We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Paradise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Milky Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Milky Bay Resort to your Saves list
Milky Bay Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   103/4 Moo 1 | Ban Tai, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Absolute Paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Firstly we stayed in the cheapest room type at the height of peak season and the price was unbelievable.
As such I really wasn't expecting much but what an amazing surprise!
The room I stayed in which was a little hut bungalow was basic but the aircon was cold and the room was clean and comfy.
The resort itself really is paradise the beach is beautiful and the food is great.
The location too is spot on for a relaxing stay - very close to fishermans restaurant which is excellent so you should give it a go if you stay here.
All of this said the absolute best bit is the staff! So happy so friendly and can't do more for you.
They'll even take time out to any challenge thrown down on the resort's table tennis or badminton facilities.
I even managed to sneak a peek at the more expensive accommodation which looked really cool and if I knew then what I know now I would of sacrificed another part of my trip and paid more and stayed here longer.
It's also pretty easy to jump a cab from here to visit the full moon party then come back and relax in Paradise!
I almost don't want to leave this review so that everyone doesn't get in my way for next time.
My 1 and only complaint and it's very small and took me my entire stay to come up with - the place could use a few more sun loungers as it was sometimes difficult getting a good spot if you weren't up early

Room Tip: The villas look amazing although not sure what the price would be so not sure about calue for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComaBlack, Guest Relations Manager at Milky Bay Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Wow thank you very much for your amazing comments. We try our utmost to create an unforgettable experience of Thailand that guests will remember for ever.It is a group effort and the staff are at the core.I am very pleased that the staff gave you such good service.The chef will be pleased that you enjoyed his food.We are constantly trying to improve and sure hope we will see you back one day and give you an even better experience.Thailand has so much to offer.Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    130
    34
    29
    16
See reviews for
32
211
33
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Just stayed one night unfortunately, but it was perfect. Great food and drink. They have pool, table tennis, volleyball, badminton, steam room. Lovely little beach and inviting pool.

Staff were extremely friendly and polite. The room was very luxurious and sunset on the beach was made the evening.

My one complaint was they told us the taxi would be one price but the driver, who worked for them, charged more. Shame.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComaBlack, Guest Relations Manager at Milky Bay Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Only one night but still took the time to send us a review.It is much appreciated.Thank you for your wonderful comments and wished you could have stayed longer to enjoy our hospitality and service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed for about 5 nights at the resort.
Staff is just amazing: Always smiling, joking and very helpful. Would go back there just because of them.
Location/Resort: Close to the street around the island and nice shallow beach. Lots of green in the resort. Nice pool.
Breakfast was good, but only until 10am. So we got up sometime just to eat and then head back to sleep a few hours more. The restaurant offers very good food at a reasonable price.
We had a Garden View Bugalow which was "ok". Good distance to the other bugalows but no real windows. The window is made out of wood - no glass. So it's eighter closed=dark or open=mosquitos. No curtains. The bathroom was quite „old“. The type where everything gets wet when you shower. But everything was working fine. Still a little disappointing if you compare the bungalow to the resort in general.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComaBlack, Guest Relations Manager at Milky Bay Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Its wonderful to get such a detailed review thank you very much.We view the staff as being the most important aspect of the business and the interaction between guest and staff is what will make the difference between a memorable or forgettable holiday.We are extremely pleased that you had a good experience and enjoyed the staff.Our bungalows are as Iv'e said before a traditional Thai bungalow, very cosy and simple.We would love you to return one day and maybe stay in one of our other more spacious room types.Thank you again for a lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

the resort is simple .only swimimng pool . good if you dont need much and wanna be in apeacfull place not so far from had rin
the rooms for most has no view besides the beach front villa
rooms are good and clean some are very big with asalon
like the studio room i got

the service is good .

i didnt understand the breakfast ..they give you ommlete or eggs with bread and acoffe
no fruits or veggies ot anything elsh for that mather .
so thats poor copmaring to other hotels

beach infrot of the hotels is very narrow and samll

Room Tip: take superior rooms and above
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComaBlack, Guest Relations Manager at Milky Bay Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you very much for the review.I am dissapointed that you didnt enjoy breakfast and it sounds like maybe you didnt understand fully how it worked.You had a choice of ordering any breakfast item on the breakfast menu from a full American breakfast to flapjacks or just plain fruit.It depends what you order.The beach does depend on the tides and December is our stormy season and tides are high so this is why the beach is a little narrow at this time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed only last week. The staff make the hotel great. Very friendly and interact well. The small bungalows lack space and the bathrooms in these are quite dirty with a slate/ pebble sea type floor and with no shower curtain nor window so is damp all the time. The electric shower didnt heat water so a cold shower every morning. Overall great and pretty location. Would stay again but not in the small bungalows

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComaBlack, Guest Relations Manager at Milky Bay Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
The staff are the most integral part of the hotel so I am really pleased that you enjoyed them and that the interaction between them and yourselves was good.Without the staff its just a shell.The bungalows are just that, a traditional Thai style bungalow and yes they are cosy.Our maintenance has already checked the water system as it should have been hot so we do apologise for this.Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again and hopefully you can experience a stay in some of our larger more spacious rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Milky Bay is in beautiful Ban Tai. My favorite location in Koh Phangan. The main atraction on the island is the famous full moon party in Had Rin. It's a great place to go to party, but honestly I would not want to stay right in the middle of that most congested part of the island. Milky bay in Ban Tai is a perfect little oasis not too far away in much more relaxing and beautiful Ban tai. A perfect spot for couples, family, backpacker, or ayone to maximize your island experience, and the food at the resorts beach resturaunt/ bar is top notch, really some of the best I've tasted anywhere in all my travels. You will surely have an enjoyable and unforgettable stay that you will always remember and be glad to know you made the right choice here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComaBlack, Guest Relations Manager at Milky Bay Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
We are so happy to hear you left with great memories and experiences.I will certainly pass on your compliments to the chef.The full moon party in Haadrin is truly an experience but as you say good to party and get back to some tranquility afterwards in Ban Tai which is very central to everything.Thank you for a wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

This was the second time staying here. We hadn't booked but turned up after a few days at Koh Tao and they were very accommodating finding us a room with such short notice.

Stayed in a different room this time but it was just as lovely. Shower, air con, comfy bed, tv all the things you need.

Again the staff were so friendly. Ree especially helping with organising full moon party and also our transfers to get us back to Bangkok it made the experience so much easier and if we come back to Thailand we will definitely stay here.

Thanks again :)

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComaBlack, Guest Relations Manager at Milky Bay Resort, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
So pleased that you returned and most of all that you enjoyed your stay just as much second time round.Thank you so much for taking the time to send in another review and share your opinions.It is so important to us.Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Milky Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milky Bay Resort

Address: 103/4 Moo 1 | Ban Tai, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Ko Phangan
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ko Phangan
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phangan
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Milky Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Milky Bay Resort is peacefully located on Koh Phangan at Ban Tai beach makes it is easy to travel to all parts of the island. Haad Rin, the location of the monthly full moon party, is only 15 minutes drive away, At Milky Bay all bungalows are equipped to meet the highest of standards. All bungalows are air-conditioned and have western bathrooms with hot and cold water showers. The room decor is a blend of modern sophistication with local Thai and traditional African decorative elements and furnishings. Each room has a spacious balcony with sea or garden views. The bungalows are surrounded by lush vegetation All pathways are covered with soft wood-shavings, which give the resort a special rural character, and make it comfortable to walk barefooted around the resort. Set under a crisp tropical sky, overlooking the calm inviting ocean and spilling onto a soft milky beach all huddled between beautiful lush gardens is Milky Bay. You can savour sunset cocktails, taste the delectable flavours of Thai cuisine and pizzas or enjoy a beachfront barbecue Thai style with fresh seafood.Keep yourself busy with the wide range of activities available at the resort cool your senses with a swim in the pool after a day of adventure and unforgettable images or relax with a massage followed by a herbal steam. If it is relaxation and tranquility you are after or a holiday filled with adventure, then it is all waiting for you at Milky Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Milky Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milky Bay Hotel Koh Phangan
Milky Bay Ko Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milky Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.