We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice views, great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Haad Son Resort & Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Haad Son Resort & Restaurant to your Saves list
Haad Son Resort & Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   85 Moo 8, Haad Son, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
kelowna
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice views, great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I have stayed here several times, and will return again. I would really reccomend that you stay in the very nice hotel room's, as the "villas" have become worn down and need updating. I stayed in them one night and found many mosqutoes entering the room through the cracks in the door. The food and staff were excellent, and the beach bar had great views. The free pickup at the pier when you arrive is a great bonus.

Room Tip: Make sure to book the hotel room's not the standard villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    48
    15
    15
    13
See reviews for
20
62
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fornebu
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This resort lies on the more quiet side of Koh Phangan, but also where the most beautiful beaches are. The resort itself is very nice, and the beachfront bungalovs (which I had) had a perfect location. It was very clean when I came but unfortunately they dont clean your room. During my 7 nights, they cleaned it only twice, which is no good as you bring sand and dirt into your bed. The people in the reception was not very friendly and helpful when i asked for cleaning. They also say that taxi from the harbour is included in the price, but that is wrong. They charge you 300 baht for both ways.

But nontheless, the place is very nice and the beachbar and restaurant is worth a visit. The food there was very good, and the staff was fantastic. They really saved the whole impression of the hotel and our stay.

Room Tip: Pick a beachfront villa, this is definetly the most recomended...BUT tell the staff that you expect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely beautiful location - private beach - lovely rooms. 30 min taxi ride from Haad Rin. Very helpful staff and nice breakfast. Great cocktail bar on beach. great for Young and old! Recommend 100%!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed in this resort for a few days late October this year and we loved it! Location is brilliant, there`s access to small but pleasant beach. Resort has lovely restaurant and bar located by the beach. Food is brilliant, resort service very good and staff very friendly! Its place You wanna go back to!

Room Tip: We satyed in hotel rooms, not bungalows as seems to be nicer at this time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

location - depends on ur preference. if ur visiting koh phangan to relax & chill, its really-really good hotel. but if ur visiting to koh phangan for the full moon festival, its quite far. (30-40 minutes away). really dangerous road to drive there with the rent motobike after partying at the full moon festival. trust me. dont. seriously. just dont. pay the truck whatever they charge after the party.

room - above average for the price u pay.

cleanliness - OK. u get for the price u pay

view - amazing. crazy. beautiful. but u need to walk for 5 minutes depending on the location of ur room.

restaurant - a bit expensive. but taste better than all restaurant in koh phangan. (most restaurant provide same food menu & all restaurant charge the same price)

service - really good. but this is normal in thailand. they're naturally friendly.

Room Tip: the best view is located on top of the hill. but.. is quite far from the beach. 10 minutes walk. if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed here for 8 nights in Sept and had a wonderful time. Fantastic value for the money. Lovely Secret beach cleaned every day, great local food, snorkelling round the rocks by the restaurant on the beach. The pool by the main restaurant was always clean but seemed to have a lot of chemicals in it that made our eyes sting. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, if we ever go back to Thailand I would definitely stay there again. A big thank you to the Jummy, Ang, Min, Nuna, the staff who's names I remember made our stay memorable

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed at Haadson this February with a group of friends and had a great time at Haadson. It has a beautiful private beach which you can snorkel right off, had a great restaurant with delicious and trustworthy food. The restaurant had a concrete island on the water with hammocks and tables which was gorgeous at sunset and we had a great time jumping off into the water. They also had a large selection of delicious cocktails at great prices. We stayed at the bungalows on the beach which was only a 100 m walk to the beach itself and they had Thai masseuses all day. The rooms were a good size and had their own hammocks on the veranda. The only down side was that the bathroom lacked a shower curtain but they were clean and considering the price we paid, it was an excellent location and the restaurant was great, which certainly made up for this. The staff were also very nice and accommodating to our needs, Definitely recommend at this price!

Room Tip: Definitely go a bungalow room! Great views, close to the beach and the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phangan hotels
1.0 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#31 of 90 in Ko Phangan
4.0 of 5 stars 337 reviews
4.2 mi away
Salad Beach Resort
Salad Beach Resort
#37 of 90 in Ko Phangan
3.5 of 5 stars 331 reviews
0.1 mi away
High Life Bungalow Resort
High Life Bungalow Resort
#51 of 253 in Ko Phangan
4.0 of 5 stars 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Beyond The Blue Horizon Resort
Beyond The Blue Horizon Resort
#10 of 253 in Ko Phangan
5.0 of 5 stars 101 reviews
1.4 mi away
Loyfa Natural Resort
Loyfa Natural Resort
#41 of 253 in Ko Phangan
4.0 of 5 stars 194 reviews
0.5 mi away
Longbay Resort
Longbay Resort
#52 of 90 in Ko Phangan
3.5 of 5 stars 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haad Son Resort & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haad Son Resort & Restaurant

Address: 85 Moo 8, Haad Son, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 253 Specialty Lodging in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Haad Son Resort & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Haad Son Resort & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haad Son Resort & Restaurant Hotel Koh Phangan
Haad Son Resort And Restaurant

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haad Son Resort & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.