We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Cove Resort

Save Saved
You added Sunset Cove Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunset Cove Resort
78/11 Moo 8 | Ao Chao Phao Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 91 hotels in Ko Phangan
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

This is such a charming place! Gorgeous pool, nice beach, lots of lounge chairs. We stayed in the basic bungalow. It had the most comfortable bed!!! That alone was worth staying there. Sheets are super soft and the shampoo they provide was fabulous. The bungalow is simple, just a king bed and a tv. There's no cable but they have lots of retro DVDs. Air conditioning was great. It made the room cold and was quiet. The attached bathroom has an open ceiling in a way. The top parts of the walls that attached to the ceiling was open. If there was some netting, it would prevent the gigantic bugs from coming in, especially at night. That is the only negative. We would have extended our stay if that wasn't an issue. Breakfast was great and delicious. They have free wifi in the main lobby, eating area and some parts of the pool. They provided free bananas, kayaks, snorkel gear, kids toys, bikes and had an outdoor gym. The gym is retro but with a gorgeous view and so much to explore, who has time for the gym? They also had free shuttle to and from the pier. Loved this place!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    254
    106
    24
    15
    6
See reviews for
47
246
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MIlan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We enjoyed very much our stay here. Hotel is inside the nature, a really oasi of relax. Wonderful swimming pool with seaside view. We stayed in a room, and it was large, clean and with good amenities. The quality of sleep is very good, the only defects are the poor signal of wifi in the room (but strong in restaurant and reception area) and the sea in front is not very deep beacuse of low tide, but it's possible to take canoe and equipment for snorkelling for free. The staff is very helpfull, we had free pickup from pier and the staff organize also transportation to the full moon party. Highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We are a family of 5 (3 children 5 -11 yrs). We stayed here for 5 nights in March 2013. We stayed in rooms A1 and A2, the rooms had a great location near the restaurant with the pool right outside. Breakfast was included, there was a good choice of dishes. We had lunch here a few times which was also very good.
Staff were extremely helpful, from meeting us at the ferry in an air con car with lovely music to organizing trips, cars and tickets.
There are DVD players in each room and a huge choice of DVDs to borrow. They apologize when you arrive for not having cable tv but who cares - you are on holiday! Also, there is free wifi which is excellent.
The pool is beautiful, the shallow end is covered so the kids get shade. There are kayaks for hire. The beach isn't super beautiful but none of the beaches on the island were mind blowing. You can swim in the sea here and go for lovely walks.
There are lots of restaurants and bars within a short walk all with happy hours.
The bedrooms were lovely and it was the only place we stayed in for 3 weeks that had a bath.
The best thing about the resort was the view of the sunset. It was so stunning and different every night. Everyone tended to sit on the deck with a drink and watch the sun go down, it had a great atmosphere.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the beach - beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Great location, Excellent staff, totally laid back and well kept. We had 4 nights and I wish we could have stayed longer. We had a beach front room which had great views, right on the beach with lovely pool.

Room Tip: Beach front room were the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed here for six nights in February and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The transfer from the port was lovely - immacualte private car sent by the hotel with great aircon and classical music! We didn't arrive until around 9:30 pm but the hotel made some tasty sandwiches for us. We were shown to our room which was towards the back of the report. The room was very spacious and had everything we needed. Very clean with comfy bed. The bathroom was actually outside so you had to be a bit quick showering early evening due to mosquitoes! The breakfast at the hotel was very good. You were given a little form to fill in each morning with your choices. You could have a hot and cold drink, cereal, eggs, fruit, pancakes - great choice and definitely enough to keep you going until lunch! The pool area was lovely - very well maintained and a great spot to spend the day. We had a few days of unexpected showers but were able to catch up on some reading and watched a few DVD's (books and films both available for guests). The hotel recommended a local place to hire mopeds from so that we could do some exploring. The moped place was very thorough and would recommend using them (you just went right out of the hotel and crossed the road). The power did cut out once whilst we stayed but it wasn't for very long.
Whilst staying here we went to the Full Moon Party. If you wanted it, the hotel was running a minibus to take guests to the party.
The staff at the hotel were all very helpful and pretty much left guests to their own devices. I would definitely recommend this hotel. It was lovely and relaxing (just what you need after the Full Moon Party!) but in a great location to do some exploring.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

If you are looking for a mind relaxation, this the place. It is a very quite beach resort. Nice swimming pool, good food, cheap food, good staff. Breakfast free with a good choice as you wish. We went to Koh Phangan, for a Full Moon Party on 26th Feb 2013, but one should stay in this Island for atleast 5 days. Pick up from pier was free and drop at a small price also well arranged. Some girls were Topless in Swimming Pool. Best beach with low level & clear waters.Will be back in 2014 that's for sure.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalsmeer, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed here 6 nights in March. Family owned property, nicely located on a quiet beach and the pool area is really lovely. That said, we found our room quite basic for the 75 Euro we paid per night. We stayed in a suite room, but a deluxe room is cheaper and eventually a better option. The suite room gives you an extra room (no airco) where you can watch dvd's, but it is really hot and dark inside. Bathroom was ok, not cleaned very properly but the sleeping room was ok with a nice big bed and quiet airco. Breakfast is not a buffet style but you can choose from many options, so fine for everybody I guess. The pool is very nice, enough sunbeds and pool towels are provided. There were some families with small children and sometimes this was a little noisy. Do not understand that people let their children walk around naked as if they own the property!! Some staff was really nice, but some staff seemed to like to watch television a lot. We rented scooters to look around and found nicer accommodations which were cheaper and maybe better. Lunches and dinners were fine, but we ate dinner 3 times at the big mountain restaurant accross the road and it was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Cove Resort

Address: 78/11 Moo 8 | Ao Chao Phao Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ko Phangan
#3 Family Hotel in Ko Phangan
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Sunset Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Cove Resort Hotel Koh Phangan
Sunset Cove Ko Phangan
Sunset Cove Hotel Ko Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Cove Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.