We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Cove Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sunset Cove Resort to your Saves list
Sunset Cove Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   78/11 Moo 8 | Ao Chao Phao Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We stayed at Sunset Cove whilst attending the full moon party for new years. It is about a 30-40 minute taxi ride from Haad Rin, but well worth it if you want to enjoy the party, then get away from the chaos! The infinity pool hugged up against the beach is to die for, so relaxing. The staff are exceptional, they attend to every need you may have, the food is great (breakfast, lunch and dinner). One of my favourite stays on a five week trip around Asia. Very good value for money!!

Room Tip: Try get a bungalow closer to the pool, the road side ones are a bit noisy from all the party tuk tuk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    110
    26
    15
    6
See reviews for
52
253
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hove
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I stayed with my wife and 2-year old for 8 nights in January and we loved it. The pool is terrific, very clean and with an unforgettable sunset view. Breakfast was generous and tasty, if not hugely varied. Staff are helpful and friendly. Our garden villa was clean with a good bed and nice outdoor bathroom. Easily walkable to numerous bars, shops and restaurants. All in all very good value and we would definitely come back.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

the room itself is fairly basic (we booked a standard room) but clean. outside the hotel is very good, direct access to the beach, infinity pool. the restaurant is very good and reasonable price. the best part is the staff, everyone is very friendly and welcoming.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturovo, Slovakia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

First of all after reading some reviews on tripadvisor for this resort I have to say: if you are looking for luxury or a high class resort with top services look for something else. But I`m sure it will cost you two or three times more! For everyone else (also for us) is this resort absolutely great! I`ve stayed here with my girlfriend for 6 nights in January 2014 and enjoyed every minute we have spent in this resort. The view from pool area to sea is incredible, the pool is really just a few steps from the sea. The staff is really helpful, always keep on smiling. Breakfast ok, reasonable prices for lunch or dinner. The room was basic, but clean at all, beach is one of the bests on Koh Phangan! Nice peaceful place, so if you want to party hard find some accomodation on haad rin beach!
So overall this is a nice place to stay, also for groups with children.

Room Tip: Depends on your budget, but the standard hut is also enought.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

This place seems to have two faces. The good:the staff is very friendly, breakfast is ok, and the infinity pool area is clean and a good place to relax. The bad: our suite cottage was not so clean and nice. We had to kill several cockroaches in the bathroom, and there were stains on the bed. Checking the bathroom for cockroaches when you want to brush your teeth was not our idea of a nice holiday. They only 'clean' the room once every two days, and by this they mean splash the bathroom with water, change the towels and make up the bed.

In our opinion, they maintain the reception and pool area very well, but don't care a lot about the rooms/cottages... We would not stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We planned on staying in Koh Phangan just for 3 days during the full moon party.

We ended up staying 10 days at this great resort! It has nice rooms with a semi-outside bathroom which is really relaxed because it kinda deels like your showering outside.

The staff is really friendly and always willing to help you. We especially liked 'Happy Guy', you'll understand the name when you meet him.

The hotel serves a great, big breakfast with a lot to choose from!

It's a 15min drive from thong sala but with a scooter its no problem.

And then the pool.. It's an (very clean) infinity pool overlooking the sea. The best way to wake up is to jump in before or after breakfast, at least thats what we did!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

Please DO NOT stay here! We had a standard bungalow booked for 3 nights. We checked in, were brought to our room and immediately called agoda and demanded a full refund. This place is a dump, it was a rock hard bed in the middle of a tiny room, there was no kind of decor it was just a bare room that reeked of mold and mildew. There were cracks in the ceiling and a lizard came running out of one, the bathroom was a whole other story, it looked like a bathroom at a gas station on the side of the road that you are terrified to even go to. During the brief 10 minute stint in our room we also realized the wifi and air conditioner didn't work properly so had to go down to reception to use the internet to find somewhere new to stay, and got literally aten alive, this place is in close vicinity to a lake and is completely taken over by Mosquitos, leaving welts and bites all over us, they were EVERYWHERE. The staff however were friendly, except when we asked the receptionist to call us a cab to leave she would not and told us to go wait by the road. I am wondering if people are being told to write these "rave" reviews because this place is a complete dive, save your time and money.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Cove Resort

Address: 78/11 Moo 8 | Ao Chao Phao Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ko Phangan
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ko Phangan
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Cove Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sunset Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Cove Resort Hotel Koh Phangan
Sunset Cove Ko Phangan
Sunset Cove Hotel Ko Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Cove Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.