We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful holiday spot!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Cove Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sunset Cove Resort to your Saves list
Sunset Cove Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   78/11 Moo 8 | Ao Chao Phao Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A beautiful holiday spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The location is perfect, with beautiful sunsets and a few restaurants and shops around. The staff are very kind and helpful, we loved them. The rooms are nice, quiete and clean. The swimming pool is just in front of the sea with a breathtaking view. The facilities are very good and the place was green and well kept. They also arranged to pick us up at the pier and bring us back at 6.30 a.m. We really enjoyed spending 6 days in this wonderful place! I warmly recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    119
    26
    16
    6
See reviews for
55
261
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 10 nights. We loved the location: nice beach and sunset views. The pool is excellent.

We were a little disappointed about the quality of the room (a suite cottage). It looked a little outdated and was not as clean as one would hope (hair behind the bath and water on the bathroom floor).

The staff of this hotel is really friendly.

Room Tip: Cottages are OK, rooms are pretty basic
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Firstly my rating is based entirely on the state of the resort rather than the staff who, during a brief stay, were always friendly and helpful. I get the impression that the place was once lovely but is now falling apart and shoddy due to poor maintenance and neglect. I heard from a friend on the island that the owner is trying to sell and it appears they have lost interest in the place. The general level of cleanliness was poor and the decking walkways and steps were badly broken and rotting in places. They only clean the rooms every two days and although I'm not opposed to that in principle when you're right on the beach it really needs doing daily as sand gets everywhere and makes things quite uncomfortable. We've been to the island before and stayed at a few places and even within the price bracket the general cleanliness and care isn't good enough. I wasn't the biggest fan of the beach overall and although this isn't the resort's fault they could do more to clear litter and debris as many others do on other beaches in the area. When we checked in our room hadn't been cleaned properly and there were bottle tops and an old toilet roll on the shelf by the bed. We weren't happy so reported this at reception and without argument they immediately changed our room and upgraded it to a bigger bungalow however the cleanliness there wasn't great either with an old plaster stuck to the wall in the outdoor shower which was also directly overlooked by a balcony at the neighbouring resort. Also there was bits of soap wrapper and stuff stuck behind the bath which was covered in water marks and soap scum. We left after 2 nights of the 7 we were planning on spending and went to another resort a couple of beaches North. Again the staff were helpful and didn't charge us a penalty for leaving early so again thumbs up for them but overall Sunset Cove cut a pretty depressing figure and I'm genuinely surprised by the overwhelmingly positive reviews it has received on trip advisor.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We really liked our stay at sunset cove. It is hard to find a more relaxed place. The resort is really beautiful and everything is well designed. The pool is great for both adults and kids. The restaurant is ok with very good prices. They made good food for our 11 month old son.

Best is the staff that is really working hard to make your stay great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Me and a friend booked 2 nights ended up staying 4, truly great place to stay on the island. Very sweet people run/own the place . The bungalows are basic but very clean, no cable tv but they do offer a large selection of hollywood films (latest movies too) if you are bored and want to watch a movie in your bungalow!
The food is tremendous and the view overlooking the beach/ocean even better. The pool is clean and looks out over the beach. The only downside is moving around on the island, taxi's don't pass by at night and the hotel does not call taxi's for you, so if you are on the island only to party, better stay in haad rin or so. If you are here to relax and an occasional party, this place is for you!
The beach is great, I disagree with some reviews stating it is not a swimming beach because we went swimming and snorkeled in the ocean in front of the hotel, beautiful underwater scenery. I would bring a pair of swimming "shoes" next time! So be advised!

Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Having visited here many times before so I had to write this review. The welcome is genuine and they really want you to enjoy your stay. The resort has a beautiful setting with well kept garden, the pool is fantastic. The rooms are beautifully designed and the whole place has a natural feel. Overall great stay and would return again and again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Low season means very quiet in some places & this was one of them. Beach was deserted. Just the place if you are looking for a bit of peace. People are fantastic, really friendly. Rooms ok, air con, toiletries & open bathroom. WiFi in lobby worked mostly. Infinity pool nice and beds around had cushions. Not much choice in area to go to eat. Just as well then that food here is very good and good value. Free fruit in lobby is a nice touch. 10 min drive is Ko Ma, very good place to snorkel once you have waded out far enough. Resort has transport on request for a fee. Everything is put on bill so can pay at end.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Cove Resort

Address: 78/11 Moo 8 | Ao Chao Phao Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ko Phangan
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ko Phangan
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phangan
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Cove Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sunset Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Cove Resort Hotel Koh Phangan
Sunset Cove Ko Phangan
Sunset Cove Hotel Ko Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Cove Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.