We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had great time at Cove Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Cove Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sunset Cove Resort to your Saves list
Sunset Cove Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   78/11 Moo 8 | Ao Chao Phao Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Tavira, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“We had great time at Cove Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

After 14 days backpacking from north to south Thailand we were looking for a place to chill and relax a few days. Sunset Cove resort was the perfect place,
it has a great atmosphere, the view, beach and pool are awesome, the food is really nice, the bungalows fit the price. We were thinking abou staying for two nights but the Cove magic made it a easy decision and we stayed one more night.
We had great time at Cove Resort!!
P.S. Rent a motorbike, best way to travel around Koh Phagnan.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    110
    26
    15
    6
See reviews for
52
254
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed here in July for 3 nights based on all the good reviews. We were in a deluxe cottage which were good value and very nice rooms. The outdoor bathroom was strange but not really a problem, other than when I got bitten by something whilst minding my own business in the shower! The pool is lovely and there weren't too many people in it, there was also a lack of shade and the beds under the trees seemed to be reserved all day (although we did later realise you could get an umberella from reception!). Unfortunately we missed the famous sunsets due to poor weather in the evenings however we enjoyed playing in the pool as it went dark. The breakfast was great and you could have all the options so could probably avoid lunch if you wanted! The service was great and there were some really friendly waiters. We had lunch there twice which was fine but there were nicer places to go for dinner along the beach. Free pickup from the ferry and very easy to organise on the way back. Nice location of Ao Chao Pao beach, certainly suited a few days relaxing by the pool. My only real problem was that this was the only one of 9 hotels we stayed in in Thailand that did not provide free bottled water in the rooms and this simple touch would have made a difference. Would highly recommend staying here if you want to go to Koh Phangan.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms were great, and much cheaper than the seaview ones in front of the pool. As there can b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellington nz
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We loved our stay at this resort especially spending the day around the beach front swimming pool and restaurant area - it was very relaxing - plenty of loungers and seats. Visiting during the low tide season we did not swim in the beach but watched people sit in the low warm water during the day. We watched beautiful sunsets sipping beer and bicardi breezers (only available alcohol). The restaurant puts on a fabulous breakfast with a huge choice, meals were tasty but they did not put on any ambiance in the restaurant at night and it was windy at night when we stayed. We took a standard room which was very nice, had all the comforts like fridge and TV to watch DVDs, my only complaint about the room was the bathroom, it needed updating and the wall between the adjoining room bathroom and ours was open, so you could hear every noise when in bathroom. We paid NZ$67 but it was high season and it goes down to NZ$48 past the 1 Sept. Agoda did show no available rooms but we contacted the resort directly and they had plenty of rooms, so dont miss out as they may not have listed any rooms. The staff were lovely and the little extras like free biscuits and bananas available all day added a nice touch, plus they picked us up free from a nearby resort and also provided a free ride to the pier in Thong Sala. Will definitely go back.

Room Tip: don't pick standard if you want bathroom privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temse, Belgium
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Red the review of Londonjimmy from the 8th off september! And i totally agree with him! Basic rooms, but what a service! There was even sun cream and mosquito repellent available! The girl on the reception booked our transport to Samui also and even mentioned to take the transfer from Lompraya! Much cheaper than a taxi! Thanks!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

My partner and I (early 30s) recently returned from a great 5 night stay at Sunset Cove. The idea had been to "get away from it all" and this place delivers. Here is a brief review of my stay:

Arrival: We called ahead to arrange the transfer with the hotel from arrival at Thong Sala ferry terminal at 6:30pm. The driver was waiting when we got there and we promptly headed to the resort. The transfer took about 25 mins. Upon arrival, it was like descending into a jungle via the wooden walkway, it felt very tropical. Check in was easy and the girl at the reception desk was very polite and helpful.

The (standard) room: As other reviewers have stated, rooms are indeed pretty basic. And the bathrooms are outdoors. But once you get used to the idea, you realise you have everything you need. Ice cold air con, a fridge, towels, a (firm) bed, tv/dvd and the bathroom is sheltered so the exposure to the outdoors is minimal. It's fine, but don't expect luxury!


The pool/beach area: Pool was very nice and cooling from the hot sun. Lovely views out towards the beach. Situated next to the main reception/eating area so you can obtain refreshments, or a complimentary banana. The beach was nice, although there were quite a few rocks, so not the powder white soft sand you get in Samui. The water is very shallow and doesnt get above your knees until a fair way out.

Location: As others have mentioned, this is a very quiet area consisting mainly of beach hut accomodations or hotels. There are a few bars and restaurants attached to the accomodations. There is plenty more if you grab a songthaew to Haad Yao which is 5 mins away and about 100 baht - there is a great selection of beachfront restaurants there, just be careful no to head back too late otherwise you might have to walk home as transportation options dry up. There's a few great bars near Sunset though, don't miss out on Sunset cocktails at Seaview hotel, some live music at Charlie bar or the superb Pirate bar at the end of the beach (holiday highlight). There are some great lunch spots we found, the best one being 'Big Mountain' if you do a left out of Sunset up the hill. Super cheap and tasty.

Side note - you are staying in a bit of jungle/forest, so expect to see the odd exotic insect!


Staff: Excellent. Language was a slight barrier with some staff, but out of all the places I've stayed in Thailand, I felt as if the smiles here were most genuine. Best part of the stay there.


Facilities: There is a gym, it is pretty basic and outdoors. There is a bench press, a few bikes and an EZ bar. Sweltering hot in the day time! Not everyone wants to work out on holiday, so it's not such a big deal.

Breakfast: We stayed in some expensive hotels during this Thailand trip, but the breakfast here was the BEST. You get a paper menu with options to tick, and 5mins later it arives. The cooked eggs are proper eggs and not the liquid stuff in the big hotels. The muesli and yoghurt was superb. I would get the mixed fruits also.

Departure: Made very easy by the girl at reception, she arranged our ferry and transfers to the ferry terminal and transfers to our next hotel in Koh Samui. Tip: the ferry provider 'Lomprayah' is much more comfortable than the other option.

Overall: This was my favourite time in Thailand for this trip, super relaxing and such good value for money. Don't miss out!

Room Tip: the beach front rooms by the pool look to be the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

we, a couple with a 5 years old girl and a 2 years old son stayed for 6 nights in the seaview villa. the place is very quiet, there are a few restaurants and grocery stores in the area, but you have to take a taxi to thongsala (200 bahts) if you want to go to a busier place with shops and other travellers.
we paid 4000 bahts which is a little bit expansive for what you get.
the staff were great and helped us several times, especially when we needed a doctor.
our villa had a big bedroom with a double bed, a single bed and a baby crib, a big bathroom with toilet and a bathtub (no AC or fan), an outside shower with privacy (but many ants), a medium sized TV room with fan (no satelite but there's a DVD and there's a wide variety of movies to take from the restaurant) and a balcony facing the pool and the beach. the rooms are a little bit tired, but not too much.
the view from the balcony is spectacular, postcard like, and we really enjoyed sitting there for lunch or at sunset time. the location of the room is great for families because you can sit in the balcony and still be able to watch over your children in the pool.
the infinity pool is excellent and is not too crowded, it has enough sunbeds, got one 50 cm baby pool and a part for young children (80-90 cm would be my guess).
the beach is ok, sandy and very beautiful but a little bit too shallow.
the breakfast is good, consisting of eggs, toasts, bacon, corn flakes, yoghurt, fresh fruits, pancakes/waffers and drinks.
the restaurant is reasonably priced and the food is fine.
all in all, we enjoyed the place and we recommend it for s quiet beach vacations.

Room Tip: the seaview villas are good for families because it's next to the pools so you can sit in the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

I stayed for 3 nights with my husband and 6 year old - had planned on two but wanted to stay longer once we artived The hotel has rooms on stilts in villa style in a Hayden style area with boardwalks around which are lovely well maintained and has a tropical feel The infinity pool is a delight to cool off in and it overlooks a lovely cove where the sea is warmer than the pool Rions are clean and pretty basic, comfy beds and DVDs are available if required There is a fridge too The bathrooms are fab and are either fully or partially open to the air which is great!! Open air showering is a treat!!
Staff are all helpful organising whatevere you need - we hired mopeds which were excellent to see around the beautiful island but lots of taxi buses and boats to ferry you from cove to cove if required. Kayaks snorkels and fins all available if you want them Food really good with Thai and European available at the hotel - reasonably priced too! Breakfast was good with bacon omelettes fruit eyc and my sobs Favorite - chockate pancakes! I hope you stay here it's great!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Cove Resort

Address: 78/11 Moo 8 | Ao Chao Phao Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Ko Phangan
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ko Phangan
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset Cove Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sunset Cove Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Cove Resort Hotel Koh Phangan
Sunset Cove Ko Phangan
Sunset Cove Hotel Ko Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Cove Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.