We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Milky Bay Resort

Save Saved
You added Milky Bay Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Milky Bay Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   103/4 Moo 1 | Ban Tai, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 91 hotels in Ko Phangan
Galway, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Excellent rooms, the best staff and amazing food! My girlfriend and I stayed here during a half moon party and the hotel really made an effort above and beyond what they needed to. Cat behind the bar was great and kept us all entertained, the hotel was so clean they even swept the dirt! No lie, just to make it look even. The pool was great and the small beach area catches the sun all day, stay here guys it beautiful and quiet in the day and has a lovely little bar in the evening. If we go back to Thailand we won't hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComaBlack, Guest Relations Manager at Milky Bay Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for sending in a lovely review.We are pleased you enjoyed the bar and beach and sure hope we will see you again if you visit Koh Phangan again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    242
    124
    32
    29
    15
See reviews for
31
197
31
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We were at Milky Bay in November 2013 and had the most relaxing stay imaginable there. Everybody working at Milky Bay was super friendly and always up for a chat and a laugh. The bungalows are extremely clean, neatly furnished and spacious. Next time I will be on Koh Pah Ngan I will check-in there again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComaBlack, Guest Relations Manager at Milky Bay Resort, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for a wonderful review and we sure hope to see you again if you do visit Thailand again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

I stay here in september 2013.
Room and the food are good.
But the staff at the reception are lazy and not friendly.
Also the taxi driver from the hotel is corrupt and tried to get more money for the trip to the pier.
The bed is to hard.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComaBlack, Guest Relations Manager at Milky Bay Resort, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for your review.I am disappointed though that you had some negative experiences as our aim is to make you happy on all levels.We do appreciate all comments and will certainly follow up on them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

If you want to get away from the crazyness in Phagnan and you just want to relax and taken good care of this is the place to be.

It is situated in a beautiful bay with clear bleu water. The whole resort looks truly amazing. And they take much care to keep it this way. There are nice flowers everywhere and it is very green with lot's of bamboo and little ponds with plants around it. The cabins look amazing..and they are clean and comfortable. The spa is perfect.

The staff is what made our stay even more amazing. They truly have fun at what they do and their fun and pleasure rubs off on the whole atmoshere and therefor on the customers. You can't be welcomed to breakfast more than here and nothing is impossible for the restaurant and bar staff. Drink your cocktail on the beach for a nice sunset and have your barbeque dinner at your beachtable.

price quality: very good!

we loved it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComaBlack, Guest Relations Manager at Milky Bay Resort, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Such a lot of detail and wonderful comments.Thank you so much for this review.I am thrilled that you relaxed and were taken care of as after all that is what a holiday should be.Glad you liked the setting and enjoyed that special sunset with a cocktail which is not to be missed.Thank you again for the praise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Firstly we stayed in the cheapest room type at the height of peak season and the price was unbelievable.
As such I really wasn't expecting much but what an amazing surprise!
The room I stayed in which was a little hut bungalow was basic but the aircon was cold and the room was clean and comfy.
The resort itself really is paradise the beach is beautiful and the food is great.
The location too is spot on for a relaxing stay - very close to fishermans restaurant which is excellent so you should give it a go if you stay here.
All of this said the absolute best bit is the staff! So happy so friendly and can't do more for you.
They'll even take time out to any challenge thrown down on the resort's table tennis or badminton facilities.
I even managed to sneak a peek at the more expensive accommodation which looked really cool and if I knew then what I know now I would of sacrificed another part of my trip and paid more and stayed here longer.
It's also pretty easy to jump a cab from here to visit the full moon party then come back and relax in Paradise!
I almost don't want to leave this review so that everyone doesn't get in my way for next time.
My 1 and only complaint and it's very small and took me my entire stay to come up with - the place could use a few more sun loungers as it was sometimes difficult getting a good spot if you weren't up early

Room Tip: The villas look amazing although not sure what the price would be so not sure about calue for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComaBlack, Guest Relations Manager at Milky Bay Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Wow thank you very much for your amazing comments. We try our utmost to create an unforgettable experience of Thailand that guests will remember for ever.It is a group effort and the staff are at the core.I am very pleased that the staff gave you such good service.The chef will be pleased that you enjoyed his food.We are constantly trying to improve and sure hope we will see you back one day and give you an even better experience.Thailand has so much to offer.Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Just stayed one night unfortunately, but it was perfect. Great food and drink. They have pool, table tennis, volleyball, badminton, steam room. Lovely little beach and inviting pool.

Staff were extremely friendly and polite. The room was very luxurious and sunset on the beach was made the evening.

My one complaint was they told us the taxi would be one price but the driver, who worked for them, charged more. Shame.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComaBlack, Guest Relations Manager at Milky Bay Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Only one night but still took the time to send us a review.It is much appreciated.Thank you for your wonderful comments and wished you could have stayed longer to enjoy our hospitality and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed for about 5 nights at the resort.
Staff is just amazing: Always smiling, joking and very helpful. Would go back there just because of them.
Location/Resort: Close to the street around the island and nice shallow beach. Lots of green in the resort. Nice pool.
Breakfast was good, but only until 10am. So we got up sometime just to eat and then head back to sleep a few hours more. The restaurant offers very good food at a reasonable price.
We had a Garden View Bugalow which was "ok". Good distance to the other bugalows but no real windows. The window is made out of wood - no glass. So it's eighter closed=dark or open=mosquitos. No curtains. The bathroom was quite „old“. The type where everything gets wet when you shower. But everything was working fine. Still a little disappointing if you compare the bungalow to the resort in general.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComaBlack, Guest Relations Manager at Milky Bay Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Its wonderful to get such a detailed review thank you very much.We view the staff as being the most important aspect of the business and the interaction between guest and staff is what will make the difference between a memorable or forgettable holiday.We are extremely pleased that you had a good experience and enjoyed the staff.Our bungalows are as Iv'e said before a traditional Thai bungalow, very cosy and simple.We would love you to return one day and maybe stay in one of our other more spacious room types.Thank you again for a lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Milky Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milky Bay Resort

Address: 103/4 Moo 1 | Ban Tai, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Ko Phangan
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ko Phangan
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Milky Bay Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set under a crisp tropical sky, overlooking the calm inviting ocean and spilling onto a soft milky beach all huddled between beautiful lush gardens is Milky Bay. You can savour sunset cocktails, taste the delectable flavours of Thai cuisine and pizzas or enjoy a beachfront barbecue Thai style with fresh seafood.Keep yourself busy with the wide range of activities available at the resort cool your senses with a swim in the pool after a day of adventure and unforgettable images or relax with a massage followed by a herbal steam. If it is relaxation and tranquility you are after or a holiday filled with adventure, then it is all waiting for you at Milky Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Milky Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milky Bay Hotel Koh Phangan
Milky Bay Ko Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milky Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.