We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Havana Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Havana Beach Resort to your Saves list
Havana Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   47/5 Moo 5, Haad Thong Nai Pan | Surat Thani, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights in February 2013 and were very happy there. The resort is small with pretty and well looked after grounds and the beach is perfect. No sunbeds on the beach, only deckchairs, which were not very comfortable and not enough of them. There was a nice pool with sunbeds around it but it got very hot in the full sun and the beach was more pleasant. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The bathroom was a bit wierd with stone walls making it very dark and the whole room got wet when you had a shower. Not much in the way of shelves to put anything either. However there was always hot water. We had a nice big balcony but the furniture on it was very uncomfortable solid wood stools. I don't think the website tells you that Havana is set on a hillside and therefore quite steeply sloping in parts and a lot of steps. Not great if you have mobility problems.
We soon forgot these few faults when having breakfast overlooking the white sand and blue sea! We found the staff and the owners to be very friendly and helpful.
There are other bars and restaurants along the beach and in the village a short walk away. It is much cheaper to take your laundry into the village rather than have it done at Havana.

Room Tip: Rooms nearer the beach are more convenient if you want to avoid too many steps. the bungalows are 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    76
    37
    11
    4
See reviews for
48
112
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
hyde, cheshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Me and my husband stayed at the Havana for three nights in April. The hotel is located on a beautiful beach - possibly the best on Phangan. The sand is soft and the sea is calm. The hotel is run by a family who are all really friendly. The dad even gave us a lift to the local ATM.

The hotel grounds are green and the swimming pool is clean and large. The rooms are basic but we didn't spend hardly any time in ours.

At breakfast there was a decent choice with a lovely lady making omlettes. We ate a couple more times at the hotel for lunch or evening meal. They have two menus; one thai and one indian. The food was superb - really tasty and reasonably priced.

The resort is quiet but you there are a number of other hotels at which you can have a drink or enjoy some food. we enjoyed some nice cocktails at Flip Flop Pharmacy bar and there was another bar that had cushions and mats on the beach which was lovely to visit both in the day and evening.

The viewpoint is also worth the hike. Ask the hotel to point you in the direction.

On our holiday we stayed at other 4 and 5 star hotels on samui and koh tao but this was probably our favourite stop. I think this was down to the beautiful location and friendly staff. I wouldn't have any hesitations recommending the Havana to any of our friends and hopefully we'll stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Lovely setting on a lovely beach and warm sea. Good swimming pool but the food left a lot to be desired and wasn't that cheap. The breakfasts were poor except for the girl cooking the eggs to order. Her omlettes were delicious but the rest I wouldn;t recommend. Drinks not too expensive but better along the beach in the beach restaurants and food was better as well. Rooms very clean and quaint. Staff very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

The Hotel itself was quite nice and in a beautiful location, rooms were cleaned daily and the pool was nice, the beach was absolutely beautiful.

service was poor, sometimes waiting for a long time to be served at the restaurant on numerous occasions, there are only a few beach chairs for guests which the manager asked us to fold down and put away rather than the staff having to do it and a receptionist that gave the impression that everything was too much trouble for her.....

Overall it was ok but for the money charged I would not stay here again, there a better places!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Thong Nai Pan Yai is a beautiful secluded beach with lovely sand and water, and the Havana Beach Resort was a great place to stay there. We were upgraded to a deluxe room which was nice and large. There was a safe and umbrella provided, as well as A/C and a TV (which had sporadic coverage). There was also a large porch area with a drying rack for hanging bathing suits, etc. The resort had a beautiful tropical garden setting, as well as a pool with many loungers. The beach had some lounge chairs, but definitely need more, so be prepared to lie on the sand. There are several restaurants on the beach offering BBQ in the evenings with a selection of fish - we found the Havana to be a bit more expensive for the BBQ than others in the area. We got there by share taxi from the pier at Hat Rin for 300 THB per person, and the resort provided a share taxi to Thong Sala pier for 200 THB per person when we left. The resort was a bit pricy, but for the location and the upgrade we got, it was worth it.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

i really liked everything about this resort. it is located on a lovely, secluded beach. there are hardly any day tourists coming so it never felt too crowded. the small village offers everything you need for a convenient stay. the food/breakfast at the restaurant and bar was good, clean rooms, nice staff. i would definitely come back!

Room Tip: go for a beachview on the upper level. those are sunny rooms opposite the pool and closest to the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Beautifully situated quiet hotel, on a lovely safe beach. A pleasant walk from end to end of the beach. A little school was hidden away at one end just off the beach.The sea was good for swimming,
Our ground floor room which was clean & comfortable,although it was somewhat lacking in storage space looked out over trees,inhabited by many birds.
Good breakfast with well cooked eggs etc We also enjoyed our meals in the evening.
All the staff were extremely friendly & helpful
Some shops & bars just outside the hotel, making for a change of scenery, instead of walking on the beach.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Havana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Havana Beach Resort

Address: 47/5 Moo 5, Haad Thong Nai Pan | Surat Thani, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Ko Phangan
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ko Phangan
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phangan
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Havana Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located at the best beach in Koh Phangan. We offer a variety of food from Asian cuisine (Thai, Indian, Chinese etc.) to European cuisine (Italian, French, Italian etc.). Our rooms are brand new and our Fidel's bar has all of the varieties of drink that you can think of! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, HostelBookers, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Havana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Havana Beach Hotel Koh Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Havana Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.