We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Service, Fantastic area!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Central Cottage Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Central Cottage Resort to your Saves list
Central Cottage Resort
6/3 Moo 5 | Haad Thong Nai Pan Yai, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 92 Hotels in Ko Phangan
gateshead
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant Service, Fantastic area!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Stayed here in a beach hut for 500 bhat a night during the full moon party in March 2012. Hut was basic but diddnt spend time in it as the beach was so amazing! Service was brilliant, very friendly, food was cheap. On the day of the full moon party they set up a taxi bus/ boat depending on tide, can get that there and back at set times and was very cheap. takes about 40 mins to get there but the drive isnt too bad. very quiet and relaxing atmosphere, would deffinatly go back again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    27
    19
    11
    13
See reviews for
9
33
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

We found central cottage by a random google site and had a great stay. We were looking for cheap basic beach huts which is what we got but it had everything we needed! Mossie net, comfy bed, wifi and it was clean! The staff were lovely! Thanks very much for everything!

Room Tip: Garden Villas are cheap but you can't see the sea (but you can walk to the sea in 2 mins!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Phangan, Thailand
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We booked one night just to find out if this was somewhere we could stay for a few weeks. We were shocked to find that around 10pm, loud music starts up at the neighboring bars. So the 2nd night we moved to bungalow #1 for the same price as our garden bungalow and no late night music the 2nd night. Guess it just depends on the night of the week and how many people show up and start drinking. The late night music became a minor inconvenience after we switched bungalows. Not because the new location provided better acoustics, but rather it had a top notch view of the ocean for the same price! So we booked a month to receive a fabulous discount (500b/night normally and 300b/night for one month). I would highly suggest if you are staying here on a budget to specifically book Bungalow #1 or #2, if the first isn't available.

The customer service is definitely not here like it is in other resorts. It seems as thought the staff are generally unhappy. Could be a result of their working/living conditions or the fact that the big boss is a bit of a grump himself, making everyone quite miserable. The fact is, it is probably not their fault, but rather the big boss' inability to understand that happy workers means happy guests and better reviews. When the staff is off work, you can see that they are happy go lucky when they're out there kicking the ball around or splashing in the pool playing with the kids.

If you're worried about your stuff getting "lost" then I would suggest bringing your own padlock. We just put our own lock on the door and we haven't had any problems. We have a trash can in front of our bungalow and have to remind staff to empty it every couple days, something you might also have to do if you're here for a while.

Also, the restaurant has great prices for a beachfront eatery and almost all services (taxi, laundry, elephant trekking, etc) can be handled right here at Central. Elephant trekking includes pick up and drop off!

Bring earplugs if you're not into joining the bar scene!

Don't forget to enjoy the fabulous pool.... it's great during the day and at night!

Room Tip: Bungalow #1 is beachfront and super budget!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Let's face it, when you are out in the backpacker country, don't expect 5 star hotels.
Central Cottage offers fairly clean bungalows at OK price located in the midst of a fabulous tranquil beach. Perfect for families or when you got tired of the party noise.
Oh, and don't be scared of the taxi trip over the island. It is by far not as bad as some reviews say. We did it with our 4 and 6 year olds in an open taxi and were just fine.
Pool area is well maintained and fresh, beach is swept clean every morning. Outside our beach hut, we had a decent fresh water shower.
Just one "warning" if you have small kids. The "orange juice" in the breakfast is probably loaded with preservatives, too strong for kids stomachs. Both ours threw up after drinking it and we heard of others experiencing same thing. Buy a fresh squeezed instead. Except for that, breakfast was pretty good, including bacon & eggs, pancakes, corn flakes, toast and fruit.

Room Tip: #22 was the mid room of three in a "bungalow" style hut directly on the beach. You open th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012 via mobile

We have just spent 5 nights at central cottage, and were a little apprehensive to stay there from the previous reviews. However I have to say that I really don't know what people are complaining about, for the type and price that we paid, we were more than happy. We paid about 1000 baht per night for a superior island bungalow. For that we got a bungalow near the beach, ac and hot water from what was a great shower with plenty of water pressure. The bathroom was 'wet room' style but that was ok as everything was clean. We also got breakfast included, it wasn't amazing but it was fresh and all you can eat. The swimming pool was clean and nice and there were plenty of poolside loungers. The location was great, in the middle of the beach. And the restaurant was pretty good, we ate there a couple of times for lunch. Ok a couple of downsides, the tv didn't seem to tune in (who cares?!) and they only cleaned the room once during our stay. There also was a fairly large yet empty fridge/minibar but again we were only steps away from the bar and minimart. All in all I think this place doesn't deserve the out and out criticism that people give it for the service they provide. You want more? Then pay a bit more for a swanky room you won't spend much time in anyway!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

This was the best holiday we have had in many years. Central Cottage Resort is in the middle of the most beautiful stretch of beach in Tong Nai Pan Yai. This is a family-run resort and as I understood it, the family is from Burma. They were very friendly and went out of their way to make sure that we enjoyed our stay there.

We stayed in a poolside room, which was quite adequate. The beds were comfortable and air conditioner worked fine. Refrigerator and TV with only Thai programmes in room. The bathroom had a shower with no walls, toilet and basin. Room was cleaned every day, botteled water provided free of charge. Fresh linen every second day. Laundry service at 40 Baht per kg.

The resort has an infinity pool that goes right up to the beach with beach chairs to sleep your days away on in the sun. Lockers at reception to lock away valuables. WiFi and internet service also available. The resort provides for transport from and to the ferry terminal at Thong Sala and the full moon and half moon parties at a nominal fee. Motorbike hire available at 200 Baht per day.

The beach front restaurant offers a very broad menu with some of the best hamburgers I have ever tasted. From 7pm to 10pm every evening, they also offered a barbeque with steak, chicken, a variety of fresh fish, langoustines and prawns. On New Years Eve, we were treated to a stunning buffet. Breakfast (included in our room rate) consisted of fruit and yoghurt, cereals, bacon, eggs, toast, coffee and tea.

Central Cottage Resort is flanked by the Yai bar to the left and Flip Flop bar to the right. Both bars have their own distinct styles. Both also offer good food and late night snacks. The resort is an ideal base to do day trips from. These include elephant treks or hiking in the rainforests, snorkelling in the Angtong marine park (boats leave from the beach in front of Central Cottage) or simply exploring the wonders of Koh Phangan on a motorbike. On the beach there are several excellent Thai massage parlours.

Central Cottage is an established resort and does look a bit more rustic than on its website photographs. However, for what we paid, about $40 per night for both of us, including breakfast, I must say we really got value for our money and I’ll recommend Central Cottage anytime. I am planning to stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranleigh, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

We book our room to stay there a few months in advance so that we could get a nice clean room with air conditioning when we arrived he had double booked our room didnt appoligize for his mistake after we had payed a deposit then offered us another room which we viewed and it was terrible unclean unsercure and the bathroom had a tin roof with plants growing in over all bad experience dont stay if you can avoid it

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Central Cottage Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Cottage Resort

Address: 6/3 Moo 5 | Haad Thong Nai Pan Yai, Ko Phangan 84280, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Phangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Phangan
#49 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Central Cottage Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Central Cottage Hotel Koh Phangan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Central Cottage Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.