We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By far best stay in Thailand” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Longbay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Longbay Resort to your Saves list
Longbay Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   58 / 5 Moo 8 | Haad Yao Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Leuven, Vlaams-Brabant, Belgium
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“By far best stay in Thailand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Excellent resort! Wonderful swimming pool, nice beach.
Very good and extensive breakfast: pancakes, fresh fruit, toasts, different kinds of eggs (bacon, sausage), cornflakes, orange juice, milk, coffee.
We slept in garden hut (€25/night): excellent price!
In the evening you could choose between fish barbecue (barracuda, shark, shrimps,..) or à la carte. The fish was very fresh and tasty. (they have to serve rice and fish at same time!
You can have a cocktail drink between 5pm - 7pm (happy hour) with magnificent sunset view for 100Baht/cocktail. Cool cocktail barkeeper (mate).
We booked this after reading a lot of (disappointing) reviews, but were very happy with our holiday location.
The staff was very friendly (daily 'How do you do?'). The girls at the reception are not as friendly as the rest.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    40
    19
    10
    11
See reviews for
16
57
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ko Phangan, Surat Thani, Thailand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

After a bad storm and stuck in Hadd Yao this place was our saviour! At silly o'clock we had to wake up the manager to check in and he was amazing,. He very kindly gave us a great room which was very comfy and had everything we needed. We woke up to a fantastic view, lovely pool, yummy breakfast and friendly staff who went out of their way to help us. It was more than we could have ever expected. If you want a place that you will enjoy, where you feel looked after, with great facilities then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We had a very nice stay in this resort right on a beautiful clean beach. The bungalows were clean with good beds, safe, airco and fridge. Beautiful pool with good sunbeds. Every night barbecue on the beach with fresh fish. Very friendly staff and manager. We will definitely come back.
Greetings from the kiwi family.

Room Tip: The seaview bungalow is amazing to watch the sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I booked a couple of nights at the Liongbay resort thinking it would be step up from the sort of places we had been staying in so far in SEA. It wasn't any better than accommodation half the price, the food was average and the staff only okay.

The pool was nice and maybe the larger rooms would have been better, but I was unimpressed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We arrived there at after 10pm,tired and very hungry.Normaly the kitchen closed at 10pm but they managed to cook us a meal and while we waited the resort manager sorted our check-in so that was realy nice.Overall it was a great experience there with very friendly staff,clean and spacious bungalows.Nice swimming pool and beach and they do a delicious bbq on the beach.
Highly recommended resort!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Everyday, there is a barbecue on the beach for dinner. It is not expensive. Twenty per cent discount with the coupons they gave us. Excellent!!

The taxi fares with the hotel are a bit expensive. You can save money by taking a taxi directly on the road. Many taxis all day long.

I recommend you this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

I wouldn't recommend staying here - the rooms were pretty shabby and a bit stinky during the rain (although that is probably to be expected in Thailand) and the staff were a bit odd. The whole vibe was a little intense and to be honest I didn't think much of Haad Yao - nice beach but we didn't find any good restaurants and it had very little character. Avoid.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Longbay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longbay Resort

Address: 58 / 5 Moo 8 | Haad Yao Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#27 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phangan
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Longbay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Longbay resort is peacefully located directly on the beach at Haad Yao beach, on the northwest of Koh Phangan just about 30 minutes to Haad Rin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Longbay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longbay Hotel Koh Phangan
Long Bay Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Longbay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.