We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place- not as clean as expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sarikantang Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sarikantang Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   129 / 3 Moo 6, Seekantang Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“nice place- not as clean as expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

the place is nice and the beach is beutifull. the rooms wasnt clean enough although they did enyer to clean every day. when there were steams at the shower we could see the drewings on the glass and mirror of the guests before us! yak! also the floor wasnt cleand every day. there were full of ants in the room! there wernt enough seata on the beach and the services and restaurant are expensive.feel like rhey make effort to charge the most of you. in the spa i made pedicure ant i still didnt rehabilitate my nails from the sticky weird something they put on it. do not do this mistake!!! any way they didnt have colors or they
had old colours! good things: room is beutiful and has dvd and cd's library for free. the pool is beutiful and cleand

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    134
    33
    15
    13
See reviews for
20
155
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in a pool access room for about 4200 B for night (not during full moon).
The room wad very spacious and nicely decorated. The pool was much better than the hotel major pool.
Location: haad rin, on the quite side of the area. Good location to my opinion since it is right on the beach which is far enough from the noisy part of the area and only a five min walk to the center.
During Sept there were about 3 shuttles a day to the center but again, its only a short walk.
Free Wi-Fi arround the lobby and restourant ,the signal was good enough on our balcony as well.
We found 2 problems during our stay:
1. Brown water came out when we tried to fill the bath with hot water.
2. Breakfast: it took too long to take the orders and to serve them.

In total, we had a great stay and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayd here May 2012. Appriciated professional approach to customers. Everything was just good. Exellent restaurant, exept the terrible music there, which spoiled the atmosfer of beautiful surrounding. I would stay here again.. And the SPA is just great..

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

My fiance and I had a great 6 night stay here. Over our two week trip to Thailand this was the nicest and most expensive (~$76/ni USD) place at which we stayed but we felt it was worth it. Access to two pools was great since the water is quite shallow at the beach by the resort. In fact, we never actually swam at the Sarikantang pools but instead walked the 2 minutes next door to the nicer Cocohut pool area.

Our room was nice but since we booked pretty close to the full moon party (Same-Same blasts music until 10pm the day following full moon parties and it's quite noisy) our unit (#50) wasn't as well maintained as some of the others may have been. I had to rig the TV cable to get any stations, small ants in the bathroom (they weren't that bothersome but we're pretty low key). The safe was out of batteries when we arrived so twice someone had to come open it manually for us... a stain or two on the bed, some drip marks on the walls... small things like that. Compared to other options, however, we were quite pleased with our room over all. Two free waters each day and decent mini-bar prices were kind to our wallets.

The grounds are beautiful and breakfast was the best we'd had (for free) in Thailand. If you're going for the full moon party this place is great. About a 5 minute walk from Haad Rin and because it's on the other side of a hill, the noise from the main party isn't audible. The beach is quite walkable with a cool pier of about 200 meters in length going out to deeper water where there is some decent snorkeling (at least when we went there was!).

The food at the restaurant is really good and we were able to release the hot air globes in celebration of the full moon which was fun. Other guests were either families or people in their late twenties to mid thirties.

The staff was fantastic and even helped us for hours trying to change a flight. They booked us taxis, day trips and were helpful about everything.

We rented a vespa to get around the island, which I highly recommend. If you're not staying here for the Haad Rin partying, this end of Koh Phangan feels a bit remote. There are nicer beaches better for snorkeling and swimming in the north and the night market is in Thongsala. Alternatively, the songtheows cost 100 baht to go pretty much anywhere on the south side of the island. HOWEVER, if you are taking a songtheow from the Pier in Thongsala, make sure the driver agrees to take you ALL the way to Sarikantang. The resort is up and over some rough roads and our driver just ditched us instead of taking us all the way. We had to pay another 200 baht total to get a nearby taxi to take us all the way there.

Room Tip: Ask for the pool front suits (newer) as they looked to be quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We booked our vacation to Sarikantag for 2 weeks. Due to personal issues. we decided to cancel our vacation and informed the guys few days before. The hotel contract is important to read since you are actually commit to 100% of the booking fees and if you are not notifying them at least 7 days in advance you will be charged for the full amount.

After several discussions with the guys at the hotel counter and once they had the option to understand their exact loss of our absence and late notification, eventually they refund us back with a significant portion of the booking fees.

We really appreciate the reception management that understood us and did the best they can to make both sides satisfied. This is a truly great story of honesty and responsibility. THANKS ! Ofir & Elinor.

Room Tip: Make sure to read the hotel contract and drill into the small details.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzlia, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Excellent secluded resort lies on a private tranquill beach, very eco culture atmosphere puts you in the right mood. lovely staff makes your stay enjoyable.
each rrom has a porch with a hammock and chairs -must love this place.

Room Tip: reccomended rooms 24-27. room 44, beach villas 56-57. kids would love the pool access rooms - a se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We arrived at Sarikantang in pretty bad weather, but the location...right on the beach, lifted our moods right away. The beach is one of the best I've seen in Thailand! Location is great - only 10 minutes walk over a small hill and then we were at Had Rin.
We went to the Full Moon party, and that's when the issues related to the resort started. The resort encorage you to ensure you have 'special' sheets to cover bed linen if you cover yourself with floresent paint - which we did. And we had a shower when we came back from the full moon party, so we were 100% sure that we didn't cover any of our bed linen in paint. In spite of this, they still wanted to charge us for towels, pillow covers, sheets, etc. on the day of departure - even insisted that the housekeeping had found paint on one of the pillows days before we even bought the paint. This was a big let down on an otherwise brilliant stay at the Sarikantang, as we felt they wanted to squeeze a few more Bahts out of us before leaving. We were in a hurry to catch the ferry back to Koh Samui, just ended up giving in.
The day before we had noticed a row between reception staff and a British couple - again over some of the charges related to stained bed linen from the full moon party.
So some advice if you do go during the full moon period. Make sure you check your bed linen if you are using floresent paint, before and after, so you don't end up being charged for something you didn't do!

Room Tip: All bungalows seem to be in great locations. We had a bungalow on the hill, with the hammock on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sarikantang Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarikantang Resort & Spa

Address: 129 / 3 Moo 6, Seekantang Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Ko Phangan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ko Phangan
#7 Family Hotel in Ko Phangan
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sarikantang Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sarikantang Reosort & Spa, a casual luxury beach resort in Koh Phangan. Just 5 minutes walk in to Haad Rin and the full moon party. The great place with best combination of relaxing beach life and excited night party in Koh Phangan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sarikantang Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarikantang Resort And Spa
Sarikantang Hotel Koh Phangan
Sarikantang Ko Phangan
Sarikantang Hotel Ko Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarikantang Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.