We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice resort, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Green Papaya Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Green Papaya Resort to your Saves list
Green Papaya Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Salad Beach 64/8 Moo 8, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 90 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice resort, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This hotel/resort has got a chain of bungalows surrounding the pool in the centre, all of the bungalows have the beach closeby (max 50 metres) and the pool in less then 10 metres in front. The breakfast location has a stunning view over the pool and behind that, the beach. It is however located on the first floor so not very well accessable if you cant walk stairs. Breakfast is great and plentyful, eggs freshly made any style, pancakes made on request, toast machine, fresh pineapple and watermelon, good coffee and a diversity of small sweets etc.

The bungalow we stayed in had a open air shower, private jacuzzi and very nice bathroom. It all felt quite luxurious although the beds are a bit hard (as are most Thai beds we have encountered, thats prob why there are so many massage places in Thailand ;-) )

Staff is very helpful and reception will help out whenever they can.

Green Papaya restaurant however has its ups and downs, most dishes are overpriced, cocktails are expensive, very small and lack any inspiration. There are much better places to eat and drink on Haad Salad beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    60
    17
    17
    19
See reviews for
48
109
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Way way way too much expensive for the terrible room you get (and i asked for the Delux ocean cottage!)
The room not clean, very old, not only mosquitos eating you, preferred not to think what was inside my bed (other guests complained for the same).
NEVER PAY THE FULL AMOUNT IN ADVANCED. that way you can make it shorter and you will do it if you stay there.
Just cant explain the bad experiace we had there.
Do your self a favour..

Room Tip: Dont get a room there
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
88 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We had a lovely 3 nights here as part of our travels round Koh Phangan. It was extremely comfortable and clean, but we had expected it to be more luxurious on the back of some of the reviews here.

Pros: comfy bed, air con, right on the beach, nice pool area, very friendly staff.

Cons: poor breakfast, poor food in the restaurant, basic room, room smelt of smoke, beach is not very pretty or good for swimming.

The best food we had was at the little restaurant on the beach that is a cookery school during the day, In fact, it was the best food we had in Thailand and I'm still dreaming of it now. Cheap, but big portions.

Room Tip: As close to the sea as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had the Ocean Cottage and couldn't have been happier with our choice for our four night stay. Booking the room via email prior to our visit was easy and the responses to our questions were prompt and clear. We were picked up at the wharf by the hotel driver who had very good English and we found checking in very efficient and our room ready early. Our room was spacious, and our view of the beach from the veranda great. We found the breakfast ample and the staff in the restaurant and beachfront bar provided great service (including opening early for us on the morning we had to leave). The complex has a lovely pool and is small and cosy with really well kept gardens. This is a great place for those who want a small quiet complex. There are lots of restaurants nearby along the beach to choose from. The beach is safe for swimming as it is protected by a reef and relatively shallow, and there is reasonable snorkeling on the outside of the reef. All in all we had a great stay and will return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This was one of my best holidays ever! The resort is perfect with wonderful clean and comfy accommodation and right next to the sea, i haven't slept so well in ages and this place really made me feel peaceful and i definitely re-charged my batteries. It really is paradise and I can't recommend it highly enough! There is a fab boat restaurant which add to the charm and magic of the place with great food and amazing views!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

This place is simply fabulous. Everything sounds perfect. Nothing is let to case here, every single plant, flower, bungalows...all is in perfect harmony with the tropical palm full environment. If you are a family or a couple you cannot miss this place.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We chose Green Papaya because we wanted a holiday staying right on the beach but with a bit of extra comfort and it didn’t let us down. Having researched all the beach accommodation on Hat Salad, this is clearly on the best part of the beach; quieter with less coral and finer sand. We stayed in a Garden Cottage that was a stone’s throw away from the beach front but slightly set back overlooking the gorgeous pool. The room was a good size with a comfy bed, good facilities and a large bathroom with a lovely novel outdoor shower, don’t worry if you get back from the beach too late and want to avoid the mozzies, there’s also a shower head on the indoor bath that you can use. The room was clean, well kept and on the whole bug-free.

The small resort is peaceful and friendly and very family orientated but we weren’t the only couple without kids there. Away from all the parties this is a peaceful beach and we slept like babies at night. There’s a raised-boat-style restaurant where they serve a decent breakfast but nothing exceptional. Its restaurant right by the beach is small with a limited menu but the staff are absolutely lovely. As with most places on the beach they offer massage from the charismatic masseuse which rivals any Thai massage we’ve had.

For Thailand the price is no more than you would expect, it’s not cheap but you are paying for the comfort and location on the beach. Overall a great spot to kick back and relax in comfort.

Room Tip: Go for a Garden Cottage if you can, seemed like they were worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Green Papaya Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Papaya Resort

Address: Salad Beach 64/8 Moo 8, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Ko Phangan
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Papaya Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Green Papaya Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Papaya Hotel Koh Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Papaya Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.