We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Value Resort With A Chilled Vibe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harmony Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ko Phangan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harmony Beach Resort
Ao Hin-Lor | Suratthani, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 91 hotels in Ko Phangan
USA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A Value Resort With A Chilled Vibe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

What a deal. Room right on a private cove, free kayaks, fantastic menu, and wonderful staff. I left Harmony for the day to go to Had Rin (Fullmoon Party Beach). After a few hours there I was ready to go back. Harmony is tranquility. Only about 20 rooms there. There were just the right number of guests who were equally in tune with Harmony’s chill vibe. The sea water was calm and the perfect temperature. I never got tired watching the stunning sunsets over tuna melts and fruit shakes.

Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    9
    2
    2
    4
See reviews for
3
20
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

It seems the Harmony that we loved is no more……..
As of 2011 it has shut down so don't expect a warm welcome if you go there!
A big thanks to Dave and Kwaan for all the special times………..

Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

When travelling around Thailand last July with two friends we decided to book into the Harmony Beach resort after reading all the glowing reviews on Trip Advisor.However we were so disappointed with the stay .
The evening we arrived off the boat we managed to get a taxi van to take us to Harmony Beach however when they dumped us off at the side of the road and pointed down hill we began to think there must have been a mistake made. After treaking down the hill, no signs or people around we eventually came to a deserted harmony beach. Looked around the place which felt very errie, no other visitors but eventually found someone to take our booking, even though he spoke very little english.
Our bungalow was very basic, however we were used to this, we were not howver used to the lizard/ bug creatures climbing up the walls and scurrying accross the floor constantly.
The pool was not working, covered in with plastic and full of leaves, all of the hammocks and cushions around the place were extremely dirty and dusty, we were aware that we were travelling in Down season but still very surprised at the state of the place. the "beach" was covered in plastic bags and rubbish.
On our first evening two girls arrived and left withing minutes - deciding to go elsewhere as the place was empty bar ourselves. the electricity went off on our first evening.. not a light to be found in the whole place, the guy from reception came to us with an oil lamp and told us he was leaving to go home and would see us tomorrow. Here we were alone, 3 girls in their 20's stuck at the bottom of a hill, right beside the sea in the pitch black. It felt like a horror movie. We decided we would brave the trek up the hill in the pitch black to try and get a taxi in town as the guy from recepetion earlier had said this would be easy... 20 mins later we were still standing there!
More disconcerning was on on arrival back to Harmony at about 2am there were several guys hanging around to the resort,knowing there was no staff about we felt so unsafe and uncomfortable.
A posiitve was that the food in the restaurant the following day was lovely and satff then very helpful ( albeit very little english). However the pictures leave ALOT to be desired, the location is far from ideal as its very remote and for the price you pay there are alot nicer accomodations to choose from.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakau, Gambia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

This place is amazing. Such a relaxed environment really does so much to improve the holiday. The beach is only 10 minutes away from the Full Moon party, which is incredible. The best thing about this place? the Pork Chops. They are a different class.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2010

Stayed here for 2 weeks, struggled to not stay 2 more! Run by great people, excellent rooms, lovely local food and amazing views. What more can you ask for.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magog, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2010

I stayed at Harmony Beach for 5 days and was sorry to leave. I had one of the huts on the beach and it was perfect. My only complaint was as a few others have said, the huts are duplexes, the walls are very thin, and my neighbours not very considerate of this. Fortunately this was only for 2 nights of my stay.
The bar/restaurant area is a really great place to hang out, great food, great atmoshpere Dave and Kwan make you feel welcome and are always willing to provide advice, arrange trips or call a taxi.
I highly recommend a leisurely walk to Had Rin along the beach, really nice!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netanya, Israel
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

Harmony beach truly earns it's name. This is the place to choose if you would like some quality time with your family. Wake up in the morning and have a great breakfast at the restaurant, take a small walk to neighboring beaches or rent a jeep or bikes and travel the small island. Have lunch (the food is really delicious so plan to be back for meals...), have a nap, swim out to the float, kayak a bit, read a book on the hammock with a view to your almost private beach, hang out in the big space near the restaurant, hear some music or watch DVDs and have a good nights sleep. This is s unique spot. When you enter it you can leave the world outside and just relax. But most importantly - the staff is just the best ever. And it really isn't correct to say staff, because Dave and Qwan treat you as new friend from the moment they meet you. I don't know how they do this, it is a genuine interest in people and the willingness to help you out in whatever you need. We traveled 50 days in Thailand, we did not meet hospitality like this. The Beach is lovely, the food is delicious, the seclusion is a nice change, but at the end it is Dave and Qwan that make this place what it is: One of a kind.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harmony Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmony Beach Resort

Address: Ao Hin-Lor | Suratthani, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#33 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Harmony Beach Hotel Koh Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harmony Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Harmony Beach Resort to your Saves list