We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Longbay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Longbay Resort to your Saves list
Longbay Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   58 / 5 Moo 8 | Haad Yao Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
Paris
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Everyday, there is a barbecue on the beach for dinner. It is not expensive. Twenty per cent discount with the coupons they gave us. Excellent!!

The taxi fares with the hotel are a bit expensive. You can save money by taking a taxi directly on the road. Many taxis all day long.

I recommend you this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    40
    19
    10
    11
See reviews for
16
57
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

I wouldn't recommend staying here - the rooms were pretty shabby and a bit stinky during the rain (although that is probably to be expected in Thailand) and the staff were a bit odd. The whole vibe was a little intense and to be honest I didn't think much of Haad Yao - nice beach but we didn't find any good restaurants and it had very little character. Avoid.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Alberni, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

We booked 3 nights and stayed for 7 nights. The manager and staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The grounds were beautifully landscaped and maintained. The beachfront location was excellent. There were ample padded loungers by the pool and on the beach. The included buffet breakfast was good. Each evening there was a barbecue set up on the beach. The front desk was very willing to arrange tours and to make travel arrangements for us. We would highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

My friend and i stayed at Long Bay for a week. There was an initial muck up with our booking which was fixed in 10-15 minutes. Room was basic but clean. Staff where very friendly always there to help if you need it. Cocktail bar was great. Amazing views of the beach.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

We arrived at Long Bay Resort a little after 10 PM, after an incredibly long trip from Chiang Mai which included a flight, a night at the airport, a 20-minute walk with our luggage, a van ride, a taxi, a 7-hour bus ride and a 3-hour boat ride. All we wanted was to grab something to eat and go to sleep. You can imagine our disappointment and disbelief when the lady at the reception told us that there’s been “a problem” with our reservation (which had been made over 2 weeks in advance) and the hotel is full. So they sent us to their sister hotel, Sea Garden 2, and gave us a “special suite” there. From reading other reviews, I see they’ve been doing this trick for a while now. And honestly I don’t care if it’s their fault or not.
Of course we were extremely upset. We told them that we would go and sleep there for the night, but we want them to settle things straight and give us the room we had reserved the next day. The manager, who was nice and polite, told us they would try.
Now, the suite at Sea Garden 2 was nice, but there are a few problems with this whole thing. First of all, the room was absolutely infested with spiders and crawling/flying insects. A 2.5 inch long spider joined our shower that night, and there were many smaller ones inside the room and on the walls.
Second, this resort (Sea Garden 2) was still under construction when we stayed there. So at 7 AM the workers started working and making extremely loud noise right next to our room.
But the worst thing is that you’re not where you want to be. Sea Garden 2, which has only rooms with no other facilities, is a 3-minute drive (or 15-20 minute walk) from Longbay resort, and it doesn’t have a beach. So if you want to go to the beach or pool, you have to go to Longbay resort (you can arrange with them to pick you up and bring you back). Want to get something from your room while you’re at the beach? Forget it, your room’s not here.
On the morning of the second day, we went to the reception hoping they would give us the room we reserved. The lady told us that they tried, and the best thing they could do is offer us a tiny, tiny room at Longbay (it was probably 4 times smaller than the garden cottage we had reserved). If I were the hotel manager, I would be ashamed to even make that offer without a compensation. In the end we stayed at Sea Garden 2 for the 3 nights.
About the hotel and surroundings : The beach is very nice, with soft sand and clear water. The pool is good. Breakfast was okay, but the staff seemed to take a very long time to refill the milk or pancakes whenever they ran out. Aside from breakfast, we ate at the restaurant once and it was awful. The spaghetti Bolognese was disgusting (I swear the sauce was made of ketchup and had little to no meat), and when we asked for parmesan cheese, they gave us an embarrassingly tiny amount that would cover no more than two spoonfuls. Look around the beach for much better options. The restaurant at Sea Garden 2 is highly recommended.
Overall, we had a very bad experience with Longbay Resort. The manager tried to make it up to us by driving us to places we needed, but it’s not enough. I only wanted what I had paid for.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We made reservations through their website. But the person who is behind this website is not managing the hotel. So our room (that was paid for) was gone and we were put in another room ( villa at the pool). The manager at the hotel was very nice and did his utmost to make things right. So the management on site is good but they have problems with the organisation.
The hotelrooms are basic, clean, not too expensive. Breakfast is limited, personnel doesn't speak a lot of english. Lots of clean towels, good for when you go diving. The beach is lovely, nice fine white sand. Dinner (once) was good.
Chaloklum diving school has a small office there (they are great!!).
Pool is clean.
All in all, better make the reservation directly to avoid problems. (frontdesk@longbay-resort.com) or call.

Room Tip: bungolows by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

Lovely location of a beautifully spread out resort on a nice part of Koh Phangan. The gardens were beautiful and the room/bungalow was simple but clean and large with a nice verandah to relax on. Swimming pool area was also nice and the breakfast was great and dinner was nice too.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Longbay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longbay Resort

Address: 58 / 5 Moo 8 | Haad Yao Beach, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#27 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phangan
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Longbay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Longbay resort is peacefully located directly on the beach at Haad Yao beach, on the northwest of Koh Phangan just about 30 minutes to Haad Rin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Longbay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longbay Hotel Koh Phangan
Long Bay Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Longbay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.