We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, beach ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sarikantang Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sarikantang Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   129 / 3 Moo 6, Seekantang Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 90 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Calgary
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, beach ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights while in Koh Phangnan. It is a nice hotel, quiet & low-key. Location was good-a 10 minute walk to the main part of Haad Rin. Included breakfast which was average as were the other items on the menu. The staff are friendly. The pool is nice but the pool deck is super slippery! My 3 year old fell pretty hard as well as several other guests we saw. We did find we were itchy after swimming. Nothing a shower didn't fix. The beach & ocean had lots of seaweed & is much nicer in town. We had a very nice room but had a big ant problem. The staff fixed it right away though.
The hotel was able to arrange a couple boat trips for us. 1st we went with Sababa boat trip. They were great! Took us to several secluded beaches, waterfall, snorkeling etc. They were a lot of fun. I heard that they are a party boat but it was pretty mellow the day we went (but it was off-season). Thanks David, Captain & Bok. 2nd we went on a private long boat tour. Went to many of the same places but went further into the waterfall to a little natural pool & found a nicer place for snorkeling. Captain John was great!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    142
    34
    16
    13
See reviews for
24
165
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Stayed over full moon party in the room that had direct pool access (amazing) and was located right on the beach. Room was modern and clean and had everything we needed. Beach was great with free hammocks and lounge chairs. It was a short walk into town and to the big beach. There are signs and even a waiver when you check in (and other warnings on trip advisor reviews) that you will be charged for room damage. This made us a bit paranoid so we photoed and pointed out every little knick we found in the room to the reception and they said the policy is really for people who have parties and completely trash the room and/or get paint every where.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Sarikantang ( bumble bee) resort is on leela beach 5 mins walk from same same bar & resturant and next to cocohut - the resort is well looked after has a great resturant with attentive friendly staff (and three very happy dogs) we stayed in a pool access room for four nights -room was massive , large bathroom and private pool access area - we did have an issue with some noisy guests onthe middle of the night but that shouldn't take anything away from the resort - early morning sun heats both pools up & sitting in the beachside hammocks is a must - cold beers are the same price as haad drin so if you don't feel like moving you don't have to ! , leela beach is nice and unspoilt & has a pontoon for walking /snorkeling -will be coming back to this one

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

I stayed here with my sister and two friends for my birthday weekend during a three week holiday in Thailand. We were staying in lots of different kinds of accomodation during our holiday and this was to be our 'luxury' stay hotel. And it did not disappoint. My sister and I stayed in one of the rooms with pool access. I was very impressed with the modern design of the accomodation part of this hotel. And this hotel has THE most comfortable beds I have ever experienced in my life. This is no exaggeration.

The private beach which is shared with two or so other hotels is very quiet and pristine. The sea off the beach might not be the best for swimming though because it is shallow and is made of mostly coral or sea weed but if you are happy snorkelling in shallow water, then there is lots of life to see metres from your hotel room.

The hotel is also a very short walk from Sunrise and Sunset beach.

The bar and restaurant at the hotel are great and comparable prices to anywhere else on the island. In fact the food we had there was better and cheaper than some other places we tried around sunrise beach.

I also had a superb aromatherapy oil massage (too much of a wimp for a thai massage) at the in house spa, which is open to the beach and spa.

Two days here was far to short. When I come back to Phangan, there is only one place I will stay.

It is probably quite pricey by Thailand standard, but by any other standard this is 5 star luxury for exceptionally reasonable rates.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here after reading the good reviews. The rooms were very disappoing and outdated. The aircondition didn't work well, so we were moved to another slightly better room.
At midnight we found out that the very outdated water heating system in the shower didn't work. We wanted to call the reception but there are no phones in the room! The reception at this time was manned by only one non english speaking personal.
The beach is very pretty but after a few meters there are too many rocks and weeds so you can't really swim.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Upon arrival we were greeted by the friendly staff and a refreshing cold tea, we were checked in and upgraded to a Deluxe Room with spa near the pool. Off to a good start so far.

The location is perfect, away from the beach where the Full Moon parties are held but close enough to walk down to the main beach to grab a bite to eat and a drink.

The spa is lovely, nothing is more relaxing than having a massage by the beach; highly recommend the facial, body wrap and massage.

Will def stay here again, for first time travelers to the area bring Mosquito repellent and spray, once they are in the room you will get attacked.

Room Tip: Deluxe room with bath is wonderful but sometimes can get noisy by other travellers who are swimming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We arrived having booked the day before and were greeted by friendly staff and an unexpected room upgrade. The hut was clean spacious and luxourius in comparison to anywhere else we stayed and it was all the little touches that made a difference. The towels and bedding smelled fresh and clean, the bathroom was modern and spacious and the bed was huge. You are even provided with beach towels and a bag to use for the private beach or pools. The resort was pretty quiet so we had the pool to ourselves and there were only a couple of other guests on the beach making for a truly quiet and relaxing few days. The restaurant served lovely food and yummy inclusive breakfasts. The location is also really good, only a 5 minute walk into Haad Rin and it's beach, bars and restaurants but far enough away to feel like you're in a secluded paradise. Free transport into Haad Rin is provided but we found it unneccessary - the walk is so short.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sarikantang Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarikantang Resort & Spa

Address: 129 / 3 Moo 6, Seekantang Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Ko Phangan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ko Phangan
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sarikantang Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sarikantang Reosort & Spa, a casual luxury beach resort in Koh Phangan. Just 5 minutes walk in to Haad Rin and the full moon party. The great place with best combination of relaxing beach life and excited night party in Koh Phangan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Sarikantang Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarikantang Resort And Spa
Sarikantang Hotel Koh Phangan
Sarikantang Ko Phangan
Sarikantang Hotel Ko Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarikantang Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.