We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Accom” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Milky Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Milky Bay Resort to your Saves list
Milky Bay Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   103/4 Moo 1 | Ban Tai, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great Accom”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights, the staff are so friendly and the cocktails are yummo! Everything was so well maintained. Would defiantly stay here again. Great beach that doesn't recede too far when the tide goes out.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComaBlack, Guest Relations Manager at Milky Bay Resort, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to send a review.Happy to hear that you had an enjoyable time and enjoyed the cocktails.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    130
    34
    29
    16
See reviews for
32
211
33
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We love this hotel very much! beautiful resort!
pool was great and fun, rooms are a little bit small but cleans.
staff was friendly and nice!!! they gave as free brightness colors for the half-moon party! :))
restaurant is tasty and the breakfast is great!
location- except for the Half-moon party that is far 10 min (Texi) from the hotel, nothing spaciel..boring location...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComaBlack, Guest Relations Manager at Milky Bay Resort, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
We are happy to hear you had a fun half moon party and enjoyed your stay with us.Hopefully you can one day return and maybe try one of our larger more spacious rooms.We will let the chef know that you enjoyed his food.Thank you very much for sending in a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed here for originally four nights but extended this to the full week. Everything was above expectations at this place. The food and service at the restaurant was some of the best on the island. Nothing was ever too much to ask. The room was spacious, modern and clean and as long as you don't mind a few geckos you will love it! Thanks to everyone at milky bay!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComaBlack, Guest Relations Manager at Milky Bay Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
We love reading your reviews good or bad but its such a positive motivation when we receive ones like this one.We truly thank you for choosing Milky Bay and are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay.We strive every day to improve so maybe if you ever visit us again it will be even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Amazing time. We have spent 4 nights, i extended my two day stay straight on the first day. Incredible staff, lovely caring people. I fell in love with all of them, as well as my 7 year old son. Highly recommended. Great food, quiet relaxing atmosphere. Massage was excellent, reduced me to tears when i has dived into a blissful state free of tension. Thumbs up, great jobs guys!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComaBlack, Guest Relations Manager at Milky Bay Resort, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
All reviews are important to us but especially a review where we can feel that our staff truly made an impact in some way and that it was heartfelt.We are so happy that you and your son had a memorable time and hope we will see you some day again.Take care.Thank you for choosing Milky Bay Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We originally planned to stay here for 2 nights but ended up staying for 4. We stayed in one of the rooms, not a bungalow. The rooms were lovely, decorated simply but nicely with full amenities and were very clean. The shower water pressure was good too.

The food in the restaurant is superb - by far the best English Breakfast we had in Thailand! We were 2 couples and decided that the food was so good and reasonably priced in the restaurant that we ate at least 2 meals there per day. The restaurant staff were lovely and friendly, with a couple of them making jokes whenever they got chance. We were always greeted with a cheery "HELLO, GUTEN MORNING! SABADEEKAAAAA!" followed by jokes about items on the menu being made of monkey brains, monkey blood, etc... Very funny for the first couple of days, but a little irritating when you have a hangover and just want to relax!

The resort is right on the beach, and has a great happy hour in the bar where you can sit an watch the sunset. Definitely recommend the strawberry Daiquiri! Also, when we were going to the half moon party but couldn't find any shops to buy the UV paint, the guy behind the bar gave us some of his own personal stock to use which was really kind. We offered him money, but he wouldn't accept - he seemed to have fun just watching us make fools of ourselves and cover ourselves in paint!

We rented motorbikes through the hotel for a few days, also very reasonably priced and easy. The company they use recommend that you take photos of your bike first and make a note of any existing scratches so that there's no discrepancies when you get back if you've damaged the bike. Great service.

We also had a massage at the hotel's mini spa area. This was a good 30% more expensive than the places on the street outside the hotel, but well worth it. Possibly one of the best massages I've ever had.

Overall, absolutely great resort. I would definitely go back and definitely recommend to others.

Room Tip: Worth paying a little extra for a room over a small bungalow, as they're much bigger,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComaBlack, Guest Relations Manager at Milky Bay Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Thank you for your detailed and positive review.The details are always important to us as it gives us alot of direction and areas to look at for improvement and whats important to guests.I will definantely let the cheff know how much you enjoyed his food and appreciated the staffs jokes even though they did get a bit much at times.Motorbike renters have often been a controvercial subject so Im pleased to hear that he makes you take pictures beforehand to prevent any issues.Its so great to have such wonderful guests and it makes our jobs so easy and rewarding.Its our pleasure to have made your stay memorable and enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We had the most amazing 3 nights stay in this hotel. I was slightly dubious considering the cost as to what to expect but I was pleasantly surprised. Our accommodation was a bungalow. However in hindsight I would probably go for a room instead as it was quite small. However it served our purposes fine! Staff are outstanding!!! I cannot stress this enough. It is much easier to relax and enjoy a hotel where the staff are so friendly and seem genuinely happy in their work. The atmosphere is that of a family home where everyone is welcome. Our rate did not include breakfast. However we availed of the restaurant for almost all our meals as the food was good, reasonable and again the atmosphere was lovely. At night there are beautiful candle lit tables beside the sea for a romantic meal. There was a mix of backpackers, couples, young families in the resort. It caters to everyone! The bar is relaxed with a pool table and Premier League matches on screen. There is a table tennis table, a badminton court and beach volleyball net. An impromptu game broke out between the staff and guests at one point! We were there for the Half Moon Party which was very close-only 80 baht each by taxi. Only took 10 mins to travel there. In addition the resort was selling t shirts and offering vodka jelly shots as well as glow in the dark body paint. All added to the atmosphere. In conclusion thank you for a wonderful stay, continue the good work. My boyfriend was very sad leaving!

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs-AC units are a little noisy. Bungalows are on small side so maybe a room would be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComaBlack, Guest Relations Manager at Milky Bay Resort, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Its just awesome to get such wonderful comments.Thank you for all the detail.As I so often say our main objective is to try and fill your Thailand holiday with as many good memories and experiences as possible.If the staff are happy they will certainly pass that on to the guests and when we receive a review like yours it just makes us so happy that we could achieve and be a small part of creating your lasting good memories.Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed at the resort for one night and it was very good. The stuff was very friendly and helpful. Also the food and the restaurant was good and not so expensive. The beach was beautiful but a little bit dirty. We recommend warmly.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComaBlack, Guest Relations Manager at Milky Bay Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
A warm thanks for a wonderful review.Thank you for taking the time to send in your thoughts.We really appreciate it and am really glad you had a good time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Milky Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milky Bay Resort

Address: 103/4 Moo 1 | Ban Tai, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Ko Phangan
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ko Phangan
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Milky Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Milky Bay Resort is peacefully located on Koh Phangan at Ban Tai beach makes it is easy to travel to all parts of the island. Haad Rin, the location of the monthly full moon party, is only 15 minutes drive away, At Milky Bay all bungalows are equipped to meet the highest of standards. All bungalows are air-conditioned and have western bathrooms with hot and cold water showers. The room decor is a blend of modern sophistication with local Thai and traditional African decorative elements and furnishings. Each room has a spacious balcony with sea or garden views. The bungalows are surrounded by lush vegetation All pathways are covered with soft wood-shavings, which give the resort a special rural character, and make it comfortable to walk barefooted around the resort. Set under a crisp tropical sky, overlooking the calm inviting ocean and spilling onto a soft milky beach all huddled between beautiful lush gardens is Milky Bay. You can savour sunset cocktails, taste the delectable flavours of Thai cuisine and pizzas or enjoy a beachfront barbecue Thai style with fresh seafood.Keep yourself busy with the wide range of activities available at the resort cool your senses with a swim in the pool after a day of adventure and unforgettable images or relax with a massage followed by a herbal steam. If it is relaxation and tranquility you are after or a holiday filled with adventure, then it is all waiting for you at Milky Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, HotelTravel.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Milky Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milky Bay Hotel Koh Phangan
Milky Bay Ko Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milky Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.