We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sarikantang Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sarikantang Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   129 / 3 Moo 6, Seekantang Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed close to Sarikantang for a number of days and spent all our time in Sarikantang, as it had a much better location, nicer staff and great food. We stayed in Sarikantang for a night as well and really enjoyed the experience. The resort is located right on a picturesque beach and the restaurant boasts an idyllic view out onto the gulf. We stayed around the Full Moon party and while the island was quite manic elsewhere, the resort was very tranquil during our 5 days there. The sea was quite shallow to swim in with sea-urchins in parts, but the resort has two swimming-pools if you wish to cool down as well. It was the perfect location for us, we could walk to the bars on Haad Rin if we wanted to head out and when we wanted some peace, we could simply stay and have dinner in the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    126
    32
    15
    13
See reviews for
20
142
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The best thing about this resort is the privet beach separated from the foolmoon's one, and it is still 5 min walk from there. So you get everything you need - privet beach away from all of the noise, and the closeness to the parities and shops. The breakfast is great, and the spa is really good.

Room Tip: the one thing that was not good, and i would reccomend checking it before ordering is if the have sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed here for 6 nights while full moon party was on. Far enough away from the madness not to hear it and still only a 5 minute walk away to all restaurants/bars etc. Staff all really friendly. Stayed in a pool access deluxe. Really good value, flat screen tv with movies. Beach really nice and chilled and not rammed either. Will stay again on my next trip to Koh Phangan

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The view from the restaurant at Sarikantang is hard to beat. A quiet beach on white sand and turquoise blue ocean. This is ultimately the selling point of the resort and is worth shelling out the money for.

The rooms are all clean and comfortable, but vary wildly in value. Having stayed in 3 different rooms, the cheapest are small and basic (which is poor for about £40), the mid range are decent sized and pretty nice (£40-£50) and the deluxe lanais around the pool are by far the best (£50-60). If you are thinking of staying in the £40 I'd suggest thinking of elsewhere. I've stayed in many places that offer the same for half the price.

However, the poolside lanais are incredible and would cost treble in a lot of places in the World. I knew a friend who visited Greece and spend £150-200 per night to have a room that had a patio into the pool.

The spa also has an idyllic setting, looking out to sea with no one around. The massages were good but were overpriced (even when it was buy one get one free). The restaurant was very good value, but often varied in quality. Avoid the pizza as it often comes out burnt (to which the staff said that they thought we liked crispy?!) but the Thai curries and Pad Thai were fantastic.

Overall worth staying if you have the money, but not great value if you stay in the standard rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile


The hotel is at the Sarikantang Beach which is just 8 mins by walking to Haad Rin Beach. Sarikantang beach is secluded, relaxing with it's beautiful Koh Samui view, but not good for swimming because of tides. Unfortunately, tides bring the reef to surface. The resort itself is nice, it's in the middle of the nature, but the rooms are not very nice: I have stayed at a standard bungalow. This spacious bungalow has a TV, AC, hammock and a safe box. My room was not very clean when I checked in. The sheets were not very white, there were spider web in the gardrobe and some parts of bathroom, additonally, I saw cockroach, spider and lizard on the walls. Since the bungalows are in the middle of gardens this is understandable, but it's not nice to see cockroach on the wall just before sleeping. I'm sure there's something that hotel management may do abaout this issue. There are too many bungalows or hotels in the middle of gardens I have stayed at my 7 Thailand trip which have not got any cockroach or sth like that. The breakfast was not superb, but it's OK. The food is good at restaurant. But don't expect a superb staff either at restaurant or at the resort. Hotel has free wifi only at restaurant area, if you want to use wifi at your room, it's 50 THB for 24 hours. While many resorts provide free wifi in this area, this hotel request an additional amount for a wifi which is not very good. Hotel has shuttle to Haad Rin beach 5 times a day. If you want to go yourself, or miss the shuttle time, you should walk around 7-8 mins on an isolated and dirt road. When it rains the road becomes muddy. As a result, the resort is nice itself, in the middle of the nature and located on a very relaxing beach. At the other hand, cleanliness, cockroachs, fair wifi and road to Haad Rin are the disadvantages of this hotel.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My wife and I booked this resort 1 day before our arrival. We booked a swim up room as this looked really nice on the website. We arrived the next morning and treated by friendly staff and a welcome drink. We were then shown to our room which was clean, modern and had a big door opening out to the pool. The resort is in a good location, it's far enough away from the busy Had Rin but an easy 10 min walk to the shops, bars and beach of the full moon/ half moon parties.
The resort offers a shuttle service at certain times and helped us organise trips and taxis. We both had a massage from the spa which was very relaxing. The beach isn't the best for swimming or snorkelling however there are two suitable pools to swim in. Had Rin wasn't particularly busy when we were there but was gearing up for the half moon party. Plenty of bars and places to eat with reasonable prices. The food at Sarikantang was of a good standard and we ain't there plenty of times. All in all and good relaxing peaceful resort with helpful staff, 10 mins from hustle and bustle of the town. I would stay here again.
Callum & Laura

Room Tip: Swim up rooms guarantee you to be near the pool obviously. There are also rooms looking right out on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is my 3rd review for this awful resort.
I stayed on 2008, in a few words, i got stolen from the spa team. When i reported my problem to the reception they told me thousands of "stories".... I cannot describe by all the details again and again my terrible experience. Overall, check first of all the negatives reviews and you will have all the informations you want. Plus mine experience of stolen money (smart people-only the half money of my wallet)...
Restaurant is too busy, not at all attention and respect to their guests, too loud music.
Beach, so and so, rocky.
Swim pool ttoooooo smalll and dirty...

I have stayed to Sarikatang on July 2008. Unfortunatelly from the managment office of Sarikatang my reviews deleted 2 times... That seems MORE THAN SOMETHING...

Room Tip: Avoid this place, be aware of Sarikatang, Koh Phangan is full of resorts to spend your precious vaca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarikantang, General Manager at Sarikantang Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Vanillia_9,

Thank you for the feed back of your stay in 2008 with us.
It is important for us to recorrect some part of informations in your review related to Tripadvisor standard. Please be ensured that all reviews are unable to be removed by any hotel itself or by their relative parties. Only the review writer and the Tripadvisor itself are able to process a deletion. (Otherwise, there would not be any negative reviews in any hotels) Unfortunately, both of your previous reviews, together with our management responses were removed by Tripadvisor due to the violation of the Tripadvisor review guideline.

First of all, please accept a sincere empathy from all of us to your lost of valuable which was claimed to happen in our property. This incident was reported to the management on your first day of arrival from the inter-cities joint public bus/ferry where the case happens occasionally as well. You reported you have noticed that the money was missing after using our spa service.

The first thing we did for you was to offer a full police investigation which was absolutely refused by you. Instead, you have decided to shorten your stay by leaving the place in the next morning and that allowed us no further investigation to be proceeded. However, though the investigation with the police was refused, we did our internal investigation by the hotel owner with all the spa team and with the CCTV review in the next morning, unfortunately, definitely nothing found to indicate such incident in our spa. This was explained to you quite a few times.

It is also important to us to prevent such incident and to know if it was actually happened, how it happened and by whom. That is the reason the full investigation is required by us. Unfortunately, we have no opportunity to process any further procedures but instead were left with this accusation without any chance to prove or to correct the problem. In our resort, we take this kind of problem seriously and a strong penalty are enforced on any related staffs to such incident.

To ensure the confidence to our potential guests, after this infomration was received, we have paid higher attention on the security in our spa locker area and we have never been reported any stolen problems from the spa during these past 5 years of operation.

Regarding the other aspects of this review, we belive the other recent reviews reflect the same possitive way to our restaurant, relaxing atmosphere and staff services. For hotel beach which is a private one, is shallow during May-July but apart from that it is one of relaxing, beautiful and private beaches in Koh Phangan. Also with our strategic location, our beach is located only 5 mins walk from Haad Rin beach (east coast) where it is swimable in this low tide season of the west coast. We are delighted to inform some developments in our property as now we have 2 pools available, one is beachfront and one is with an infinite edge. We hope this is definitely addequate for a mid size resort of 49 rooms.

Once again, thank you for your feed back, it gave us more cautions about guest security and also some of your complaints back in 2008 were useful for us and gave us a drive to develop our property to a better place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sarikantang Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarikantang Resort & Spa

Address: 129 / 3 Moo 6, Seekantang Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Ko Phangan
#6 Family Hotel in Ko Phangan
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ko Phangan
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sarikantang Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sarikantang Reosort & Spa, a casual luxury beach resort in Koh Phangan. Just 5 minutes walk in to Haad Rin and the full moon party. The great place with best combination of relaxing beach life and excited night party in Koh Phangan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sarikantang Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarikantang Resort And Spa
Sarikantang Hotel Koh Phangan
Sarikantang Ko Phangan
Sarikantang Hotel Ko Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarikantang Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.