We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haad Son Resort & Restaurant

Save Saved
You added Haad Son Resort & Restaurant to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Haad Son Resort & Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   85 Moo 8, Haad Son, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Piraeus, Greece
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

We stayed for 2 weeks in 2008 in Haad Son.
Clean, simple room with AWESOME view.
We paid 11€ for a room with cold water and fan for a week and 13€ with hot water and air-con (monsoons came so we needed a bit of hot water).
The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    33
    12
    12
    10
See reviews for
11
45
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

We had booked our accomodation 3 months in advance, but when we arrived we didn't get the bungalow or beach that we booked for! We came with the late ferry on the night of the fullmoon party and went to Haad Yao Bungalows (see through resort) where we were suppose to stay. The staff were rude and didn't give us any notice, they made some phonecalls and said that they where fully booked and that we had to change resort. We where upset but tired and went with them to Haad son Resort & restaurant instead (both resorts had the same owner). When we came there we got a really lousy bungalow, not with the tv and fridge that we had paid for. Plus there were alot of mini ants in the bungalow :/ After two nights we changed to a better room, right to the beach which we got for a better price after some complaining. Our stay didn't turned out as planned - we didn't stay at the beach (haad yao) we originally booked for which is less isolated then Haad soon, where theres only one restaurant. Though it´s an okey walking distance between both beaches and it was nice to see both beaches. Koh Phangan still became our favorite island and we rented mopeds and went around the island. Renting mopeds is mucher cheaper (200 baht/day) then going with taxi which is (minimum price) 150 baht per person, one way. The haad son beach was fab and you could snorkel with alot fish. It was one of the best beaches during our trip! but the service was not that good & it was a awkard feeling between us and the staff our entire stay. As soon as they saw us they felt uncomfortable and ashamed in a way....

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

The bar area down near the water is really nice and its is great to relax in the hammocks in the middle common area.

However, the room smelt of mothball, they don't service your room unless you ask for it to be because "they have problems with theft". Shower is on demand hot water which is only a trickle. Overpriced for what it is considering the other places we stayed in Thailand.

Also Koh Phangan is only for full moon parties. Don't waste your time here for anything else. The other two islands have lots more to see and do.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We stayed in this hotel in January 2011 with my boyfriend. This place is great for people who do not expect luxury and really want to unwind. The hidden win of this hotel is in its closeness to nature and its location in a beatiful private bay. We planned originally to stay just 4 days but we changed our mind as we enjoyed it so much. Of course after 7 days we quite appreciated the luxury of Kirikayn in Koh Samui but Haad son on the other hand was the Robinson island experience you crave for. This is a place where you feel hidden from the world. Very romantic. As I said dont expect immaculate service here, or wide choice in breakfast. This place is about staying in a hut, swinging in a net in the bar, staring on the amazing sunset, enjoying funny service of Toan and sending lighted baloons on a journey across the ocean. The shacks have airconditioning, safe, ok beds and very basic bathrooms. Hotel rooms feel a bit safer and more equipped but you lose this amazing feel of having your own summer hut with a net on the balcony. As I understood they have also a couple of luxurious rooms on top of the hill. You get towels and they change bedsheets although not every day and the cleaning is not the best in the world. Buy mosquito spray. The huts and rooms are spread in a beautiful hilltop gardens with butterflies and banana trees. There are two restaurants, they are fine but if you fancy some really great dining take a walk to nextdoor Haad Yao beach, you can taste a shark there for virtually nothing. There is a small buffet place on the Haad son beach with fruits and drinks, you can also hire sunbeds there. When we stayed there, there was about ten people a day in the beach, paradise! The sea subsides in the afternoons, it gets shallow and there are dead corals but it did not stop us from swimming and low tide was everywhere in Thailand were I have been. There is a swimming pool, which we never used as we swim only in the sea. Koh Phangan is a more natural island than Koh Samui at least in this Western area away from Half moon parties, not so touristy, not so equipped, lot of young travellers there. There are only couple of shops in Haad Yao with really basic stuff, there is a bancomat. You can go by boat to Koh Tao, which we did. It made the impression on me that it is absolutely stunning for snorcheling but there are not many beaches and it is oriented on scuba divers. The boat journey is quite long...we had cloudy rainy weather and lot of people were seasick. What I also recommend is a trip to Ang Thong national park, this is really beatiful and worth doing. The trips and ferries are all very well organised in Thailand, no worries.

Room Tip: Chose huts close to the sea. If you dont like small insects, stay in the hotel section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We were excited to get to Haad Son ready to hit the Full Moon party when we turned up the this place was filthy i wouldnt bother using the bathroom you would be cleaner if you didnt bother. no towels or beds were changed in the 4 days we were there over the new year period so we bought some and our toilet got blocked and no one came to fix it so we had to walk up to reception everytime. We knew it was a bit of a distance to the full moon but there is literally NOTHING around the hotel unless u hired a moped but after seeing the state of most peoples injurys we thought it wasnt worht ruining the rest of out hoiday for, the hotel bar is only busy because of this although the food is quite good. the decor needs updating if they replaced the gorish pink and green paint with white i think it wiuld brighten the place up in stead of being a dark whole. on the up side they do have a bus that picks you up for fee at the tongsala pier.

Room Tip: pick the spa room at the top of the hotel - about the only one that looked decent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

We couldn't wait to go and visit the Haad Son resort, the pictures of the hotel got us so excited. But when we got there after climbing down lots of steps we got to our beach bungalow which was like going back in time....the room was dated and dark and not all the lights worked. We thought the point of the beach bungalow was to see the view but the frosted windows obscured this. The bathroom was grotty and very dated. Surrounding areas where spectacular the beach bar was gorgeous great food and service, only problem was at about 8pm we where left in the bar with two candels to blow out when we where finished. There wasn't anywhere else to really go as the hotels not walking distance to anything so our night was cut short. We did go for nice walk to the nearest shop but when we got back about half 9 the hotel was in darkness even reception was shut which is meant to be open till 10. Was a bit strange and we didnt feel that safe, it was alot of steps to go down in pitch black to our room luckily the bar did shut so early we hadnt had many drinks!
Perfect if you want to do nothing and go to bed early and sit in your room......

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maribor, Slovenia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

We stayed there for 14 days and it was perfect! Very friendly stuff, delicious food, good location, just perfect! We stayed at bungalow close to the pool... We can just recommend that resort!!! And we hope to come back soon! :)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Haad Son Resort & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haad Son Resort & Restaurant

Address: 85 Moo 8, Haad Son, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 201 Specialty lodging in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Haad Son Resort & Restaurant 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Haad Son Resort & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haad Son Resort And Restaurant
Haad Son Resort & Restaurant Hotel Koh Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haad Son Resort & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.