We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly vacation vibes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Milky Bay Resort

Save Saved
You added Milky Bay Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Milky Bay Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   103/4 Moo 1 | Ban Tai, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 91 hotels in Ko Phangan
Cape Town, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“friendly vacation vibes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Milky bay is a 3 star resort on a fairly average piece of beach (by Thailand standards). However, aside from being cheap and very close to the half moon party, there were other things that made Milky Bay my favourite resort out of the 3 island resorts i stayed at when in Thailand (including pretty resorts in phi phi and railay). Milky Bay has an atmosphere that really makes you feel like you're on holiday. I think its a combination of the cool music they play in the restaurant and bar area all day (which ramped up quite a notch on the night of the half moon party to get everyone ready for dancing), and the daily cocktail happy hour (the pina coladas were divine), and then the very friendly staff. The staff at the other resorts were only friendly to the extent required, but at milky bay they actually seem to enjoy what they're doing and go the extra mile (at least in my experience of the place). other nice aspects: you can rent scooters from them as well as dvd's (for free) - and of course there's the outdoor massage area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    240
    122
    30
    29
    15
See reviews for
30
192
31
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Renesse, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The most cosy resort we stayed in during our visit in Thailand. Amazing friendly and very helpful staff. Very good service. If there was anything wrong it was fixed within a few minutes.
Good bungalows, great facilities (table tennis, pool biljart, massage, very nice clean beach, pleasant restaurant and lounche bar) and also a very good kitchen. If you like dining just a few meters from the beach watching the sunset, it will be the best place to be.
If the staff asked you whether everything was OK (they asked it many times) the only possible answer was Yes.
Two families from Holland

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I would advise anyone to stay here , it's just so lovely and the service is amazing . The staff are just so helpful and nothing is to much trouble. The food is amazing and you get big portions and good value for money, you can hire a scooter for 150 Bart for 24 hours or use the hotel taxi service as its cheap.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed in the milky bay for 5 nights for the half moon party, the hotel is about 15 mins from hat rin the hotel runs a taxi service. The rooms were okay nothing to rave about, the bathroom was very badly designed behind the bathroom door was the shower and a very poor shower at that. Our bed was covered with ants probably due to the fact that you could see the wildlife through the floor boards. The staff were friendly and helpful, the breakfast was not buffet but was tasty. There is no wifi in the rooms which is disappointing. If you are afraid of spiders etc i would not recommend the milky bay if you like to be at one with nature the milky bay is right up your street !

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This was the best hotel we stayed in during our visit to Thailand. The staff are so so so friendly and help with anything! The bungalows were clean and a good size. The facilities were great, pool, table tennis and volleyball net and it's own beach - what more do you want! You can rent a moped for just 150baht for a day from reception which comes in handy for exploring the island. Restaurant was very good food and the bar had cheap drinks! We were there for half moon party, they put on drink deals, free uv paint and a cheap taxi ride to the jungle. We met some really nice people here... Would definitely stay again and recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed at Milky bay during the Christmas and NYE period [Dec 2011-Jan2012] and LOVED our time here. I cannot compliment the staff enough. We stayed in Thailand for just over three weeks staying in Bangkok, Koh Samui, Phuket, Koh Phangan and Phi Phi [this was in the middle of our trip]. We stayed in cheaper and more expensive accom and this was our favourite [even though we got engaged in Phi Phi]. The staff and management really make this place special; they are like friends not staff!

The romantic dinners on the beach, the NYE dinner celebrations [DJ's smorgasbord, lanterns and body paint] and transfers to the full moon party cant be faulted. The bar area was amazing, great for afternoon drinks. Cocktails fantastic. And the pizza, my fiancé still goes on about them. We stayed 7 nights and wanted to stay longer.

The feel when you arrive from a busy day exploring the island is magical. Relaxing music can be heard from the spa area, the shaded walk ways it like disappearing into another world.

We loved it so much that we are adding another visit when we head to Koh Samui for a friend’s wedding in September 2013.

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa 1. The room was MASSIVE!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

We were supposed to stay here for 2 nights after a hotel disaster in koh samui, we came here and ended up stopping for 10 nights. We had the beachfront room, room huge with a hot tub and wow what a view!! The place and staff were fabulous (natali, win,yu,soi,nye, Tom,Kim,joy and mad mickey ensured a fabulous stay - so much so we got married here, it was truly beautiful, stress free and a big thank you to everyone especially natali for arranging and making a truly wonderful day! The food was the best we ate whilst in Thailand, and the staff were both friendly and attentive. Will definately be back soon thanks again Francesca says a big thanks to soe for all the table tennis practice truly a fantastic place with beautiful people
Love will Angela Francesca d1 x

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Milky Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milky Bay Resort

Address: 103/4 Moo 1 | Ban Tai, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Ko Phangan
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ko Phangan
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Milky Bay Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set under a crisp tropical sky, overlooking the calm inviting ocean and spilling onto a soft milky beach all huddled between beautiful lush gardens is Milky Bay. You can savour sunset cocktails, taste the delectable flavours of Thai cuisine and pizzas or enjoy a beachfront barbecue Thai style with fresh seafood.Keep yourself busy with the wide range of activities available at the resort cool your senses with a swim in the pool after a day of adventure and unforgettable images or relax with a massage followed by a herbal steam. If it is relaxation and tranquility you are after or a holiday filled with adventure, then it is all waiting for you at Milky Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Milky Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milky Bay Hotel Koh Phangan
Milky Bay Ko Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milky Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.