ko Phangan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wouldn't stay here again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Would never stay here again, booked this while on ferry got to resort the welcome we got was rude and unwelcoming it was like we were bothering them and they just wanted us to leave, ask for help about parties what to do etc same response, food was yuk and service very poor, lots of stray dogs everywhere around resort, water in rooms didnt work all the time, we ended up checking out early as didnt want to be there wouldnt recommended it to anyone plenty more nicer resorts in this area

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    22
    27
    21
    47
See reviews for
3
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We are two 21 year old females, we wre initially told the hotel was in the centre of the town - we were in the middle of no where. We stayed at the resort in July 2013 on arrival we were offered drugs and put in to. Nice bungalow but asked to move after 1 night due the boiler about to blow up, half an hour later we saw a group of lads being moved in. Clearly the boiler was fine. After speaking to the group of lads the next day they to were moved out so another party could move in. The service in the restaurant was diabolical it was slow and often we were left to order for ourselves as the staff were to busy chatting to do their job. One evening we had to send our food back 3 times and still ended up with the wrong food, the dogs constantly fighting under the dining tables made it near impossible to eat in peace and without fear of being bitten. Over all it was a terrible place to stay. Don't come here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

The facilities are not bad but the staff is SO UNPOLITE. It seems as if you are bothering them for stating there.

Remarkably, we stayed there for 4 nights and they did not clean our room! When we asked for, they say that we were probably sleeping (as it was true for most of the people being the full moon party week). However, we were enrolled in a 3-day scuba diving course and leaving the hotel each day at 7 am. AWFUL.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Stayed two-nights, was only stopping through Koh Phangan for the half-moon party.

On the bright side: rooms were clean (no pests, I looked), A/C was magical, and beds were comfy. Room 6.

Got hard-sold on staying here by this woman with an English accent. Regretted it fairly quickly: the place isn't close to a ton of places to eat / booze / kick it at. Walking 25-30 mins will get you to great places to eat and other hostels that you can hang at. In between Great Bay and your hangout: dirt road, hot asphalt on the main road, empty bars manned by teenage Thai girls. For half an hour!! If the management here were in any way trustworthy then I'd have given more stars. But man, they charge a lot for everything and just the way they do business makes you feel like you're being scammed. No smiles, no effort to provide quality, no suggestions on where to go travel or anything like that, just yells to pay for Item/Service X or go. Given that we weren't surprised that the hostel vibe wasn't there. But hey -- these were just the two nights I stayed at.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

We were conned into staying at this place- a lovely Thai man named Cob cornered us off the ferry from koh Tao and we were easily swayed as we hadnt organised anywhere else. Oh how stupid we were; the place is in the middle of nowhere with a half an hour horrible walk into Thongsala and too far from Haad Rin to walk. The beach is dirty, too shallow to swim and plagued with lots of stray dogs. The room was not particularly clean, we had 4 lizards cohabiting with us and the windows leaked when it rained. The atmosphere of the place was dead despite quite a few people staying there. Perhaps the worst feature of the place the was English woman who seemed to run things: she was extremely rude and unprofessional, asking us to move rooms because they had accidentally double booked the room and only telling us we could stay when we'd packed up everything. There are much better places to stay on koh phangan, avoid this like the plague.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

One of the best places we stayed whilst travelling for a month in Thailand, clean and spacious huts that were basically on the beach! About 20 minutes from Haad Rin beach but it was not an issue for us and meant that it felt safe and was quiet. Was really nice to have the option of a pool because it got so hot that the sea was not always enough to cool down properly! Nice food and really friendly staff, my friend fainted on the beach one afternoon and the staff were all very helpful and efficient in looking after her. Would definitely recommend this hotel for travellers on a budget that want to stay in a safe, friendly environment.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The hotel's location is quite beautiful in that it is right on the beach and not too far from the port. However, we found that in general the staff were unfriendly and there was not a good atmosphere. The English lady who works there always seems stressed running around chasing people for payment which makes you feel on edge. I did not feel relaxed staying here especially in comparison to other places where you can put your food and drinks on your room tab and chill! We were also offered weed on our arrival by staff (which we declined). The number of staff who are friendly is far outweighed by those who couldn't really care less.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phangan Great Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phangan Great Bay Resort

Address: 145/11 moo1 Baan Tai, Ko Phangan 84200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 226 Specialty Lodging in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Phangan Great Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Ban Tai Beach, Phangan Great Bay Resort offers an outdoor pool and free Wi-Fi in public areas. It features a restaurant and a tour desk.Phangan Great Bay Resort is just a 5-minute drive from Thongsala Pier, and 10 minutes’ drive from the venue of the Haad Rin full moon parties. It is an hour journey from Koh Samui by land and sea.Featuring balconies with seating areas, the air-conditioned rooms come with a TV, a fan, and a fridge. Each room has a private bathroom with shower facilities.The restaurant serves Thai dishes and Western favourites, while refreshments are available at the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Phangan Great Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phangan Great Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.