We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“diamond in amongst the rough” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sarikantang Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sarikantang Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Sarikantang Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   129 / 3 Moo 6, Seekantang Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“diamond in amongst the rough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

We found Sarikantang by accident during our first visit to Koh Phangan when looking for a quiet place away from the madness, litter and noise of Sunrise beach. During our next visit to Koh Phangan we stayed at Sarikantang. From the time of making our on-line booking almost six months ago, throughout our stay and right through to check-out only last week, the service we received from the staff has been outstanding. The rooms are very large, clean and a sanctuary from the world outside.

Layla beach (Sarikantang leads directly onto this beach) is clean, calm and very swimmer friendly. The spa at the resort is also very good, and reasonably priced. My partner and I had a massage at the resort for appprox. THB550 each, in a private couples room that overlooked the water. The staff at the spa are very friendly and professional.

The resort restaurant is also very good, providing a range of meals from traditional thai through to great pasta. They also do a private seafood dinner on the beach, for an extremely reasonable cost.

The staff are attentive, friendly and professional. The facilities are very good and the location is perfect if you are looking to experience a truly relaxing and beautiful resort, but still able to experience the craziness of full moon partying, escaping back to Sarikantang when you have had enough.

Room Tip: The rooms to the back of the resort (in the hills) are quieter and also more cost effective, but lac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    128
    33
    15
    13
See reviews for
20
146
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

This was our second trip to Koh Phangan, so we knew what we were getting in for amongst the chaos of New Years and the full moon party. Separated from the main part of the town by a small and easily walk able hill, the resort is a true oasis away from the chaos.

We stayed in a deluxe lamai room for 9 nights, which was huge and lovely. Almost impossible to fault. The only tiny criticism is that the lovely granite bathtub is so big, that it takes an hour to fill, and the hot water runs out once it's less than a quarter full.

The staff were also wonderful, and possibly some of the most consistently happy, helpful resort staff I've ever encountered. Nothing was too much trouble for them.

Meals and drinks at the bar were very good too.

We're already contemplating a return trip.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Well, Haad Rin is pretty horrible, but at least Sarikantang is nice! It's so refreshing to walk over the hill and leave the stupidity of the Sunrise beach behind you and enter the calming resort.

Beds are stupidly comfortable and the staff are really nice (which is seriously not usual on Koh Phagnan).

Food is great - can recommend the carbonara. One of the best I've had!

I can say I hope I never ever return to Haad Rin, but if I had to I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

I think that we stumbled on the best option for enjoying the full moon party, with enough distance to stay in an perfectly chill beach atmosphere. The hotel is on the other side of the hill from the full moon party so you can only hear the music when the wind shifts and even then it's quiet. It's 30 minute taxi from the ferry (surat thani) and just 5 minute walk to the restaurants and shopping and of course Party! The staff was overly friendly and so very helpful. The facilities were always clean as were the grounds. The rooms are large with a private balcony. The ensuite toilet and shower were separated so no wet floor in undesired areas. The bed was comfortable as well as the hammock. The breakfast was outstanding and the best I have had in Southeast Asia. The cost is slightly higher than the hostels in town plus there's a 5 night minimum for the full moon party but it's worth not having any bugs and being able to sleep when you want. Other hotels further away are cheaper but the taxis can be expensive for just 2 people. Also the wifi worked in our room but other rooms were not so lucky.

The one downfall is the mandatory Gala Dinner for the Full Moon Party. It was $32 or $34 per guest for the dinner but alas it was an amazing buffet.

The best part of the hotel is the semi-private beach. This is the only beach in Haad Rin that is calm enough to swim and it's so very clean and clear. The other beaches do no have sand or the waves are so violent you can't enjoy the water.

All around, I would return and gladly pay the price for this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

The hotel is located on a private beach near Haad-Rin, a great quiet location. the beach is beautiful, with coconut and mangrove trees on the waterline. Rooms are big and beautiful. The hotel staff is very kind and helpful (how can they not be in this atmosphere?).
The food is also very good. Friends from other locations came to see the resort and said it was the best.

Room Tip: There's a pool building with 10 rooms, 5 on each floor. The lower 5 room have stairs from the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

The beach is stunning, and not over crowded. The rooms are beautiful and clean, and the staff are so friendly and helpful. The food was lovely and the spa was fantastic value for money. Beach towels, bath towels, beach bag, laundry bag & bottled water are provided for the rooms (2 bottles of water every day) Would advise guests to book transfers in advance though as they dont run everyday and we got caught out and ended up paying 500 Bhatt. Would love to go back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortina d'Ampezzo, Italy
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

Nice place five minutes by foot to the centre, 2 clean pool, staff, food, all it is ok in this resort!i have been three times in this resort with my family.... Every time is better, now there are also new design rooms very nice, all the staff and the owners are very professional, the spa also is clean and the massage professional and not expansive, next time we come back!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sarikantang Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarikantang Resort & Spa

Address: 129 / 3 Moo 6, Seekantang Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Ko Phangan
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ko Phangan
#7 Family Hotel in Ko Phangan
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sarikantang Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sarikantang Reosort & Spa, a casual luxury beach resort in Koh Phangan. Just 5 minutes walk in to Haad Rin and the full moon party. The great place with best combination of relaxing beach life and excited night party in Koh Phangan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sarikantang Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarikantang Resort And Spa
Sarikantang Hotel Koh Phangan
Sarikantang Ko Phangan
Sarikantang Hotel Ko Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarikantang Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.