We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Budget Option” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Milky Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Milky Bay Resort to your Saves list
Milky Bay Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   103/4 Moo 1 | Ban Tai, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Nenagh, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Budget Option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed in Milk Bay for a couple of nights in August. Its a beautiful resort made up on individual bungalows surrounded by bamboo and shaded walkways. Its right on the beach, has a large clean pool and has good bar and food facilities. Our bungalow was right beside the beach, was clean, spacious and beautifully decorated. Staff are exceptionally friendly, helpful and funny and really engage with the guests. Definately some of the best staff we came across on our trip. Another plus is that the hotel provide a free pick up to the pier.

The only downside is that your a bit removed from the larger towns on the island.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    130
    34
    29
    16
See reviews for
32
211
33
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Milky bay is the amazing resort for me, staff there're very really friendly. We're went to wonderful marine park we're paid 200baht each to get in that's fine. Our room is huge studio and clean. Thank milky make our trip wonderful complitely.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed at Milky Bay for a week in mid August. We had two rooms which were wooden huts next to each other both with private bathrooms. The location of the resort, the layout and the friendly and accommodating staff made that part of our holiday so special. We swam in the sea (yes it is possible) and the spotlessly clean pool, ate amazing food, drank fabulous cocktails and relaxed. We also hired scooters to explore the island, went on a snorkelling trip and had massages, all organised in or by the hotel. Thank you all so much!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComaBlack, Guest Relations Manager at Milky Bay Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thailand has so much to offer so I am pleased to hear that you took full advantage of your time here and explored and had some adventure and then wound down again with the amazingly affordable Thai massages which just revive you again.Thank you for your lovely review and we are happy that you had a good holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Thank you to milky bay for a wonderfully relaxing and soul enriching holiday. The food was delicious and staff super friendly and helpful. I particularly enjoyed the massages and exotic sundowners next to the pool. The rooms are simply but beautifully decorated and everything was clean and well tended. I would most definately reccommend this resort.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Milky Bay Resort was hands down the nicest place I stayed in during the seven weeks spent traveling throughout Southeast Asia.

My girlfriend and I booked this one months in advance because we were eager to have decent lodging for the week of the Full Moon party, and through Trip Advisor were able to get an amazing deal — 75% off if we booked for four nights or more. We knew at the time that we were trading closeness to Haad Rin beach (which is where the beach-raving occurs) for comfort, and it paid off hugely in the end.

When we first got out of the taxi we were a bit stunned — there was just a massive sign that pointed down a non-descript concrete lane, but once down, it opens up into an impressive and immaculately manicured semi-jungle resort.

Leaving reception you pass through wood-chipped trails and overhanging bamboo, past private huts of various sizes and specifications. There is a car-park holding dozens of cheap motorbikes (150 B per day), an open-plan massage parlor with lightly tinkling sea-shell wind-chimes (300 B for Thai massage), a badminton/volleyball net, a tabled area serving free tea and cake every afternoon, a swimming-pool, and a most-impressive small private beach with a bar and restaurant.

The menu at the restaurant was amazing — bit expensive but so good we ate here a lot (great pizza fresco, pastas, and Thai food) — and the waiters are all so nice and a bit hilarious too! The view from here is unreal, with islands in the distance, scenic sunsets, daytime kite-surfers, and strings of fairy-lights beading the palm-trees together after dark.

There were some minor problems. Our room/hut was big and spacious, but so were the gaps on the outer-walls of the wooden panels. This made the air-con ineffective (thank Ganesh for the additional fan), and allowed a lot of small bugs into the room at night (at least they provided a mosquito net). It was easy getting taxis from here (200 B per head, fixed price), though getting home at night sometimes meant a little waiting around for other passengers heading our way.

Overall, it was heaven. Spectacular location with great staff and amenities (did I mention table-tennis, steam room, DVD rental, computers, and free UV paint?). Plus, who wants to be on Haad Rin beach between 6am and 10pm anyway?

Room Tip: Not too close to the pool — loud music from morning until evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed here a few years ago and was impressed back then. My wife and I returned with our family and wasn't let down. I love this place, great location, watch the sunset over the ocean as you sip on a cocktail or 5. The staff are always so friendly and can't do enough to help you.

Room Tip: I can highly recommend the Villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

As I said a lovely peaceful resort, it really captured the right feeling of excellent service, I must mention two staff in particular, Moon and Ben in the restaurant,both wonderful ambassadors for Milky Bay, Moon always had a warm welcoming smile.
The whole resort was very well kept,and we loved our stay, we would highly recommend Milky Bay,and would love to return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Milky Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milky Bay Resort

Address: 103/4 Moo 1 | Ban Tai, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Ko Phangan
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ko Phangan
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phangan
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Milky Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Milky Bay Resort is peacefully located on Koh Phangan at Ban Tai beach makes it is easy to travel to all parts of the island. Haad Rin, the location of the monthly full moon party, is only 15 minutes drive away, At Milky Bay all bungalows are equipped to meet the highest of standards. All bungalows are air-conditioned and have western bathrooms with hot and cold water showers. The room decor is a blend of modern sophistication with local Thai and traditional African decorative elements and furnishings. Each room has a spacious balcony with sea or garden views. The bungalows are surrounded by lush vegetation All pathways are covered with soft wood-shavings, which give the resort a special rural character, and make it comfortable to walk barefooted around the resort. Set under a crisp tropical sky, overlooking the calm inviting ocean and spilling onto a soft milky beach all huddled between beautiful lush gardens is Milky Bay. You can savour sunset cocktails, taste the delectable flavours of Thai cuisine and pizzas or enjoy a beachfront barbecue Thai style with fresh seafood.Keep yourself busy with the wide range of activities available at the resort cool your senses with a swim in the pool after a day of adventure and unforgettable images or relax with a massage followed by a herbal steam. If it is relaxation and tranquility you are after or a holiday filled with adventure, then it is all waiting for you at Milky Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Milky Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milky Bay Hotel Koh Phangan
Milky Bay Ko Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milky Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.