We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A forest like retreat with superb team” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Milky Bay Resort

Save Saved
You added Milky Bay Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Milky Bay Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   103/4 Moo 1 | Ban Tai, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 91 hotels in Ko Phangan
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A forest like retreat with superb team”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stumbled across Milky Bay Resort after being turned off from our original choice by rude and indifferent staff.

Milky Bay was from the beginning a service oriented experience. the front desk staff were friendly, warm and most importantly helpful! and the rest of the team was just the same from housekeeping to restaurant to the drivers that run the free shuttle service to the ferry terminals.

Our room was a lovely bungalow that more than adequately fit us with atmospheric 'stone' floor bathroom. we'd gone for the basic option as we were on a budget, but would probably go for the deluxe room as it wasn't that much more expensive an gave just a bit more extra space for extra lazing about.

the bay is right there as per the name, but much nicer to swim in the pool with the sun setting over you.

free pool table, table tennis, paddle ball, volleyball, sauna... its everything you need in a low key resort on an island like ko phangan.

If you are hungry the pizzas onsite look great, but we went up the road to a restaurant called Nong View where they will cook you up the best fried catfish i can ever remember along with any other dish you could possibly crave.

Room Tip: take a deluxe bungalow near the pool if you can spare the cash as there is more floor space. the v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    236
    121
    30
    29
    14
See reviews for
29
188
31
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rishon Le Zion, HaMerkaz, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

A friend and me arrived at Koh Pah Ngan, wishing to stay out of the partying commotion; Milky Bay seemed like a perfect place for it and it was! A calm, clean and quite resort, with great service, smiling face and a warm attitude! The workers are very polite, always willing to help with anything, not to mention their wonderful restaurant, with both western and delicious Thai cuisine!
I highly recomend Milky Bay Resort for people who don't come to Koh Pha Ngan to be near the noise and the partying; they're not expensive, the food is great, the atmosphere is calm and positive, there is a pool, a bar, and a small coastline dedicated to the resort.
Thanks Milky Bay, Eva and Shelly!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComaBlack, General Manager at Milky Bay Resort, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Sawasdee kub

I am very thankful that you enjoyed your staying with us and very happy that our services and facilities have met your expectation :) We always look forward to see guest reviews to know what they think about us after their staying and you comment just has energized us to keep working and working in order to maintain our standards and not to disappoint any guest.

Speaking for every staff here in Milky Bay, we will continue working hard with great service mind to make sure that the only two adjectives the guests can think of after checking out are "memorable" and "happy" :)

Warm regards,
Naruedon Duriyaprapan (Pond)
GM of Milky Bay Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is amazingly beautiful, with it being right on the beach with stunning panoramic views. A truly wonderful stay with amazing staff, the food at the restaurant was amazing, a bit of a mess up on the prawns not being cleaned, but a small blip and they soughted it out straight away. Lifts to and from the full moon party where great as well

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComaBlack, General Manager at Milky Bay Resort, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Sawasdee kub

Thank you so much for your review. We, every staff in every department, have worked so hard, with hearts, in order to provide the quality services, comfort, friendliness, great food and beverage, etc to every guest. We are very happy and appreciate that you had chosen Milky Bay Resort to be a part of your Thailand trip :) Wherever you are, I hope you are doing very well there and take care and hope to see you back here again in Milky Bay Resort :)

Thank you :)
Naruedon Duriyaprapan (Pond)
GM of Milky Bay Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This place was the highlight of our trip to Koh Phangan. The hotel is very service oriented, with the friendliest staff we've seen in Thailand. You get a free transportation from the pier or from your previous hotel. We booked only one night but ended up staying for a week - it was so good. We ordered the most basic room but decided to upgrade it to superior which was totally worth the $5 difference. If you book for 3 nights and above, there is a discount.

The restaurant is beautifully set up right on the beach and has probably the best food on the island, breakfast is yummy, BBQ is just delicious. The lounge area is cozy and relaxing. You can play pool, ping pong, badminton, all free of charge.
The beach is not the best on the island but there is a pool and the atmosphere in the hotel totally compensates for it. The location is good, quiet but a short ride to many parties and other points of interest. We rented a bike for the first time in our life and it was a great experience on its own, the roads in the area are flat and safer than in Haad Rin and north east/west. The central road to Chaloklum and Malibu beach (central north) is just gorgeous and also flat.

The manager deserves particular gratefulness - the guy helped us so much with so many things. Whether it concerned our stay in the hotel or other issues, his helpfulness was beyond what you would normally expect from a hotel manager. Pond, thank you so much!

Overall, you get the greatest value for money and we would recommend this hotel to everyone, and will definitely be back some time.

Marina & Eyal, Israel

Room Tip: "Superior rooms are great"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComaBlack, General Manager at Milky Bay Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Sawasdee kub,

This is Pond the manager of Milky Bay Resort :) Firstly I really appreciate your review and I promise you guys that I will try my best to maintain the standards of the resort and will make it even better in some particular areas. Please let me know when you want to come back here again I would love to chat with you more :D Anyway, if you have any question, curiosity or you need any help about traveling in Thailand please let me I will be there for you guys :)

Last but not least, Thank you so much for choosing Milky Bay Resort to be one of your Thailand trip. I wish you guys all the best and have a safe trip and take care and good luck with everything. Hope I can see you guys again in the future someday :)

ps. This is my first ever review reply. Sorry if I wrote not that formal :)

Naruedon Duriyaprapan (Pond),
GM of Milky Bay Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

First the positives:
Others have written about how great this place is. They are right -- the beachfront lounge chairs are fun to hang out on, and the drinks at the bar are very good.
The BBQ was absolutely amazing: We had the whole red snapper, which was so fresh and perfectly seasoned. Probably one of the best meals we had in Asia.

Another good thing is the new manager. His name is Pond and he "gets it" when it comes to the needs of Western travelers. This is probably since he has lived in the US and Europe and wants to give the best service possible.


The negatives:
1. The front desk staff is TERRIBLE. They are either very mean/angry when you ask for help, or they simply don't care to try to help customers, and that is an understatement. (But don't worry, the rest of the hotel staff is really great)
2. The cheapest rooms are bad. They are no more than wooden bungalows on stilts that have holes in the floor which let insects come in at night. They are also tiny. Consider paying $5 more a night and getting a significantly better room.

Room Tip: Don't take the cheapest rooms, you will regret it.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComaBlack, General Manager at Milky Bay Resort, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Sawasdee kub

This is Pond the Thai guy who had many and many and many conversations with you :) Hope you are doing just great wherever you are at the moment. I just wanted to say I appreciate for your review which helps us to realize more about our weaknesses.

Firstly, thank you for your positives. Our restaurant has a very good reputation in location, decoration, music, services, food and drink quality. I am saying that we will try our best to maintain the standards in order to maximize the guest happiness staying with us at Milky Bay Resort.

Secondly, we had a talk about it and again I really do apologize about the receptionist issue. However a week after you left we had a big change in reception section and now this problem has been solved and this will be proved by reviews from now on :) About the standard room case, I went to check myself and found the problem you mentioned and this problem is solved :)

Your positives brought us the happiness to our hearts and your negatives woke us up and went to solve the problems right away. Again, thank you. Take care and I hope to see you one day again in Milky Bay Resort

ps. Next time try mussels. The Israel couple above you really loved it :D

Naruedon Duriyaprapan,
GM of Milky Bay Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Such a lovely resort. Private section of beach, lovely pool with enough loungers for everyone. Table tennis, volley ball, pool table etc.

Food was great, breakfasts were large and a good selection of food. Everything we tried was delicious.

The rooms were good size, big bathroom, comfy beds, mini bars etc. and were very clean on arrival.

The staff was so friendly and helpful and really make the stay that much nicer.

Would recommend to anyone wanting a relaxing break with the option to taxi into busiest areas for bars and other restaraunts.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Couldn't fault milky bay, we had a superior room as it was large for $48 a night including breakfast and transfers - bargain in my opinion! The food at the restaurant which we ate at 3-4 times over our two days was great! Massages lovely about 300 baht for one hour. Happy hour cocktails are about 100 baht from memory and they have this terrific little bar on the beach. They have a pizza oven on the beach and we had pizza from there - very nice! Overall would 100% recommend this resort and will come back if and when I get the chance!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Milky Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milky Bay Resort

Address: 103/4 Moo 1 | Ban Tai, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Ko Phangan
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ko Phangan
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Milky Bay Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set under a crisp tropical sky, overlooking the calm inviting ocean and spilling onto a soft milky beach all huddled between beautiful lush gardens is Milky Bay. You can savour sunset cocktails, taste the delectable flavours of Thai cuisine and pizzas or enjoy a beachfront barbecue Thai style with fresh seafood.Keep yourself busy with the wide range of activities available at the resort cool your senses with a swim in the pool after a day of adventure and unforgettable images or relax with a massage followed by a herbal steam. If it is relaxation and tranquility you are after or a holiday filled with adventure, then it is all waiting for you at Milky Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Milky Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milky Bay Hotel Koh Phangan
Milky Bay Ko Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milky Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;