We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, family style run resort” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Green Papaya Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Green Papaya Resort to your Saves list
Green Papaya Resort
Salad Beach 64/8 Moo 8, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Lowest Rm Rates! No Fuss!
Ranked #30 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Overpriced, family style run resort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2009

Nice looking resort on a beautiful beach. Pool and the landscaping is beautiful.
But that is it. The only thing they want is your money, service is poor and the staff is unfriendly.

When we arrived with boat to Koh Phangan we called the resort for a pick up. They quoted us 300 baht. When we arrived at the hotel they said we had to pay 600 baht because they did not know we where 2 families (whats the different? it does not cost more to drive the taxi with 2 families). The taxi ride is a little bit over 10 km so its very overpriced. When we check in we had to pay in advance. The room charge was 4500 baht per night and it include breakfast (if one can catch it) they only serve breakfast between 8 am and 10 am. It is the same staff that serve breakfast, lunch dinner and work in the reception. When you use there internet which they charge for, they will shut down the computer without warning when they want to go home even if they know you are using it. The room is quite nice, only the bedroom is cooled, the bathroom is open to the outside so its warm and the mosquitos can freely visit the bathroom. We were 2 families with children staying there. Actually the people of Koh Phangan is very dishonest. The island does not have any tourist police so the the hotels and the people cheat the tourists all the time. We have stayed in many other resorts in thailand for the same or less money with much better rooms and better service.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    55
    12
    16
    16
See reviews for
45
93
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Green Papaya Resort for 5 nights in May 2008.
Working in hectic Tokyo, we wanted a relaxing holiday. We wanted to sit back on the beach and do nothing. Our first few days in Koh Samui weren't perfect but Green Papaya in Koh Phangan fulfilled our wishes for a stress-less holiday, as the resort was so well-kept and the staff were so friendly and helpful.

Our experience with Green Papaya was great from the start. We booked directly with them- we recieved prompt responses and check-in was very smooth.
The rooms were not super-luxurious but spacious, well-kept and felt very clean. I especially liked the jacuzi. The shower lacked a bit of water pressure, but I heard fresh water is very precious on Koh Samui. The great thing about Salad Beach was the secluded, peaceful atmosphere so I wouldn't sacrifice that just for a high pressure shower!
The infinity pool was really cool and the gardens full of flowers. Their restaurant was not the cheapest on the beach but food was good. I liked their green papaya salad and my boyfriend kept ordering Ceasar Salad (he liked it so much) which the waitress found really funny. There are also a number of other options down the beach.

There was also a dog... such a happy pooch. It would spend hours and hours every day, in the same spot on the beach, wading in the waters and chasing little fish and it never seemed to get bored.

The people were the same. All of them - the receptionist/waitresses, chefs, gardeners, massous -everybody was so nice and friendly. Not all of them spoke great English but they were always willing to help. The staff just seemed to enjoy working there (but they seemed so happy they didn't seem to percieve it as "work") and that gave such a homely feeling to the entire place.

I would definitely recommend the Green Papaya Resort if you are after a relaxing holiday!!!

  • Liked — People, cleanliness, food.
  • Disliked — Nothing I can think of!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2008

We just spent a whole month in Thailand with our children. As we love Thailand, the trip was amazing. Thailand is one of the best locations for families.
BUT
Stay away from Green Papaya resort in Ko Phangan, They insist on getting money upfront and the promise is very different from reality. The service is terrible, The room is less than Ok (it does not worth the money they are asking for) and if you have a problem they are very proud not to help. The owner even explained to us, that he does whatever he wants with tourists and tourist police does him no harm... so be aware and by any chance DO NOT PAY before you see what you are about to get.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2008

I will start with a summary and then will elaborate for those who are interested

• Extremely over priced
Plain simple resort and Not at all luxurious as described in the ads
• Outrageous cancellation policy which is not published anywhere and forced on the guests even if they notify in advance about early checkout

Prices - we stayed in Koh -Phangan in a luxurious 5 stars resort prior to our arrival at the Green-Papaya. That resort was booked via agoda.com a terrific reservation site which gives good prices.
The price range of the Green-Papaya is the same as the 5 stars resort however the reward is significantly less.
The Green-Papaya offers basic facilitated rooms surrounding a swimming pool close to the beach. No Luxury whatsoever – they are bluntly lying in the advertisement.
For their price range I strongly suggest searching agoda.com for much better offers

Cancellation Policy – Outrageous!!!!
We have never encountered such behavior.
We booked 3 nights via sawadee site. They only mentioned that the deposit is non-refundable in case of canceling.
After the first night we informed the receptionist that we wish to checkout after 2 nights. At this point she pulled out of her desk a document stating that their policy in case of early checkout is one night price- meaning that we have to pay for 3 nights while staying only 2! even though we informed her 1 night in advance.
This so called policy was NOT published anywhere!!
We tried contacting the site manager (who was on vacation) via email but they all seem to stick to their invented policy and after a while we had no choice but to pay.

I strongly recommend avoiding this site – it was by far the worst place and attitude we encountered during our 3 week stay in Thailand (both Islands and Bangkok)

  • Liked — I liked Nothing - worst attitude and unreasonable price for what they offer
  • Disliked — I liked Nothing - worst attitude and unreasonable price for what they offer
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the green papaya resort for 6 nights in July and had a great stay. To be honest, I can't understand how it got such bad reviews. We had booked a basic bungalow but upgraded to a deluxe on arrival, so we could have a view of the pool and gardens. (The 2 basic bungalows we saw near the reception area didn't look nearly as nice - further from the beach and seemed a bit dark and cramped). Our bungalow was well furnished and decorated, with a bar fridge and tv provided, and it was extremely clean, with great views. The bathroom is open air - so you do get the occasional bug, moth or mosquito sharing your space. But I liked the set up, and the bugs didn't bother me at all. The staff were friendly, polite and helpful to us the whole time. The food was excellent, and we found the resort to be the best place to eat on salad beach. The buffet breakfast (included in room rate) were also brilliant, with a great variety of food to choose from. Salad beach itself is clean, but shallow, totally enclosed by a reef, so it is difficult to have a good swim in the ocean if you prefer that to a pool. It only ever really got waist deep when we were there. The pool area is fantastic, plenty of direct sunlight and lounges to get lazy on. There are also shaded pergolas by the pool if it gets too hot.
The green papaya resort is well away from the main town of Haad rin, so if you are after nightlife, then this definately won't be for you. But if you want to relax and feel somewhat secluded, then it is perfect. We loved our stay and would definately come back.

  • Liked — great food
  • Disliked — long way into town
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2007

For travellers, who like to stay at a high grade location and even so prefer a relaxed and casual atmosphere, this place is a "must".


Since eight years we stay roughly twice a year in Thailand. We have been at many locations worldwide, but nothing comes close to Thailand regarding the beauty of its nature, the endearing hospitality, the friendliness of its people and the value offered for money.


We love places, which already offer a certain infrastructure, but which are not yet conquered by large tour operators and which still maintain their nativeness. Back packer flair at the beach and AC in a hotel room with pleasant ambiance is a very nice combination. Exactly this is what we found at the Green Papaya.


We discovered that this resort is the most interesting one at this beach where there are also different other hotels and bars. The complex is very straightforward with the limited count of rooms, it has a fantastic pool overlooking on the ocean, a family like atmosphere and very soon you feel being treated like a friend rather than a guest. Of course one should behave accordingly, but unfortunately some guest did not.


During the day, the relatively small crew is discretely and most likeable present. At the breakfast location one overlooks the romantic garden with the pool and the ocean. If you prefer a relaxed place with few guests you can’t possibly expect a menu with hundreds of items - however we missed nothing!


Unfortunately you will find some very bad comments about the Green Papaya in the web. We got to know some of the originators personally and we definitely don’t agree.


We did never encounter any unfriendliness or lack of English language skills. Especially this hotel did not deserve such ratings!!! Of course one should adapt to a certain degree to the Asian way of life, that’s not very difficult. In the rare occasion of a problem, it is helpful to add a smile to your complaint and you will get help immediately. Remember, the concept of “face” is very important for Thai people.


Let me add a comment: After many Thailand journeys we know that this country encounters unbelievable dynamics. Construction noise is something you can meet at any hotel of each price range. In Thailand there is always construction work somewhere and if one loves this country it’s easy to ignore or to find a quiet place nearby. In the evenings it’s quiet anyway. At Haad Salad beach there is no Techno Disco next door. People who like vital night life better stay at Haad Rin. The construction work in the direct neighbourhood should be finished anyway at present.


The Green Papaya is an absolutely lovely place. We shall definitely return.

  • Liked — Staff and Garden
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2007

I stayed here for four days during the full moon weekend in August 2004. It'd recently opened -- the pool in the middle was just starting to be constructed.

The staff at the bar and restaurant was awesome and attentive, and the owner or manager, Tim, was accommodating in every way possible -- he even drove my brother, his wife, and I in his own truck to Haat Rin for the party.

From reading the more recent negative reviews, perhaps the resort isn't as great as I remember, which is unfortunate. And to the person who stated, "it's in the middle nowhere," well -- if you looked at a map of Ko Phangan, you'd know that Hat Salat is clearly on the other side of the FMP stomping ground. I, and other friends who've stayed on Hat Salat, love this beach because it's away from the bustle and chaos. Don't go there if you're not looking for something more mellow. And sure, the road is unpaved and bumpy, and you have to walk down that slight hill where the Reggae Bar is, but come on. What do you expect?

  • Liked — lying in my own hammock on my porch, the less populated beach,the far distance from hat rin nok, the beachfront restaurant
  • Disliked — having to leave
  • Stayed August 2004, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Green Papaya Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Papaya Resort

Address: Salad Beach 64/8 Moo 8, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Ko Phangan
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Green Papaya Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Papaya Hotel Koh Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Papaya Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.