We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay for full moon.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Milky Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Milky Bay Resort to your Saves list
Milky Bay Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   103/4 Moo 1 | Ban Tai, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 90 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay for full moon.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here for the full moon party, great location - close to ferry and Haad Rin. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The hotel also offered transport to and from Full Moon party for 200 baht :) they offered body painting, flowers necklaces and a chance to light a sky latern on the beach. Which was so lovely and really got is in the party mood. However the next morning at breakfast my friend found a hair in her food, she asked for it to be taken away and when they gave us the bill they were still going to charge us for it - unacceptable. We also organised for the hotel shuttle to pick us up from the ferry, however no one showed up. Manager was very apologetic and refunded us for our taxi ride and gave us two free mojito's. Stay would have been great if it wasn't for these two things.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComaBlack, General Manager at Milky Bay Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Sawasdee krub

This is a guy who helped you about the sky lantern thing :) The picking up service issue it was because some miscommunication between Milky Bay Resort and the resort in Samui that you had stayed and I am really sorry for it. Also I really apologize for the food case. Milky Bay Resort is very well known in many attractive things and one of them is food quality and this really wakes us up to realize that everyone makes a mistake and we will be more careful and better it to maximize the guest happiness. I really appreciate that you chose us. Wherever you are please take care and I hope your foot will be ok real soon :)

Warm regards,
Naruedon Duriyaprapan (Pond)
General Manager of Milky Bay Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    161
    48
    35
    19
See reviews for
49
252
38
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We so loved this place we didnt want to leave. the location is fab and you can get to haad rin town easily if you want to party! But its a quiet and chilled out place. the massage was great, the food was great, the rooms were great! LOVE IT.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComaBlack, General Manager at Milky Bay Resort, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Sawasdee krub,

Thank you so much for your review and thank you for choosing us to be one part of your Thailand trip :) Hope you come back here again someday and I promise you that our standards will not go down but we will be better and better in every way :) Take care :)

Warm regards,
Naruedon Duriyaprapan (Pond)
GM of Milky Bay Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Thx milky crew

Always the best from your side.... Again you exeeded expectations. Special thanks to Ree the resort manager for her special attention to my needs... Thanks for the very unik and personal service from all staff. Love you all :o)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComaBlack, General Manager at Milky Bay Resort, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Sawasdee krub,

Thank you so much for spending your time writing to us on Tripadvisor and for choosing Milky Bay Resort to be one part of your Thailand trip :) Every review is very valuable for us because not only they remind us what we are lack of but also encourage us to keep working our best to maximize the guest satisfaction (and also make every staff here happy when they know the guests are happy). Ree really has played an important role to make this happen.

Again I thank you for choosing us. Hope you are doing well, take care, and visit us sometime when you come to travel here in the land of smiles :)

Warm regards,
Naruedon Duriyaprapan (Pond)
GM of Milky Bay Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Miiiiiiilky Bay! We loved this place. Any place in Thailand on the beach has amazing views, but this place had a great vibe, breakfast and staff. Besides the great food and company, we loved the massage. Location is ideal for Full Moon party too. And the lady at the front desk will give you some good tips how to keep your pants and shirt on...

Room Tip: Recommend upgrading if you are looking for something 'nicer', lowest rooms are lacking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at Milky Bay for 5 nights and we had a great time. This resort has everything we needed...so much so that we rarely felt the need to leave. A great restaurant, bar, pool, and best of all great staff.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComaBlack, sales team at Milky Bay Resort, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear guest,

We really appreciate your review. We always have believed that with our hard work and all the quality facilities and accommodation we have provided would fulfill the guest satisfaction, and from your positive review means that we are on the right track. We look forward to treat you our best again at Milky Bat Resort. We wish you all the best and take care.

Warm regards,
Sales Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

We were doing a tour of the three islands and originally planned to stay for 4 nights but i stayed for 7. Slightly more expensive but the whole resort was great - location, huts (very nice), fod was top notch. Natalie and her team offered faultless service from start to finish. Special week with special memories.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComaBlack, General Manager at Milky Bay Resort, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Sawasdee krub,

Firstly I want to apologize for replying late. We are very thankful for your positive comments towards Milky Bay Resort :) Your comments will be told to the staffs here to make them feel happy that all of our works have made the guests here leave with happiness. I wish you guys all the best and I hope one day you will visit us here again :) Take care and have a good time wherever you are. Again, thank you so much :)

Warm regards,
Naruedon Duriyaprapan (Pond)
General Manager of Milky Bay Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stumbled across Milky Bay Resort after being turned off from our original choice by rude and indifferent staff.

Milky Bay was from the beginning a service oriented experience. the front desk staff were friendly, warm and most importantly helpful! and the rest of the team was just the same from housekeeping to restaurant to the drivers that run the free shuttle service to the ferry terminals.

Our room was a lovely bungalow that more than adequately fit us with atmospheric 'stone' floor bathroom. we'd gone for the basic option as we were on a budget, but would probably go for the deluxe room as it wasn't that much more expensive an gave just a bit more extra space for extra lazing about.

the bay is right there as per the name, but much nicer to swim in the pool with the sun setting over you.

free pool table, table tennis, paddle ball, volleyball, sauna... its everything you need in a low key resort on an island like ko phangan.

If you are hungry the pizzas onsite look great, but we went up the road to a restaurant called Nong View where they will cook you up the best fried catfish i can ever remember along with any other dish you could possibly crave.

Room Tip: take a deluxe bungalow near the pool if you can spare the cash as there is more floor space. the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phangan hotels
0.7 mi away
Le Divine Comedie
Le Divine Comedie
#1 of 90 in Ko Phangan
5.0 of 5 stars 343 reviews
3.8 mi away
Buri Beach Resort
Buri Beach Resort
#17 of 90 in Ko Phangan
4.0 of 5 stars 499 reviews
6.3 mi away
Cookies's Salad Resort
Cookies's Salad Resort
#32 of 90 in Ko Phangan
4.0 of 5 stars 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
Koh Phangan Dreamland Resort
#36 of 90 in Ko Phangan
4.0 of 5 stars 145 reviews
3.8 mi away
The COAST Resort - Koh Phangan
5.6 mi away
Sunset Hill Resort
Sunset Hill Resort
#21 of 90 in Ko Phangan
4.5 of 5 stars 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milky Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milky Bay Resort

Address: 103/4 Moo 1 | Ban Tai, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Ko Phangan
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ko Phangan
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phangan
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Milky Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Milky Bay Resort is peacefully located on Koh Phangan at Ban Tai beach makes it is easy to travel to all parts of the island. Haad Rin, the location of the monthly full moon party, is only 15 minutes drive away, At Milky Bay all bungalows are equipped to meet the highest of standards. All bungalows are air-conditioned and have western bathrooms with hot and cold water showers. The room decor is a blend of modern sophistication with local Thai and traditional African decorative elements and furnishings. Each room has a spacious balcony with sea or garden views. The bungalows are surrounded by lush vegetation All pathways are covered with soft wood-shavings, which give the resort a special rural character, and make it comfortable to walk barefooted around the resort. Set under a crisp tropical sky, overlooking the calm inviting ocean and spilling onto a soft milky beach all huddled between beautiful lush gardens is Milky Bay. You can savour sunset cocktails, taste the delectable flavours of Thai cuisine and pizzas or enjoy a beachfront barbecue Thai style with fresh seafood.Keep yourself busy with the wide range of activities available at the resort cool your senses with a swim in the pool after a day of adventure and unforgettable images or relax with a massage followed by a herbal steam. If it is relaxation and tranquility you are after or a holiday filled with adventure, then it is all waiting for you at Milky Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelBookers, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Milky Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milky Bay Hotel Koh Phangan
Milky Bay Ko Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milky Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.