We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More like 3.5” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Green Papaya Resort

Save Saved
You added Green Papaya Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Green Papaya Resort
Salad Beach 64/8 Moo 8, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #27 of 91 hotels in Ko Phangan
Metro Detroit
1 review
“More like 3.5”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

We stayed here for a few days last August and had a good time... Its a nice place, but there are a few things to know... The biggest issue for us was the beach... Its rather small, but besides that its pretty nice... The rooms where clean, but they had the hardest bed in Thailand that I laid on... It was nice to hop on our scooter and buzz up and down the island and after all our exploration we found that Haad Thong Nai Pan has the best beach...That said, Its rather hard to get there VIA moped if your not skilled on one... In the end we had a great few days, but would like to stay over at Thong Nai Pan next time around...

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    46
    10
    15
    15
See reviews for
36
84
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

I wish we were there right now. What a dream. Magical pool. Great room. Really lovely staff. If you want utter relaxation, good price (we checked out all the other hotels along the beach) and a beautiful pool and room then this is it.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2009

A beautiful place, and definitely one of the best resorts on the island. We stayed in a Deluxe Cottage and it was well worth the price. Very clean with air conditioning, bathtub.... a nice balcony to sit out on in the evening, surrounding the huge swimming pool and the sea. The pool is stunning and the resort sits on the beach.We enjoyed the tranquility and the way how the friendly staff pampered us. We booked 4 nights, but we would have loved to extend our stay ...had to go back working!!!Thanks to Pola, Tip, Dom, Oy, and the others to make our honeymoon so special. We will definitly stay there again for our next holidays in Thailand.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2009

Nice looking resort on a beautiful beach. Pool and the landscaping is beautiful.
But that is it. The only thing they want is your money, service is poor and the staff is unfriendly.

When we arrived with boat to Koh Phangan we called the resort for a pick up. They quoted us 300 baht. When we arrived at the hotel they said we had to pay 600 baht because they did not know we where 2 families (whats the different? it does not cost more to drive the taxi with 2 families). The taxi ride is a little bit over 10 km so its very overpriced. When we check in we had to pay in advance. The room charge was 4500 baht per night and it include breakfast (if one can catch it) they only serve breakfast between 8 am and 10 am. It is the same staff that serve breakfast, lunch dinner and work in the reception. When you use there internet which they charge for, they will shut down the computer without warning when they want to go home even if they know you are using it. The room is quite nice, only the bedroom is cooled, the bathroom is open to the outside so its warm and the mosquitos can freely visit the bathroom. We were 2 families with children staying there. Actually the people of Koh Phangan is very dishonest. The island does not have any tourist police so the the hotels and the people cheat the tourists all the time. We have stayed in many other resorts in thailand for the same or less money with much better rooms and better service.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Green Papaya Resort for 5 nights in May 2008.
Working in hectic Tokyo, we wanted a relaxing holiday. We wanted to sit back on the beach and do nothing. Our first few days in Koh Samui weren't perfect but Green Papaya in Koh Phangan fulfilled our wishes for a stress-less holiday, as the resort was so well-kept and the staff were so friendly and helpful.

Our experience with Green Papaya was great from the start. We booked directly with them- we recieved prompt responses and check-in was very smooth.
The rooms were not super-luxurious but spacious, well-kept and felt very clean. I especially liked the jacuzi. The shower lacked a bit of water pressure, but I heard fresh water is very precious on Koh Samui. The great thing about Salad Beach was the secluded, peaceful atmosphere so I wouldn't sacrifice that just for a high pressure shower!
The infinity pool was really cool and the gardens full of flowers. Their restaurant was not the cheapest on the beach but food was good. I liked their green papaya salad and my boyfriend kept ordering Ceasar Salad (he liked it so much) which the waitress found really funny. There are also a number of other options down the beach.

There was also a dog... such a happy pooch. It would spend hours and hours every day, in the same spot on the beach, wading in the waters and chasing little fish and it never seemed to get bored.

The people were the same. All of them - the receptionist/waitresses, chefs, gardeners, massous -everybody was so nice and friendly. Not all of them spoke great English but they were always willing to help. The staff just seemed to enjoy working there (but they seemed so happy they didn't seem to percieve it as "work") and that gave such a homely feeling to the entire place.

I would definitely recommend the Green Papaya Resort if you are after a relaxing holiday!!!

  • Liked — People, cleanliness, food.
  • Disliked — Nothing I can think of!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2008

We just spent a whole month in Thailand with our children. As we love Thailand, the trip was amazing. Thailand is one of the best locations for families.
BUT
Stay away from Green Papaya resort in Ko Phangan, They insist on getting money upfront and the promise is very different from reality. The service is terrible, The room is less than Ok (it does not worth the money they are asking for) and if you have a problem they are very proud not to help. The owner even explained to us, that he does whatever he wants with tourists and tourist police does him no harm... so be aware and by any chance DO NOT PAY before you see what you are about to get.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2008

I will start with a summary and then will elaborate for those who are interested

• Extremely over priced
Plain simple resort and Not at all luxurious as described in the ads
• Outrageous cancellation policy which is not published anywhere and forced on the guests even if they notify in advance about early checkout

Prices - we stayed in Koh -Phangan in a luxurious 5 stars resort prior to our arrival at the Green-Papaya. That resort was booked via agoda.com a terrific reservation site which gives good prices.
The price range of the Green-Papaya is the same as the 5 stars resort however the reward is significantly less.
The Green-Papaya offers basic facilitated rooms surrounding a swimming pool close to the beach. No Luxury whatsoever – they are bluntly lying in the advertisement.
For their price range I strongly suggest searching agoda.com for much better offers

Cancellation Policy – Outrageous!!!!
We have never encountered such behavior.
We booked 3 nights via sawadee site. They only mentioned that the deposit is non-refundable in case of canceling.
After the first night we informed the receptionist that we wish to checkout after 2 nights. At this point she pulled out of her desk a document stating that their policy in case of early checkout is one night price- meaning that we have to pay for 3 nights while staying only 2! even though we informed her 1 night in advance.
This so called policy was NOT published anywhere!!
We tried contacting the site manager (who was on vacation) via email but they all seem to stick to their invented policy and after a while we had no choice but to pay.

I strongly recommend avoiding this site – it was by far the worst place and attitude we encountered during our 3 week stay in Thailand (both Islands and Bangkok)

  • Liked — I liked Nothing - worst attitude and unreasonable price for what they offer
  • Disliked — I liked Nothing - worst attitude and unreasonable price for what they offer
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Green Papaya Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Papaya Resort

Address: Salad Beach 64/8 Moo 8, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Ko Phangan
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Green Papaya Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Papaya Hotel Koh Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Papaya Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.