We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Havana Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Havana Beach Resort to your Saves list
Havana Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   47/5 Moo 5, Haad Thong Nai Pan | Surat Thani, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
The Hague
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed here with my family including two small kids. We enjoyed our stay very much. The rooms were excellent (although it was a stroke of luck when the showers delivered hot water) The pool was good and safe. The beach was great and we enjoyed some great BBQ food for dinner. All in all this is what holiday is all about. Professional and friendly staff who go out of there way to please the guests. I would certainly recommend the havanna beach resort.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    76
    37
    11
    4
See reviews for
48
112
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

I only have praises for this place. The owner should be very proud to know after travelling Asia for the last 2 months I have never met such wonderful, helpful and kind front desk staff. As soon as I walked in I felt like royalty. I only stayed a night with my husband and son as we had rented a house down the road for the next day but if I haven't I would of wanted to stay here for the rest of my stay in Thailand. I liked it so much that when I want a break from our rented house I'm booking in here. 
The hotel has large clean rooms, coffee and tea making facilities, wifi, a porch with table and chairs and a large clean swimming pool. It's set on the beach which is clean and very comfortable. We were lucky as it was low season so we got the swimming pool all to ourselves. I wish I had known about this hotel earlier in my trip so I wouldn't of had to stay at the dive I did previous. I've stayed in hotels 3 times the price of this yet I rate this the highest. I hope you keep the staff for as long as possible as they really are the best on the island. If they had adjoining rooms then I wouldn't have rented a house. Chai ( the chap at the bar ) is very helpful and fun to be around. His English is perfect. I hope whoever stays here enjoys their time as much as we did. 
Mr and Mrs green and a half. 

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The hotel was great, we loved it and the beach. it is quiet and not too far from the main street and it has a 7/11 near and laundry services. the rooms are nice and the beach is very nice quiet one. the breakfast was not the best, but pretty decent(eggs,pancake,toast,fruits etc..). the part of the beach closest to the hotel has lots of longtail boats in it, which is nice for photos but not so much for swimming.. but you can go around them easily. the only thing that bothered us at the hotel was the fact that we didn't always have hot water in our room because of the fact that there were not too many guests there, so they turned the boiler off... which made us go to the reception each time one of us wanted to take a shower... no phone in the room so you have to walk up the stairs in order to do so. other then that - great place!

Room Tip: The deluxe room is basically the same as the regular with a bit larger balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishon Le Zion, HaMerkaz, Israel
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My wife and i stayed for 3 nights.

The hotel located few minutes walking from thong nai pan village but it's located right on the beautiful beach.
The pool was very clean, and breakfast was very reach.
The hotel also provide free wifi.

The room [ building, pool view, 2nd floor ] was big, clean and had a flat screen tv, with big balcony. bathroom was ok, decent size.

The beach is very beautiful and very quiet, just the place to relax, away from the parties in had rin.

the down side - we saw few small lizards in the balcony and on some external walls,
one lizard even entered to our room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

the hotel is far from phangan centres tongsala and haad rin ( ca.45 min by taxi). on the other hand that means you are not bothered by parties, cars, etc...locaion is very quiet and pleasant, hence not for party goers.
spent there six nights in august 2012 there and can't say anything negative about this hotel. right on the beach and among the trees at the same time, you can hear birds singing every morning, spotless rooms of generous size and teracess, acceptable breakfest (usually poor in thai hotels). pool is quite small but acceptable. very good restaurant on the beach ( quite expensive),staff is friendly and efficient, can speak good english.no fitness center.
beach is excellent. the only shortcoming is very low tide morning and the fact that the bay is full of boats.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Havana during August 2012 with our 3 yo son and 4 months old baby girl and were very satisfied. The resort is less fancy than the one we stayed in Koh Samui, but has many other advantages.
We had a beach side deluxe room which was 1 minute away from the beach, pool and restaurant. We had an extra bed and a baby cot for free. The room was clean and spacious.
The breakfast was very nice. It included a variety of foods and drinks. The hotel restaurant is good for Indian food. If you prefer Thai food, I'd recommend Baan Puri restaurant which has an awesome BBQ and food. It's not far from the Havana.
We did our laundry and also booked a tour at the nearby White Sand store. Taking the snorkelling and waterfall tour from there is much cheaper and you'll have your own private boat.
The bay and beach are beautiful, very quiet and unspoiled by local hawkers. It's a great place to relax and enjoy doing nothing.
Id like to thank Addy from the reception. She helped me book the boat to Ko Tao and Samui, and the hotels in these islands. She was very efficient and helpful.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint-Katelijne-Waver
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This resort is located in a trendy (meaning the beach bars)but peaceful bay.
You have to take a taxi from the bay it will take you 45 minutes to reach the resort.
The travel agenct made a mistake concerning our room but the staff at the reception solved this for us and we got a premium room with a small upgrade to pay.
Manager is very friendly to all guests and to his staff. Here you will get a personal service.
The view a fantastic but the hotel is a bit remote located.
Downsite, the interior of the room and the bathroom, with some small alterations this would be a star resort.
Good deal.
Left with pain in our hearts.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Havana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Havana Beach Resort

Address: 47/5 Moo 5, Haad Thong Nai Pan | Surat Thani, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Ko Phangan
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ko Phangan
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phangan
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Havana Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located at the best beach in Koh Phangan. We offer a variety of food from Asian cuisine (Thai, Indian, Chinese etc.) to European cuisine (Italian, French, Italian etc.). Our rooms are brand new and our Fidel's bar has all of the varieties of drink that you can think of! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, HostelBookers and Tingo so you can book your Havana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Havana Beach Hotel Koh Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Havana Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.