We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best service in milkybay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Milky Bay Resort

Save Saved
You added Milky Bay Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Milky Bay Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   103/4 Moo 1 | Ban Tai, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 91 hotels in Ko Phangan
1 review
“Best service in milkybay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Had an issue the staff sorted it, really nice staff, really nice rooms i recomend the superior deluxe room! Breakfast very quick. On the beach perfect. The only hotel in thailand that has a dvd player so thumbs up!!Thankyou milkybay

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    214
    114
    30
    28
    12
See reviews for
26
175
30
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

After a day of travel from Luang Prabang to Koh Samui airport we arrived at the pier of Koh Phangan late at the aftenoon. So Milky Bay Resort which is situated along the south beach of the island seems perfect. This turns out to be the only positive thing of the place.

The resort had placed next to h beach and is basicly a assemply of one plan bungalows with two to three rooms. If you like concrete constructions and lot of party activities you will like this place. If not find someplace else.

On top of that I got food poisoning and had stomach problems for three days. Lot of dutch families was also checked in, so the noise level was high. You can hear every word and sound from next door room.

Private save for your valuebles in the room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed two nights in Milky Bay resort during low season, it was very quiet and no other places to go on the beach. Stayed in a bungalow close to the pool and the beach, the standard was so so, not very comfy bed and large cracks in the floor which didn't feel so safe bug-wise. There was also a bad smell in the room which the staff didn't manage to clean out when requested.
The beach side lounging area was very relaxing and calm, with nice winds blowing from the sea. The sea was too shallow for swimming, so we only swam in the pool which was OK. The food in the restaurant was fantastic, try the pizza, bruschetta and fruit shakes!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is at a very peaceful area of Koh Phangan, at very relaxing Bantai Beach. Hotel upgraded me to a studio room while checking in, even I booked a standard room. The room was spacious and nicely decorated. The garden with bamboos was amazing. The staff is good and food at the restaurant is more than average. The days at Milky Bay Resort are definetely the highlights of my trip. This is my 7th Thailand trip and Milky Bay Resort is one of the best ones I've ever stayed, liked and relaxed

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Everything about our two night stay here in June 2013 was lovely. We arrived in time for free afternoon tea served in the central garden area between the bar and restaurant which contained a table tennis table and badminton net. The room was great and its well worth paying a bit extra for the superior double. The location is fantastic and right on the beach with not too much else near it. Breakfast outside by the beach is a truly glorious experience! The massage area by the garden is great as are the masseuses and we didn't even have time to go to the free herbal sauna. There is a nice bar overlooking the beach with a pool table and 'the hammer game' - its very fun! The snapper we had in the restaurant was excellent and there was a hilarious guy serving us - you will know who I mean when you hear his laugh! The staff were great here and very helpful in sorting out some motorbikes for us to rent. Overall this is a brilliant place for families, couples or friends and for what you get it is very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights in July 2013 on the recommendation of a friend. We stayed in a superior bungalow which was alongside the swimming pool and just a few yards to the beach. Couples massage for 500 baht each was fantastic. The restaurant food was lovely - particularly the food cooked on the bbq and the pizzas but thats where the pros end.
The accom is in a rubbish location with nothing worthwhile nearby and the nearest decent beach is over 30 mins drive away. The amount of bugs and gekkos etc in the rooms at night is very offputting - we had stayed in a bamboo hut in phi phi prior to here and that was nothing in comparison - there is not mosquito net around the bed so very poor sleep was had. The pool is dirty and not cleaned regularly and the tide is very far out from "milky bay" so despite looking lovely you cannot swim in the sea. We changed rooms 3 times and ultimately each was dissapointing and we have only negative memories from our stay in Milky Bay.

Room Tip: Choose different accomodation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComaBlack, Guest Relations Manager at Milky Bay Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Very dissapointed that we were a low light of your holiday as our aim is only to please and make your stay as memorable as possible.We are glad however that you did enjoy the food and the massage.We do have mosquito nets on request and alot of our guests find the exploring of other beaches and the island a fun part of their holiday but do apoligise for the sea but unfortunately the tide is out at this time of the year.After our staff tried really hard and moved rooms for you several times we obviously couldnt meet your standard but were hoping that you would view this as being helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Didn't actually stay in the resort we came for dinner as we're staying in the sister resort lime n soda just down the road, but fancied a look around and to sample the place.
Firstly it is extremely well run, like lime n soda. Staff are welcoming and sat us on tables literally overlooking the beach and beautiful sunset. We had a starter of satay which was ok and I had the deluxe burger ( which had egg, which I'm allergic to and due to vague menu had no idea was included, but wasn't an issue really) and partner had sweet and sour chicken, both great meals and decent value and well presented.
We were allowed to look around and pleasantly surprised at contrast in rooms, they are actually far more facilities in each even basic, than its sister resort which made us wonder if we should hae stayed overnight at Milky Bay.
The only negative was the loud bar on the corner next to the lush looking villa with its own jacuzzi! The bar which is not part of milky bay was loud with tacky techno blasting out, dirty looking European dreadlocked hippies smoking hash. I felt sorry for anyone who stayed there. A lovely villa ruined by the resorts neighbours.
Would highly recommend milky bay and will definitely try stay a night at end of our trip to experience the far superior facilities!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComaBlack, Guest Relations Manager at Milky Bay Resort, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
We truly hope that you get another opportunity to visit us and stay at the resort in the future.Thank you for taking the time to send in a review even though you only had dinner at the resort.Milky Bay Resort is a higher star grading than our sister resort and therefore has more facilities and ammenities.Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Milky Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milky Bay Resort

Also Known As:
Milky Bay Hotel Koh Phangan
Milky Bay Hotel
Milky Bay Ko Phangan
Address: 103/4 Moo 1 | Ban Tai, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Ko Phangan
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ko Phangan
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Milky Bay Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set under a crisp tropical sky, overlooking the calm inviting ocean and spilling onto a soft milky beach all huddled between beautiful lush gardens is Milky Bay. You can savour sunset cocktails, taste the delectable flavours of Thai cuisine and pizzas or enjoy a beachfront barbecue Thai style with fresh seafood.Keep yourself busy with the wide range of activities available at the resort cool your senses with a swim in the pool after a day of adventure and unforgettable images or relax with a massage followed by a herbal steam. If it is relaxation and tranquility you are after or a holiday filled with adventure, then it is all waiting for you at Milky Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Venere, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Milky Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milky Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.